跳到主要内容

将她的(过度)眼光放在成功上

1年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
uofl MAC 学生 Elyse 门户

当商学院学生 Elyse Portal 得知她是 2021 上市公司会计监督委员会 (PCAOB)学者,这是一个受欢迎的惊喜。 自 2011 年以来,PCAOB 向从事审计师职业的本科生和研究生提供奖学金。 五月毕业生正准备挣钱 会计硕士 从学院。 被命名为 PCAOB 学者是对 Elyse 作为本科生的努力和毅力的肯定。

除了承认 Elyse 的学术努力和卓越(她以优异成绩毕业,获得 Woodrow M. Strickler 会计领导奖)之外,该奖学金的影响还产生了额外的共鸣。 当她进入大二时,家人遭受了重大打击。 Elyse 的父亲被诊断出患有 3 期胃癌。 仅仅几个月前,她祖父的去世使悲剧更加复杂。 即使在她带父亲去接受治疗的同时,Elyse 作为一名本科生继续表现出色,最终在大四时在肯德基获得了财务规划实习机会。 “我姐姐鼓励我在 [商学院] 招聘会上与他们交谈,”爱丽丝说。 “我给了他们我的简历,并没有多想……然后他们就让我进来了!”

这次实习为百胜内部审计团队的新研究生实习打开了大门! 品牌。 从肯德基相对较小的团队转移到其母公司,Elyse 已经有很多机会与各种各样的人合作,并让她展望自己的未来。

及时的奖学金

由于父亲癌症治疗的医疗费用,Elyse 选择自己支付研究生的费用。 “谢天谢地,我父亲现在病情好转,但对我父母来说仍然是沉重的经济负担。 我不想让他或我妈妈担心另一件事。” PCAOB 奖对让她的研究生学位成为现实大有帮助。 

“Elyse 体现了会计毕业生的最佳品质,包括杰出的学术成就、领导力和服务,”会计讲师、法学硕士 Lisa Blum 说。 作为教职顾问 Beta Alpha Psi,Blum 教授一直是 Elyse 的导师。 “自从我加入 [荣誉协会] 以来,我觉得 [布卢姆教授] 真的把我置于她的保护之下。 她是如此令人难以置信的导师……如果我需要什么,她总是在那里——即使当我对我的个人纳税申报表有疑问时,她也很快给出了答案! 我很高兴她也在 MAC 项目中任教。” 与 Blum 教授一起,Elyse 也感谢 Bill Stout 博士的支持。 “博士。 Stout 实际上提名我参加 PCAOB。 他鼓励我申请,我不能说这个奖项对我来说意味着什么。”

Elyse 对会计充满热情。 她希望一旦成为注册会计师,审计工作就在等着她。 “我很想和百胜待在一起! 如果他们有我。 这里有很大的增长空间。” 虽然在百胜的机会! 对 Elyse 很有吸引力,同样鼓舞人心的是 Yum! 对多样性的承诺。 看到女性担任领导职务延续了 Elyse 生活中导师的叙述——从 Lisa Blum 到 Elyse 的母亲(她经营家族企业, 平滑完成自动碰撞修复)。 “作为拉丁裔,我将在办公室获得不同的体验。 看到这些强大的女士担任这些职位真是令人鼓舞。 我感到有力量。 成为一名导师让我很兴奋。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Setting Her (Over)sights on Success

July 1, 2021 Jim Warner
Accountancy Graduate Elyse Portal at Spring 2021 Commencement

When College of Business student Elyse Portal learned she was a 2021 Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB) Scholar, it came as a welcome surprise. Since 2011 the PCAOB has awarded scholarships to undergrad and graduate students pursuing careers as auditors. The May graduate is preparing to earn her Masters of Accountancy from the College. Being named PCAOB Scholar is a validation of Elyse’s hard work and grit as an undergrad.

The impact of this scholarship has additional resonance beyond acknowledging Elyse’s academic effort and excellence — she graduated summa cum laude with the Woodrow M. Strickler Leadership Award for Accountancy. As she was heading into her sophomore year, the family suffered a major blow. Elyse’s father was diagnosed with Stage 3 stomach cancer. The tragedy was compounded by her grandfather’s passing only a few months earlier. Even as she took her father to treatment, Elyse continued to excel as an undergrad, eventually landing a financial planning internship with KFC her senior year. “My sister encouraged me to speak with them at [the College of Business] career fair,” says Elyse. “I gave them my resume and didn’t think anything of it…and then they brought me in!”

This internship helped open the door to a new graduate internship with the Internal Audit team at Yum! Brands. Moving from the relatively small team at KFC to its parent company has already given Elyse multiple opportunities to work with a variety of people and offers her a look into her future.

A Timely Scholarship

Because of the medical costs for her father’s cancer treatment, Elyse opted to pay her own way as a graduate student. “Thankfully, my father is now in remission, but it’s still a heavy financial burden for my parents. I didn’t want him or my mother to worry about another thing.” The PCAOB award goes a long way to making her graduate degree a reality. 

“Elyse exemplifies the best qualities of an accounting graduate, including outstanding academic achievement, leadership, and service,” says accountancy instructor Lisa Blum, LLM. As faculty advisor to Beta Alpha Psi, Professor Blum has been a mentor to Elyse. “I feel like [Professor Blum] has really taken me under her wing ever since I joined [the honor society]. She is such an incredible mentor…she is always there if I needed something—even when I had a question about my personal tax return, she was quick with an answer! I’m excited that she’s also teaching in the MAC program.” Along with Professor Blum, Elyse is also grateful for Dr. Bill Stout’s support. “Dr. Stout actually nominated me for the PCAOB. He encouraged me to apply, and I cannot say how much this award means to me.”

Elyse has found a passion in accounting. She hopes once she becomes a CPA, that a career in auditing is waiting for her. “I would love to stay with Yum! if they will have me. There’s so much room for growth here.” While opportunities at Yum! are appealing to Elyse, what’s as inspiring is Yum!’s commitment to diversity. Seeing women in leadership continues the narrative of mentors in Elyse’s life—from Lisa Blum to Elyse’s mother (who runs the family business, Smooth Finish Auto Collision Repair). “As a Latina, I’m going to have different experiences in the office. To see these strong, powerful ladies in these positions is so encouraging. I feel empowered. It makes me excited to be a mentor.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian