跳到主要内容

未来安全

1年2021月 XNUMX日 吉姆华纳

询问商学院的学生 Alexus Maddox 是什么激发了她探索网络安全职业的灵感,答案很简单:“我想从事的职业让我觉得自己每天都在发挥作用。” Alexus 对有所作为的热情反映了她对卓越学术和为社区建设更美好明天的承诺。 作为明天的领导者,Alexus 代表了我们今天最好的基本原则。

社区投资

Alexus 在她的职业道路上起步较早 Humana公司 还在读高中的学者。 Humana 保证 Alexus 每年夏天都能找到一份工作,直到 Alexus 毕业并希望在毕业时获得工作机会。 奖学金 - 专注于黑人学生的成就 - 还包括支付她教育费用的货币部分。 她几乎从一开始就在 UofL 关注网络安全。 “我真的很想从事计算机科学,因为这是我喜欢的学科,”Alexus 说。 “在网络安全方面……能够保护人们的私人信息并防止数据泄露意味着我可以帮助他人。”

从 2016 年到 2021 年,Alexus 每年夏天都在 Humana 度过,从计算机专家实习生转为网络安全实习生。 去年夏天,Alexus 在 PNC 实习。 她还将这种对网络安全的兴趣与双学位结合起来 独联体会计,专注于法务会计。

作为 STEM 领域的一名年轻黑人女性,Alexus 希望成为其他希望加入该领域的年轻专业人士的榜样。 UofL 为她提供了一条途径。 “我很高兴成为 STEM 中的黑人女性,因为我可以接触到其他可能不知道或不安 [进入劳动力市场] 的人,这些人主要是白人男性群体。 重要的是,每个人都感到被包容并在他们朝九晚五的生活中产生积极影响。” 9 年,Alexus 获得了 Grace Hopper 奖学金,允许她参加在佛罗里达州举行的以女性为中心的 STEM 会议。 这段经历让 Alexus 有机会与 5 多名女性专业人士和学生建立联系,探索 STEM 的职业生涯。 这对亚历克萨斯来说是一个改变游戏规则的人。

今天成为未来的领导者

她改变周围社区的动力反映在她在校园内的课外活动中,她担任两个部门的财务主管。 美国大学妇女协会 (AAUW) - UofL 和全国黑人会计师协会 (NABA),大路易斯维尔地区。 这两个组织都致力于通过宣传、参与和教育实现个人和职业发展——着眼于将这些机会扩展到女性和 BIPOC 学生。

在 UofL 的每个组织中担任领导角色强调了不仅要成为成员,还要成为积极参与者的愿望。 倡导一个人的社区意味着明天的领导者需要了解在谈判桌上拥有一席之地的利害关系。 “能够为所有种族提供职业机会给了我们一些我们可以称之为自己的东西,”Alexus 说。 “[NABA] 谈论金融知识——这对黑人社区来说非常重要。 对我们所有人来说,获得这些机会很重要。”

Alexus 将于 2022 年 XNUMX 月毕业,并已准备好让她的未来成为现实。 “我要参加注册会计师考试和法务会计认证考试,以便我能够专业地执业。 与此同时,我很高兴明年夏天再次实习。 我期待在法务会计、反洗钱或安全部门工作。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Future Security

October 1, 2021 Jim Warner

Ask College of Business student Alexus Maddox what inspired her to explore a career in cyber security, and the answer is simple, “I wanted to work in a career where I felt like I was making every day count.” Alexus’ passion for making a difference reflects both her commitment to academic excellence and building a better tomorrow for her community.

Humana’s investment

Alexus got an early start in her career path as a Humana scholar while still in high school. Humana guarantees Alexus a job every summer until Alexus graduates with the hopes of a job offer upon graduation. The scholarship—focused on Black student achievement—also includes a monetary scholarship that pays for her education. Her focus nearly from the start was cyber security. “I really wanted to engage in computer science because it’s a subject I love,” says Alexus. “In cyber security… being able to protect people’s private information and preventing data breaches means I get to help others.”

Alexus spent every summer from 2016 to 2021 with Humana, moving from computer specialist intern to cyber security intern. This past summer, Alexus interned with PNC. She has also paired this interest in cyber security with a dual major in CIS and Accountancy, focusing on forensic accounting.

As a young Black woman in a STEM field, Alexus wants to be an example for other young professionals looking to join the field. “I appreciate being a Black woman in STEM because I can reach out to others who may be unaware or uneasy [entering a workforce] that is predominately a white male population. It’s important that everyone feels included and making a positive impact in their 9 to 5 life.” In 2019, Alexus was a recipient of a Grace Hopper scholarship, allowing her to attend a women-focused-STEM conference in Florida. The experience provided Alexus a chance to network with over 50,000 female professionals and students exploring careers in STEM. It was a game-changer for Alexus.

Being a future leader today

Her drive to change the community around her is reflected in her extra-curricular activity on campus where she serves as treasurer for both the American Association of University Women (AAUW)—UofL and the National Association of Black Accountants (NABA), Greater Louisville Area. Both organizations are geared towards personal and professional development through advocacy, engagement, and education—with an eye to extending those opportunities to women and BIPOC students.

Being in a leadership role in each organization underscores a desire to not only be a member but to be an active participant. Advocating for one’s community means tomorrow’s leaders need to understand the stakes when it comes to having a seat at the table. “Being able to provide professional opportunities to all ethnicities gives us something that we can call our own,” says Alexus. “[NABA] talks about financial literacy—which is really important for the Black community. It’s important for all of us to have access to these opportunities.”

Alexus graduates in December of 2022 and is ready to make her future a reality. “I’m going to do the CPA exam and the certified forensic accounting exam so that I can be able to practice professionally. In the meantime, I’m excited to intern again next summer. I look forward to being in forensic accounting, anti-money laundering, or a security department.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish