跳到主要内容

企业家心态的综合影响

3年2020月XNUMX日 吉尔Wegenast
克利夫顿·陶伯特(Clifton Taulbert)在中央高中对学生讲话

免费企业中心为商学院,大学和社区中的商人举办演讲和活动。 过去的嘉宾包括经济学家,作家和首席执行官,主题从移民,领导到加密货币。 但是有时候,演讲嘉宾的信息是如此重要,以至于需要在商学院之外分享。
1950月,获奖作家兼企业家克利夫顿·陶尔伯特(Clifton L. Taulbert)访问路易斯维尔时就是这种情况。 Taulbert现在是Roots Java的总裁兼首席执行官,Roots Java是一家由非裔美国人全资拥有的全国性咖啡供应公司,他写了几本书,讲述了他在XNUMX年代在密西西比三角洲长大的经历。 尽管他在学院中与一大群人谈论了“企业家心态的综合影响”,但他有一个特别相关的信息可以与更年轻的听众分享。 结果,该中心与路易斯维尔中央中学合作,将陶伯特先生的信息传达给了学生。
互动式会议使Taulbert与高年级学生一起参加了学校的“职业道路”计划,亲密分享了他的人生故事和经历。 当他谈到在法律隔离期间在深南地区成长时,他深深地吸引了该团体-他如何借鉴在克利夫叔叔的冰车上工作所学到的教训,成为一名成功的企业家,业务主管和作家。 陶伯特强调了拥有正确的心态,目标和想象力以在不确定的环境中取得成功的重要性。
克利夫叔叔教给他有关责任,道德和辛勤工作的知识-陶伯特一生都汲取了教训。 他与学生交谈时看到了“超出棉田”的隐喻,他用这种隐喻来鼓励学生超越当前的状况,梦想着会发生什么。 陶尔伯特鼓励学生“无论身在何处,都可以赢得自己所处的地位”,并指出人生中的每一个成功,无论多么小,都将在下一次成功的基础上发展。 他向他们保证,从现在开始发展个人品牌将帮助他们成功生活,无论他们选择做什么。
有关克利夫顿·陶尔伯特(Clifton Taulbert)访问的更多信息,请访问
路易斯维尔大学,包括他的演讲的照片和视频,请访问 中心媒体室.

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

The Comprehensive Impact of an Entrepreneurial Mindset

March 3, 2020 Jill Wegenast
Clifton Taulbert speaking to students at Central High School

The Center for Free Enterprise hosts speakers and events for students in the College of Business, the university, and business people in the community. Past guests have included economists, authors, and CEOs on topics ranging from immigration and leadership to cryptocurrency. But sometimes, a guest speaker’s message is so important that it needs to be shared beyond the walls of the College of Business.
Such was the case in February when award-winning author and entrepreneur Clifton L. Taulbert visited Louisville. Taulbert, now the President and CEO of Roots Java, a national coffee supply company wholly owned by African Americans, has written several books about his experiences growing up in the Mississippi Delta in the 1950s. And although he spoke to a large crowd at the College on “The Comprehensive Impact of an Entrepreneurial Mindset,” he had an especially relevant message to share with an even younger audience. As a result, the Center worked with Louisville’s Central High School to bring Mr. Taulbert’s message to its students.
The interactive session brought Taulbert together with seniors in the school’s Career Pathways program, intimately sharing his life story and experiences. He captivated the group as he spoke about growing up in the Deep South during the time of legal segregation—how he took the lessons learned from working on his Uncle Cleve’s ice truck to become a successful entrepreneur, business exec, and author. Taulbert stressed the importance of having the right mindset, goals, imagination to succeed in an uncertain environment.
Uncle Cleve taught him about responsibility, ethics, and hard work—lessons Taulbert has carried with him all of his life. He talked to the students about seeing “beyond his cotton field,” a metaphor he uses to encourage students to look beyond their current situation and dream of what can be. Taulbert encouraged the students to “win where you are standing, no matter where that is,” noting that each success in life, no matter how small, builds on the next success. He assured them that starting now to develop personal brands will help them succeed in life, no matter what they choose to do.
For more information on Clifton Taulbert’s visit to
the University of Louisville, including photos and a video of his talk, visit the Center’s Media Room.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian