跳到主要内容

回应肯塔基州经济政策中心博客“统一投注”

2020年2月13日
赛跑在丘吉尔的六匹马在草击倒。

执行摘要

肯塔基州经济政策中心(KCEP)的帕姆·托马斯(Pam Thomas)最近在博客中呼吁,将历史赛马(称为Instant Racing)的税率提高2%,并在肯塔基赛马场提高预付押金(ADW)。 路易斯维尔大学马产业计划进行的研究发现,英联邦的税收收入不会成比例增加(美元兑美元)。 税收增加很可能会转嫁给消费者。 每增加1%的税,税收就会相应减少(1%)(在这种情况下,预计会减少(2%))。 消费者可自由支配的美元对于游戏具有弹性。 在当前环境下,需求弹性可能高达10%。 将税收收入减少2%乘以需求弹性10%可能会导致即时竞速处理减少20%。

总而言之,2019财年即时赛车的预计收入为2亿美元,可能会减少20%,降至1.6亿美元。 在这种情况下,由于税收增加,英联邦的税收不会是71万美元,而是56万美元。 尽管英联邦获得了更高的税收收入,但这将导致该州及其合作伙伴的赛车设施的收入大大降低,这可能会减少可用于赛马场钱包和运营支出(包括工资支出)的款项。 预计,如果没有肯塔基州的体育博彩,当在印第安纳州和田纳西州引入体育博彩时,弹性可能会提高15%,导致手柄下降30%。

最近,出现在肯塔基州经济政策中心(KCEP)网站上的博客争辩说,要为肯塔基州的不同形式的马匹和即时投注(“历史性赛马”)增加税收,以便为该州的普通基金创造收入。[1] 该博客有些暗示,即时下注增加2%(即,将税率从1.5%提高到3.5%)和预付存款下注增加2.5%(即,将税率从0.5%增加到3.0%)将提高比例增加税收。 作为比例增加的一个示例,让我们假设这是第一次对某物征收税,例如,对价值10美元的某物征收100,000%的消费税。 假设税收产生的收入增加10%,那么,如果每年售出10件这样的商品,那么所产生的消费税收入将为100,000美元(或10美元的1,000,000%)。 在经济学中,事实证明并非如此。 可能会产生新的收入,但消费者对物品的需求量可能会降至每年10以下。 因此,根据对商品的需求弹性如何,所产生的收入金额可能更像是80,000美元,90,000美元或95,000美元。 由于某种东西的有效价格由于税收而上涨,因此消费者通常会尝试寻找被征税商品的替代品。

我们承认,KCEP并未直接声明税率提高2%或2.5%会带来税收的增加。 但是,该博客文章的确没有承认对各种类型游戏的需求的弹性,并且也没有承认如果制定了增加税收的规定,则可能会降低行业处理的可能性。 它还指出,许多税收直接或间接地回到了行业。 但是,这也不罕见,因为它发生在其他行业。 航空旅行税和机票税通过为当地机场和联邦航空局提供资金来间接支持航空业,就像汽油税使道路和道路改善成为可能,所有这些都对汽车业有所帮助。

关于博彩,赌场和赛马的文献很多,包括对赌博需求弹性的估计,包括对随着扣缴更多税款而下注需求将如何下降的估计。[2] 使用低(1%),中(5%)和高(10%)的需求弹性估算值[3],下面的图1显示,如果假设按比例增加税收,即时博彩税的增加将增加税收收入,但不会超过KCEP的预期收入。 对于刚刚结束至2019年30月2019日的71财年,KCEP估计,预计税收收入约为2万美元,而略高于5亿美元。 但是,使用需求弹性64,征收的税金将更像是1.8万美元,总交易额约为2亿美元。 图XNUMX还显示了相同的弹性如何影响即时下注行业产生的总手感。[4] 在收入低于一定水平的某个时候,企业将不得不削减营业时间或工作,因为收入下降会损害盈利能力。 下降的预测是基于其他辖区的情况,这些辖区增加了赌场或赛马场的税收,从而减少了给予顾客的支出,这又进一步减少了出勤率或玩耍,因为一些顾客正在寻找其他形式的游戏或娱乐。 提税可能会损害一个行业,该行业仍在努力重新获得2007-2009年大衰退之前的一定水平的盈利能力。 考虑到印第安纳州赌场将很快允许顾客在大学和专业体育运动上进行投注的事实,肯塔基州赛道的即时下注和ADW的弹性可能会提高,这反过来会增加任何加税的负面影响。

附录

Navin,John C.和Timothy S. Sullivan。 2007年。“河船赌场是否扮演竞争对手的角色? 看看圣路易斯市场。” 经济发展季刊 21:49-59。

菲兰德(Kahlil)。 2012年。“在线游戏对商业赌场收入的影响。” UNLV游戏研究与评论杂志 15(2):23-28。

Srinivasan,Arun和Thomas E.Lambert。 2017年。“赌场收入停滞对州和地方政府税收收入的影响。” 公共预算与财政 37(1):26-46。

理查德·泰尔海默。 2012年。“老虎机和Pari-mutuel赛马博彩的Eemand在

赛马场赌场。” 应用经济学 44:1177-1191。

Thalheimer,Richard和Mukhtar M. Ali。 1995年。“对Pari-mutuel赛马投注和出勤的需求。” 管理科学 41(1):129-143。

Thalheimer,Richard和Mukhtar M. Ali。 2003年。“对娱乐场游戏的需求。” 应用经济学35:907-918。

Thalheimer,Richard和Mukhtar M. Ali。 2008年。“桌上游戏,老虎机和赌场收入。” 应用经济学 40:2395-2404。

Thalheimer,Richard和Mukhtar M. Ali。 2008年。“ Pari-mutuel赛马博彩—来自行业内外的竞争。 在 体育和彩票市场手册, 编辑Donald B. Hausch和William T. Ziemba。 荷兰阿姆斯特丹:爱思唯尔出版社。


说明

[1] 帕姆·托马斯(Pam Thomas),“统一进行博彩将产生急需的普通基金收入”, 肯塔基州经济政策中心,May 17,2019。 https://kypolicy.org/taxing-betting-uniformly-would-generate-much-needed-general-fund-revenue/ 。 于10年2019月XNUMX日检索。

[2] 可能有太多要列出。 请参阅下面的附录。

[3] 这些都在文献中引用的范围内,这取决于讨论的是短期需求弹性还是长期需求弹性。 随着时间的流逝,大多数商品的弹性会随着消费者偏好的变化和替代品出现在市场上而增加。

[4] 对于ADW的任何税收增加,我们都预期会有类似的结果,并且可以根据要求对此进行计算。 正如KCEP博客所指出的那样,此类博彩的税收收入正在增长,尽管增速没有即时博彩那么快。

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Response to Kentucky Center for economic policy blog on “Taxing Betting Uniformly”

February 24, 2020
Six horses racing at churchill downs on grass.

Thomas Lambert, PhD

Assistant Professor

February 24, 2020

Executive Summary

A recent blog by Pam Thomas of the Kentucky Center for Economic Policy (KCEP) called for a 2% increase in the tax rate on Historical Horse Racing (referred to as Instant Racing) and advance deposit wagering (ADW) at Kentucky racetracks.  Research conducted by the University of Louisville’s Equine Industry Program found there would not be a proportional increase (dollar for dollar) in tax revenue to the Commonwealth.  An increase in the tax would most likely be passed on to the consumer.  For every 1% increase in tax, a corresponding (1%) decrease in tax revenues will result (in this instance a (2%) decrease is expected).  Consumer’s discretionary dollars are elastic regarding gaming.  In the current environment, the elasticity of demand could be as high as 10%.  Multiplying a 2% decrease in tax revenue by the 10% elasticity of demand could result in a 20% decrease in instant racing handle.

Bottom line, 2019 fiscal year projections of $2 billion in handle for instant racing could decrease 20% to $1.6 billion.  Taxes for the Commonwealth in this scenario would not be $71 million due to a tax increase but $56 million.  While the Commonwealth is receiving higher tax revenues, this would result in substantially lower revenues for the racing facilities in the state and its partners, likely reducing the amount of monies available for racetrack purses and operating expenses, including payroll expenses.  It is expected, absent sports wagering in Kentucky, that elasticity could increase as high as 15%, resulting in a 30% decrease in handle, when sports betting is introduced in Indiana and Tennessee.

Recently a blog appearing on the Kentucky Center for Economic Policy (KCEP) website argued for increasing taxes on different forms of horse and instant wagering (“historical horse racing”) in the Commonwealth of Kentucky in order to generate revenue for the state’s General Fund.[1]  The blog somewhat implies that a 2% increase on instant wagering (i.e., raising the tax from 1.5% to 3.5%) and a 2.5% increase on advanced deposit wagering (i.e., raising the tax from 0.5% to 3.0%) would raise proportional increases in tax revenue.  As an example of a proportional increase, let us assume that a tax is imposed on something for the very first time, for example, an excise tax of 10% on something valued at $100,000.  The assumption of the tax yielding 10% more revenues would be that if 10 of these items are sold per year, then the excise tax revenues generated would be $100,000 (or, 10% of $1,000,000).  In economics, this is shown to rarely be the case.  New revenue will probably be generated, but the quantity demanded of the item by consumers will probably fall below 10 per year.  Therefore, the amount of revenue generated could be more like $80,000 or $90,000 or $95,000 depending upon how elastic demand is for the good.  As the effective price of something rises thanks to taxation, consumers will usually try to find substitutes for the good being taxed.

We admit that KCEP does not directly state that a 2% or 2.5% increase in tax rates yields a concomitant increase in tax revenues.  However, the blog post does fail to acknowledge the elasticity of demand for various types of gaming and fails to acknowledge the possibility of decreases in industry handle if a tax increase is enacted.  It also points out that many tax revenues go back to the industry directly or indirectly.  However, this is also not that rare in that it occurs in other industries.  Taxes on airline travel and tickets indirectly support the airline industry by funding local airports and the Federal Aviation Administration just as gasoline taxes make possible roads and road improvements, all of which help the auto industry.  

The literature on gaming, casinos, and horse racing is voluminous with estimates of the elasticity of demand for gambling including estimates of how wagering demand will fall as a greater amount of taxes are withheld.[2] Using estimates of an elasticity of demand of low (1%), medium (5%), and high (10%)[3], Figure 1 below shows that an increase in the tax on instant wagering will raise more tax revenue, but not as much revenue as projected by KCEP if an assumption of proportional tax revenue increases are assumed.  For Fiscal Year 2019, which just ended June 30, 2019, KCEP estimates would project tax revenues of around $71 million on handle of slightly over $2 billion.  Yet, using an elasticity of demand of 5, the tax collected would be more like $64 million on total handle of around $1.8 billion.  Figure 2 also shows how the same elasticities can affect the total handle generated by the industry on instant wagering.[4]  At some point below a certain level of revenues, establishments will have to cut back operating hours or jobs as plunging revenues harm profitability.  The falls in handle are projected based upon what has happened in other jurisdictions where taxes on casinos or racetracks have been increased, which in turn decreased the payouts given to patrons, which in turn further decreased attendance or playing as some patrons looked for other forms of gaming or entertainment.  A tax increase could harm an industry which is still struggling to regain a certain level of profitability that existed before the Great Recession of 2007-2009.  Given the fact that Indiana casinos will soon allow patrons to bet on college and professional sports, the elasticity for instant wagering and ADW at Kentucky tracks could be pushed higher, which would in turn increase the negative consequences of any tax increase.  

Appendix

Navin, John C. and Timothy S. Sullivan.  2007. “Do Riverboat Casinos Act as Competitors?  A Look at the St. Louis Market.”  Economic Development Quarterly 21: 49-59.

Philander, Kahlil.  2012.  “The Effect of Online Gaming on Commercial Casino Revenue.”  UNLV Gaming Research & Review Journal 15(2):  23-28. 

Srinivasan, Arun and Thomas E. Lambert.  2017.  “The Impact of Stagnating Casino Revenues on State and Local Governments Tax Receipts.”  Public Budgeting and Finance  37(1):  26-46. 

Thalheimer, Richard.  2012.  “The Eemand for Slot Machine and Pari-mutuel Horse Race Wagering at

a Racetrack-Casino.”  Applied Economics 44: 1177–1191.

Thalheimer, Richard, and Mukhtar M. Ali.  1995.  “The Demand for Pari-mutuel Horse Race Wagering and Attendance.”  Management Science 41(1):  129-143.

Thalheimer, Richard, and Mukhtar M. Ali.  2003.  “The Demand for Casino Gaming.”  Applied Economics 35:  907-918. 

Thalheimer, Richard, and Mukhtar M. Ali .  2008.  “Table Games, Slot Machines, and Casino Revenue.”  Applied Economics 40:  2395–2404.

Thalheimer, Richard, and Mukhtar M. Ali .  2008.  “Pari-mutuel Horse Race Wagering—Competition from Within and Outside the Industry.  In Handbook of Sports and Lottery Markets, Donald B. Hausch and William T. Ziemba, editors.  Amsterdam, Netherlands:  Elsevier Publishers. 


Notes

[1] Pam Thomas, “Taxing Betting Uniformly Would Generate Much-Needed General Fund Revenue,” Kentucky Center for Economic Policy, May 17, 2019.  https://kypolicy.org/taxing-betting-uniformly-would-generate-much-needed-general-fund-revenue/ .  Retrieved on August 10, 2019. 

[2] There are probably too many to list.  Please see the Appendix below.

[3] These are all within the ranges cited in the literature depending upon whether is discussing short run or long run elasticities of demand.  As time goes by, the elasticity for most goods increases as consumer preferences change and substitutes appear on the market. 

[4] We would expect similar results for any tax increases on ADW and can provide calculations for this upon request.  As the KCEP blog points out, tax revenues for this category of gaming are growing, although not as rapidly as instant wagering.   

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian