跳到主要内容

传染性热情

2020年2月25日 吉姆华纳
UofL学生Tessa Chilton爆头。 她戴着棕色高领衫,站在CoB中庭中。

当您想到传染病部门时,营销可能并不是想到的第一件事,但是当涉及到吸引人的内容时,这是实习生Tessa Chilton想到的第一件事。 Chilton是商学院的初级市场营销专业学生,今年XNUMX月开始在UofL传染病学系实习。

“我的正式头衔是市场营销和传播学生助理,”奇尔顿说。 从第一天开始,Tessa就为该部门进行了一系列内容开发,包括设计新闻通讯,研究传单和赞助信。 “我在市场部由三人组成的团队中,这意味着很多工作要按我的方式发送!”

泰莎·奇尔顿(Tessa Chilton)最初是UofL的艺术与科学专业的未定专业,但后来发现在商学院,她可以学习运用自己的创造力并将其应用于专业领域。 “我想找到一种职业,可以将自己的战略思维与创造力相结合。 营销感觉是一个非常自然的过渡。”

在Henrietta Pepper等老师的帮助下,Tessa知道她想从事市场营销职业。 “我在2019年秋季参加了她的[Pepper's]广告选修课,这使我接触到了现实世界的项目,业务联系,市场营销工作……我觉得我了解到了很多关于市场营销和商业意义的知识。 ” 泰莎(Tessa)与佩珀(Pepper)建立了真正的联系-上课后一直如此。 “我在领英个人资料上发布了有关实习的信息; 她是第一个给我发祝贺消息的人。 这个手势意味着太多来自我尊敬的人!”

能够在课堂环境中学习理论和最佳实践是一回事,但是将这些知识应用于现实世界则是另一回事。 奇尔顿说:“我认为实习的最大惊喜就是参加会议的次数。” “上司总是邀请我,这样我就可以保持联系。 参与并了解该部门其他领域的情况对我们很有帮助。”

奇尔顿了解实习是如何在教室和工作场所之间建立有意义的桥梁。 她在传染病科的工作一直是学习和成长的试验场,这些方式使她在求职中具有竞争力和适销对路所需的信心和经验。 “我非常感激上学期的Ulmer职业中心和大学商业职业博览会。 我觉得我之间建立了很多很好的联系,这就是我现在有实习的原因。”

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Contagious Enthusiasm

February 13, 2020 Jim Warner
UofL student Tessa Chilton headshot. She's wearing a brown turtleneck and standing in the CoB atrium.

Marketing may not be the first thing that comes to mind when you think of the Department of Infectious Disease, but when it comes to developing compelling content, it’s the first thing on intern Tessa Chilton’s mind. A junior Marketing Major at the College of Business, Chilton started her internship at UofL’s Department of Infectious Disease this January.

“My official title is Marketing and Communications Student Assistant,” says Chilton. From day one, Tessa has done a range of content development for the department including designing newsletters, research flyers, and sponsorship letters. “I am on a three-person team in the marketing department, which means a lot of work gets sent my way!”

Tessa Chilton started as an undecided major at UofL’s Arts & Sciences, but discovered that at the College of Business, she could learn to utilize her creativity and apply it in a professional setting. “I wanted to find a career where I could combine my strategic mindset with my creative one. Marketing felt like a very natural transition.”

With the help of instructors like Henrietta Pepper, Tessa knew that she wanted to pursue a career in Marketing. “I took her [Pepper’s] Advertising elective in Fall 2019, and it exposed me to real-world projects, business connections, jobs in marketing… I felt like I learned so much about what it means to be in marketing and business in general.” Tessa made a real connection with Pepper—one which continued after her class. “I posted about my internship on my LinkedIn profile; she was the first to send me a congratulations message. This gesture meant so much coming from someone I have so much respect for!”

It’s one thing to be able to excel in learning theory and best practices in a classroom setting, but it can be a whole other thing to apply that knowledge in the real world. “I think the biggest surprise at my internship has been the number of meetings I get to be a part of,” says Chilton. “My supervisor always invites me so that I can stay in the loop. It has been helpful to participate and see what’s going on in other areas of the division.”

Chilton understands how internships offer a meaningful bridge between the classroom and the workplace. Her time with the Division of Infectious Diseases has been a proving ground to learn and grow in the ways that have given her the confidence and experience needed to be competitive and marketable in the job search. “I am so appreciative of the Ulmer Career Center and the College of Business Career Fair last semester. I feel like I made so many great connections, and it is the reason I have my internship now.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian