跳到主要内容

“第五披头士”

30年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
IT 总监 John Merchant 演示灯板。

John Merchant 不仅仅满足于在背景中产生影响,但与他一起工作的人都知道,被任命为红衣主教精神奖获得者早就应该了。 “他不仅来过这里,他还乐于帮助我和我认识的其他人,以各种可能的方式有效地完成我们的教学和其他职责,”管理与创业副教授说, 鲍勃·迈耶斯。 “约翰拥有丰富的知识,他以如此亲切和愉快的方式分享它。 我很自豪地称他为同事和朋友。”

约翰于 80 年代后期开始在学院工作,与经济研究局合作。 “经济学家签约研究当地经济的未来。 四五年来,我一直在建立数据库并[为教授们]运行回归分析。” 在使用计算机方面,约翰已经领先学院数英里——当时,校园内的系统与今天的集成网络相去甚远。 渐渐地,教授和其他工作人员开始向约翰寻求计算需求。 “当时我的老板 [经济学教授约翰·纳尔逊博士]告诉我要尽可能多地帮助 [教授们]。” 几年后(和院长),学院正式签订了一份合同,最终使约翰从与该局的工作过渡到为 UofL 工作。

屡获殊荣的支持

John 目前的职位是学院 IT 服务总监,但他的工作远不止 IT。 在许多方面,他的支持角色涵盖了从为 PNC Horn 礼堂的活动运行 A/V 到拍摄 MBA 学生专业头像,再到为学院教员操作最新技术、综合媒体的 灯板. 灯板是一个发光的玻璃黑板,允许教授在为在线课程录制视频讲座时面对他们的学生。

“这对我们的教职员工来说是一个很好的工具,因为它可以帮助他们与观众保持眼神交流。 我们的教授一直在教授一些概念。 在这里记录它们为我们的学生提供了额外的资源。 这是我们接触他们的另一种方式——尤其是在大流行和在线课程中。” 作为支持资源,约翰在大流行的大部分时间里都在办公室,确保基本的技术操作正常进行,而学院的其他人则在家工作。

成功精神

他戴着无数帽子提供支持的能力使他成为校园里每个单位不可或缺的人。 “他是[传播和营销] 部门的第五披头士乐队成员,”平面设计师 Jill Wegenast 说。 “约翰就像我们自己的乔治·马丁——做所有让我们成为一个成功团队的事情。”

即使在反思自己是红衣主教精神奖获得者的时候,他对自己的影响仍然保持谦虚和谦逊。 “我刚刚收到一封来自 [UofL 主席 Neeli Bendapudi] 的电子邮件,关于被任命为红衣主教学生冠军。 这是校园范围内的事情,”约翰笑着说。 “我并不真的和学生一起工作,但是,嗯……他们能提到我真是太好了。” 声音逐渐减弱,急切地谈论着等待学生的建筑升级或新的课堂技术。 对约翰来说,这与聚光灯无关,而是为商学院的其他人照亮道路。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

“The Fifth Beatle”

June 30, 2021 Jim Warner
IT Director John Merchant demonstrating the Lightboard.

John Merchant is more than content to make an impact in the background, but those who work with him know being named a Cardinal Spirit Award recipient was long overdue. “He has not only been here, he has made himself available to help me and others I know, in every way possible to get our teaching and other responsibilities done efficiently and effectively,” said Associate Professor of Management and Entrepreneurship, Bob Meyers. “John has a wealth of knowledge, and he shares it in such a gracious and pleasant way. I am proud to call him a colleague and friend.”

John started at the College in the late ’80s working with the Bureau of Economic Research. “The economists were contracted to study the future of the local economy. For four or five years, I was building databases and running regressions [for the professors].” John was already miles ahead of the College when it came to working with computers—at the time, the systems on campus were a far cry from the integrated network of today. Little by little, professors and other staff started to come to John for their computing needs. “My boss at the time [economics professor Dr. John Nelson] told me to help [the professors] as much as I could.” Several years (and Deans) later, the College formalized a contract which ultimately saw John transition from working with the Bureau to working for UofL.

Award-winning Support

John’s current title is Director of IT Services at the College, but his work is far from limited to IT. In many ways, his support role extends to everything from running A/V for events in the PNC Horn Auditorium to shooting MBA student professional headshots to operating the latest technology for the College faculty, the integrated media’s lightboard. An illuminated glass chalkboard, the lightboard allows professors to face their students while recording video lectures for online classes.

“It’s a great tool for our faculty as it helps them keep eye contact with their audience. There are just some concepts our professors are always teaching. Recording them here gives our students an additional resource. It’s another way we can reach out to them—especially with the pandemic and online classes.” Being a support resource has meant that John has been in the office throughout most of the pandemic, ensuring the essential tech operations were working while the rest of the College was working from home.

Spirit of Success

His ability to offer support while wearing numerous hats has made him indispensable to every unit on campus. “He’s the Fifth Beatle of the [Communications and Marketing] department,” says graphic designer Jill Wegenast. “John’s like our very own George Martin—doing all the things which allow us to be a successful team.”

Even as he reflects on being a Cardinal Spirit Award recipient, he is still humble and unassuming to his impact. “I just got an email from [UofL President Neeli Bendapudi] about being named a Cardinal Student Champion. It’s some campus-wide thing,” laughs John. “I don’t really work with the students, but, well… it’s very nice for them to mention me.” The voice trails off, eager to talk about building upgrades or new classroom technology awaiting students this fall. For John, it’s not about the spotlight—instead, it’s about lighting the way for others at the College of Business.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian