跳到主要内容

投资回报

October 1, 2021 阿里·菲佛
比尔迈耶斯爆头

威廉 G.迈耶三世的履历令人生畏。 除了拥有 40 年的会计经验外,您还会发现他主持了 21 年的研讨会、他获得的一些专业执照、他获得的认可以及可追溯到 1989 年的一长串社区参与,包括目前在学院的会计学院顾问委员会任职……以及在他的停工期间, 他喜欢在城市里玩旱冰鞋. 威廉·G·迈耶三世是一股不可忽视的力量——但你可以称他为比尔。

家庭会计

比尔对会计的介绍源于家庭兴趣。 在成长过程中,他与自学成才的会计师老威廉·G·迈耶 (William G. Meyer Sr.) 的关系非常密切。 为了养家糊口,大四的迈耶在父亲去世后在八年级辍学。 “[我的祖父]做了几件事,但他成为了一名会计师并以此为生。 我一直对会计很感兴趣,尽管我对此知之甚少,因为他和我很亲近。”

比尔一上高中,就参加了会计课程,并立即对这门课产生了兴趣。 后来,基于商学院的卓越声誉和合理的成本,他通过商学院攻读了会计学位——或者用他的话说,“他们让我进来了”。

在学院期间,比尔引用了两位教授的例子,他们挑战并帮助他在毕业后取得成功。 第一个是 Alan Attaway 博士(“每次我遇到他,我都会提醒他他给了我唯一的会计学 B。”)第二个是 Louis Grief 博士。 比尔说,格里夫博士教学生时考虑到了注册会计师考试。 “我第一次就通过了注册会计师考试。 这在很大程度上[归因于]我在 UofL 的准备工作。”

Bill 目前是 Strothman and Company 的管理合伙人,这是一家由 商学院董事会 成员雷·斯特罗斯曼。 比尔于 1995 年加入公司,因为他们的重点是较小的创业企业,而不是大公司。 虽然大多数人可能会告诉你,担任会计师事务所的执行领导会让你足够忙碌,但比尔会为办公室以外的其他人提供服务。

投资于他人

比尔是路易斯维尔社区中一位敬业、根深蒂固的成员,在该市各行各业的董事会任职。 他引用 家庭和儿童的地方白菜地安置所 作为他所接受的两个组织。 “我一直想回馈。 我们公司的态度是希望作为一个社区回馈社会,不仅在金钱上,而且在时间上。”

通过亲密的家庭关系,比尔能够在早年发现自己的热情和才能。 他有一个可以从他所爱的人那里学习的榜样,并找到了使他走上成功之路的呼召。 虽然不是每个人都会有家庭关系让他们走上会计道路,但比尔为那些想知道如何找到自己的利基的人提供建议。

“你必须参加会计课程,看看你是否有这方面的诀窍。 我建议 [学生] 到 UofL 后尽快参加至少一门会计课程……参加一门会计课程,因为它要么会让你睁开眼睛,要么会让你闭上眼睛。”

https://sshj.in/public/slot-deposit-dana/https://mbmscience.com/public/slot88/https://ijohmn.com/public/slot-gacor/https://www.kuhoo.com/wp-content/uploads/slot-deposit-dana/https://zombiigrice.com/slot-gacor/https://nje.org.na/slot-deposit-dana/https://journals.tma.uz/slot-gacor/https://muru.com.co/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://coresdaterra.com.br/slot-gacor/https://sasurie.com/slot-gacor/https://thejrns.org/slot-gacor/https://mccm.ptcer.pl/slot-demo/https://academconsult.ru/slot-gacor/https://www.doutoresdoexcel.com.br/-/slot-gacor/https://peshawarhighcourt.gov.pk/slot-gacor/http://a0729171.xsph.ru/http://clc.cet.edu/judi-bola/https://www.ijmaberjournal.org/slot-gacor/https://ijorces.org/slot-gacor/https://virtusclean.com/slot-online/https://modernacademy-journal.synceg.net/slot-gacor/https://artescienza.org/wp-content/uploads/slot-gacor/https://journal.icter.org/public/slot-gacor/https://rumosdainformacao.ivc.br/5unsur3/https://dailyexpresstop.com/https://livepublicnews.com/https://cosy.univrab.ac.id/slot-online/https://www.unaki.ac.id/togel88/https://staialakbarsurabaya.ac.id/slot-online/https://iat.alfithrah.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://krti.unesa.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/http://jurnal.umsu.ac.id/public/http://jurnal.univrab.ac.id/slot-gacor/
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

A Return on Investment

October 1, 2021 Ali Pfeiffer
Bill Meyers headshot

William G. Meyer III’s resume is an intimidating read. In addition to the 40 years of accounting experience it boasts, you’ll also find 21 years’ worth of seminars he’s led, a handful of professional licenses he’s obtained, the recognition he’s received, and a long list of community involvement going back to 1989, including currently serving on the School of Accountancy Advisory Board here at the College… and in his downtime, he likes to rollerblade around the city. William G. Meyer III is a force to be reckoned with—but you can call him Bill.

Accounting for Family

Bill’s introduction to accounting was born from a familial interest. Growing up, he was very close with his grandfather, William G. Meyer Sr., a self-taught accountant. The senior Meyer dropped out of school in the eighth grade after his father died in order to support the family. “[My grandfather] did several things, but he became an accountant and made a living doing that. I was always interested in accounting, even though I didn’t know much about it, because he and I were very close.”

Once Bill reached high school, he took an accounting course and felt an immediate click with the subject. He later pursued an accounting degree through the College of Business based on their excellent reputation and reasonable cost—or, as he puts it, “they let me in.”

During his time at the College, Bill cites two professors who challenged and enabled him to succeed upon graduating. The first, Dr. Alan Attaway (“Every time I run into him, I remind him he gave me my only B in Accounting.”) and the second, Dr. Louis Grief. Bill says that Dr. Grief taught students with the CPA exam in mind. “I passed my CPA exam on the first attempt. It was in large part [due] to the preparation I got at UofL.”

Bill is currently a managing partner at Strothman and Company, a local CPA firm founded by College of Business Board Member Ray Strothman. Bill joined the company in 1995 because their focus is on smaller, entrepreneurial businesses instead of major companies. While most might tell you that being in executive leadership for an accounting firm would keep you busy enough, Bill offers his skills in service to others outside the office.

Investing in Others

Bill is a dedicated, engrained member of the Louisville community, serving on boards in a variety of industries around the city. He cites Family and Children’s Place and Cabbage Patch Settlement House as two organizations he’s embraced. “I’ve always wanted to give back. Our firm has an attitude of wanting to give back as a community, in not only money but time.”

Through a close family connection, Bill was able to discover his passion and talents early in life. He had an example to follow from someone he loved and found a calling that set him on a path to success. While not everyone will have a family connection to set them on the accounting path, Bill offers advice to those wondering how to find their niche.

“You have to take an accounting course to see if you have a knack for it or not. I recommend that [students] take…at least one accounting class as soon as possible when they get to UofL….Take an accounting course because it will either open your eyes or it will close them.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish