跳到主要内容

证书圆桌会议

8年2020月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
鲍勃·豪斯拉登(Bob Hausladen),凯西·戈瑟(Kathy Gosser)和吉姆·华纳(Jim Warner)

缩小教室和工作场所之间的距离意味着不仅为学生提供理论知识,而且还提供应用的智慧-一种来自多年经验的智慧。 最好的老师通常是最好的桥梁建造者,将他们的职业生涯转换成一个真实世界的课程。 这是一连串的课程讲座中的另一个讲座与变成专业实践的生活课程之间的区别。 因为机会是进入专业化的窗口,所以商学院已投资购买了两个不同的证书,这些证书不仅可以促进职业发展,还可以作为MBA课程的选修课。

凯瑟琳·戈瑟(Kathleen Gosser)和罗伯特·豪斯拉登(Robert Hausladen)各自在各自的行业中表现出色,并将他们的集体知识带入商学院,为企业注入并提供信息。 特许经营管理蒸馏酒 证书分别。 尽管每个人都以截然不同的方式加入学院,但他们对领域的了解仅与他们对教学的热情相匹配。 这是罕见职业的共同点。 

凯瑟琳(Kathleen)从一开始就一直是特许经营管理证书的基本组成部分。 2019年后,她于35年XNUMX月从肯德基(YUM!Brands)退休; 她的最后一个职位是学习与组织发展总监和肯德基基金会主席。 凭借她在学习和特许经营方面的经验,她立即在路易斯维尔大学开始了新的职位。 凯瑟琳说:“院长对开发证书计划特别是对特许经营计划感兴趣。”  

 “肯德基在美国有98%的特许经营权,因此我的工作主要是特许经营……我们与国际特许经营协会(IFA)的成员以及其他行业专家合作制定了一项战略,并制定了一份研究生证书的战略。 ” 她现在负责特许经营管理证书计划,这是一个在线,异步程序,专注于特许经营的所有关键要素。 Gosser的大多数辅助教学在各种行业都有数十年的特许经营经验。 

最初有一些关于特许经营管理证书的受众的担忧,因为许多特许经营所有者已经在该行业工作,并且可能不需要或不希望获得研究生学位。 拥有特许经营权可以为处于较低风险水平的企业家提供机会,但这仍然意味着了解业务中的最佳实践以取得成功。 

对于那些不追求高级学位的人, 特许经营管理证书确实提供了训练营模式。 这个为期六周的课程不需要学士学位,但确实可以提供250个学分,可以抵销国际特许经营协会(International Franchise Association)颁发的认证特许经营主管(CFE)。

许多训练营的参与者都为较大的特许经营者工作,以帮助他们学习如何更好地与特许经营者合作。 与从事该行业的人员一道,Gosser还提到了对来自两个不同人群的证书的兴趣:军事退休人员和国际社会。 “中东地区是特许经营和美国品牌特许经营的重要领域……对于我们来说,这似乎是一个崭新的机遇。 异步课程使[证书]可以扩展到任何地方。”

说到特许经营,肯德基可能和肯塔基一样。 但是,可以说波旁威士忌是蓝草国家的标志性产业。 鲍勃·豪斯拉登(Bob Hausladen)在Brown-Forman工作了二十多年,从销售开始,最终成为领导力发展副总裁。 他帮助制定了屡获殊荣的Brown-Forman多样性培训计划,以及基于盖洛普(Gallup)研究的管理培训新方法。 在布朗·福尔曼(Brown-Forman)工作之后,豪斯拉登(Hausladen)想要两件事-“在大学任教并开设自己的咨询公司。” 他目前同时从事这两项工作-与他的公司New Horizo​​ns协商并在学院任教。 

与Gosser不同,Hausladen并未立即参与Distilled Spirits证书的开发,但已签署该程序的直接指导。 在课程中有公司研究员和一些行业顾问的同时,Hausladen帮助建立了各个班级的一致性和统一设计。 

Hausladen解释说:“在蒸馏酒行业中,从法律上讲,您具有三层体系-制造商,批发商和零售商。” 结果,可以通过每个层次的镜头看到班级涵盖的主题,从而为学生提供了丰富的体验。 

蒸馏烈酒课程的学员涵盖了从希望进入该行业的人士到烈酒爱好者。 豪斯拉登说:“这个行业对吸引人才真的很感兴趣。”几家公司正在努力为学生提供实习机会。 “我们看到很多业内人士都在寻求进步。”

与特许经营管理一样,蒸馏酒证书也面临着以行业为中心的挑战。 豪斯拉登说:“这个行业一直是白人男性的主导,很难进入这个行业,因为在过去,你必须进入那种氛围。” 随着零售业的发展,多样化的趋势首先随着女性拥有的以及拉丁和亚洲拥有的企业的增长而发展。 “我们在增加整个行业的少数族裔代表方面做了大量工作。” 

通过与肯塔基酿酒师协会(KDA)等行业合作伙伴的合作,该学院制定了一项旨在解决这些问题的奖学金计划。 与路易斯维尔大学商学院合作开发, KDA提升精神学者计划 赋予并培养多样化的学生必要的技能和知识,使其成为蒸馏酒行业的商务专家。

由于这两份证书都针对特定的受众,因此最终,戈塞尔和豪斯拉登在每个行业的经验将指导他们的工作。 戈瑟说:“与[蒸馏酒]非常相似,没有关于特许经营的教科书,因为它每天都在变化。” Hausladen同意补充说:“我找到了几本书,但没有一本书真正达到标准。” 每个证书的本质都意味着要对实践和政策的更新保持警惕。 “这是成为程序主管的最难的部分……确保我们的内容始终是最新的。” Gosser和Hausladen在课程中使用了多种方法来使它们保持最新,包括行业博客和播客。 

虽然这两个证书都提供可以促进前景的专业证书,但它们也是进入学院MBA计划的途径。 每个证书的学时均满足学位选修要求,同时提供一定程度的专业化水平。 最后,不管证书如何,Gosser和Hausladen都认为,培养人际关系是专业成功的关键。 Hausladen说:“这是一项人事事务,多数时候是您真正踏实的事。” “人际关系很重要。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Certificate Roundtable

December 8, 2020 Jim Warner
Bob Hausladen, Kathy Gosser, and Jim Warner

Closing the gap between the classroom and the workplace means providing students with not just theoretical knowledge, but an applied wisdom—one which comes from years of experience. The best teachers are often the best bridge builders, translating their professional careers into one real-world lesson after another. It’s the difference between another  lecture in a string of course lectures and a life lesson that becomes professional practice. As opportunity is a window into specialization, the College of Business has invested in two distinct certificates which provide not only inroads to careers but also serve as electives for the MBA program.

Kathleen Gosser and Robert Hausladen have each excelled in their respective industries and bring their collective knowledge into the College of Business, infusing and informing the Franchise Management and Distilled Spirits certificates respectively.  While each have taken distinctly different paths to join the College, their understanding of their fields is only matched by their passion for teaching. It’s common ground for uncommon careers. 

Kathleen has been a fundamental part of the Franchise Management Certificate from its inception. She retired from KFC (YUM! Brands) in August of 2019 after 35 years; her last role was Director of Learning & Organizational Development and the Chair of the KFC Foundation. She immediately started a new position at the University of Louisville, leveraging her experience in learning and franchising. “The Dean was interested in developing certificate programs and was especially interested in the Franchise program,” Kathleen said.  

 “KFC is 98% franchised in the U.S. so my work had been predominantly with franchising…we created a strategy working with members from the International Franchise Association (IFA) and other industry experts and laid out a strategy for a certificate at the graduate level.” She now leads the Franchise Management certificate program, an online, asynchronous program focused on all the critical elements of franchising. A majority of the adjuncts teaching for Gosser have decades of franchise management experience across a variety of industries. 

There were some initial concerns about the Franchise Management Certificate’s audience as many franchise owners are already working in the industry and may not have the need or desire for a graduate degree. While owning a franchise provides opportunities to be an entrepreneur at a lower risk level, it still means understanding best practices in business to be successful. 

For those who are not looking for the advanced degree, the Franchise Management Certificate does offer a bootcamp model. The six-week course does not require a bachelor’s degree but does offer 250 credits toward a Certified Franchise Executive™ (CFE) designation from the International Franchise Association.

Many of the bootcamp attendees work for larger franchisors to help learn how to better work with their franchisees. Along with those working in the industry, Gosser also mentioned interest in the certificate coming from two distinct populations: military retirees and the international community. “An area like the Middle East is big on franchising and franchising U.S. brands… it looks like a budding opportunity for us down the road. Asynchronous courses makes [the certificate] scalable anywhere.”

When it comes to franchises, KFC may be as Kentucky as it gets; however, it could be argued that bourbon is the signature industry of the bluegrass state. Bob Hausladen worked for more than twenty years at Brown-Forman, starting in sales and ultimately becoming VP of Leadership Development. He helped to develop an award-winning diversity training program for Brown-Forman as well as new approaches to management training based on Gallup research. After his time at Brown-Forman, Hausladen wanted two things—“to teach at a university and open my own consulting firm.” He currently does both—consulting with his company New Horizons and teaching at the College. 

Unlike Gosser, Hausladen was not immediately involved with the development of the Distilled Spirits certificate, but has signed on to direct the program. While the courses had corporate fellows and some advisors from the industry, Hausladen has helped to create consistency and uniform design in the individual classes. 

“In the distilled spirits industry, legally you have a three tiered system — a manufacturer, the wholesaler, and the retailer,” explains Hausladen. As a result, topics covered in class are seen through the lens of each tier, providing a robust experience for students. 

The Distilled Spirits courses have had a range of students from those looking to enter the industry to spirits aficionados. “The industry is really interested in bringing people in,” says Hausladen adding that several companies are working to offer internship opportunities to students. “We saw a lot of people who were in the industry that were looking to move ahead.”

Much like Franchise Management, the Distilled Spirits certificate has its own industry-centric challenges. “The industry has been white male dominated and it’s been hard to break [into the industry] because in the past, you’ve had to step into that atmosphere,” said Hausladen. A trend towards diversity has been evolving at the retail level first with increases in women-owned—as well as Latinx and Asian-owned businesses. “We’re doing a lot more to increase minority-representation throughout the whole industry.” 

By collaborating with industry partners such as the Kentucky Distillers’ Association (KDA), the College has developed a scholarship program aimed at addressing those concerns. Developed in partnership with the University of Louisville College of Business, the KDA Lifting Spirits Scholar program empowers and equips diverse students with the necessary skills and knowledge to excel as business professionals in the distilled spirits industry.

As both certificates speak to specific audiences, it’s ultimately Gosser and Hausladen’s experiences in each industry which guide their work. “Very similar to [Distilled Spirits] there is no textbook on franchising—because it changes every single day,” says Gosser. Hausladen agrees adding, “I have found a couple of books, but none of them are really up to par.” The very nature of each certificate means being vigilant on updates to both practice and policy. “It is the hardest part of being a program director…making sure our content is always up to date.” Gosser and Hausladen use a variety of approaches within the courses to keep them up-to-date, including industry blogs and podcasts. 

While both of these certificates offer professional credentials that can advance prospects, they are also pathways into the College’s MBA program. Each certificate’s credit hours fulfills degree electives while providing a level of specialization. In the end, regardless of certificate, both Gosser and Hausladen agree that cultivating relationships is a key to professional success. “It’s a people business—most are when you really get down to it,” says Hausladen. “The people connections are the important ones.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian