跳到主要内容

雇主常见问题


实习生是兼职还是全职?
我们的实习生是兼职,每周平均工作25-30小时。 一些学生每周可以工作40小时。

实习计划需要多长时间?
通常,我们的学生在11个月计划中工作13个月。 根据公司的需要,一些实习生可能会工作11个月以上。 我们要求雇主在参加11月计划时将其实习生保留13个月,以便员工和雇主都可以从该计划中受益。

我需要实习吗?
不,如果您在简历或面试中找不到合适的人选,则无需实习。

我可以在选择实习生之前复查多份简历吗?
是的,您可以根据需要查看尽可能多的简历,以找到合适的简历。 只需告知实习协调员,就会向您提供更多简历。

我是否期望在实习期满后提供全职工作?
不,我们的目标是1(一份出色的推荐信)或2(一份工作)的两项内容之一。 两者都基于实习生的表现和公司的能力。

审核过程如何进行?
雇主与实习协调员分享职位描述或职位的简短细节,然后由实习协调员审查并拉出最合适的学生的简历。 查看简历后,请让实习协调员知道您想采访谁。 实习协调员将与这些候选人联系,或者让他们知道公司的代表将与他们联系以进行面试或帮助安排面试。 进行面试后,请告知实习协调员是否延长报价或是否需要其他简历。 优惠将直接由您提供。 他们将成为您的员工,并应遵守公司的政策和程序。

谁来决定实习生的时间表?
日程安排由实习生和主管决定。 我们的学生在正常的工作时间上班。 从6下午开始,他们每周有三天上课。

工资率是多少? 谁支付实习生?
25,000个月的平均工资为11美元,每小时约为17美元。 一些公司能够支付更多,而有些公司却支付更少。 实习生直接从雇主那里支付。

实习生没有工作-我必须保留他们吗? 什么是下一步?
如果学生没有达到您的期望(例如,在完成项目后未经许可而从事家庭作业,未完成分配的项目),则您没有义务保留它们。 我们要求您首先与实习生交谈,然后允许他们进行改进。 与他们交谈后,如果行为仍然相同,请与我们联系。 如果需要终止实习生,我们将与您一起进行下一步。

I我不确定我可以赞助一名国际学生。 什么是CPT / OPT?
因为我们的MSBA计划是STEM指定的,所以我们的国际学生在该计划期间可以在CNUM(课程实践培训)下工作长达11.5个月,而在计划结束后,无需赞助即可在3的OPT(实习实践培训)年工作。 您无需赞助即可在4年内培训和吸引这些学生。

对我有什么期望?
我们要求您为实习生提供有意义的,富有挑战性的工作,从而有益于您组织的目标和学生的职业兴趣。 我们还要求您根据MBA / MSBA计划要求和实习期间雇主的期望,完成2对学生表现的电子评估,包括实习期间和实习结束。 这些实习生会获得实习的课程学分,您的反馈意见可能会影响他们的成绩。

什么时候有候选人?
我们正在招生,因此我们全年都接受学生。 通常,我们有大量的候选人,可以在XNUMX月开始简历共享过程。 大部分采访发生在XNUMX月至XNUMX月。 由于实习过程在学生之间具有竞争性,因此它也开始在公司之间变得具有竞争力。 选择过程越早/越快,获得最佳候选人的机会就越大。

这些学生的简历是否一次与多家公司共享?
因为我们的求职学生越来越感兴趣,所以如果合适的话,我们确实一次与多家公司分享他们的简历。

所有学生的简历都与每个公司共享吗?
不,我们只与您分享那些可能适合您的组织的学生的简历。 并非所有公司都共享所有学生的简历。

我想支持一个实习生,但我并不居住在路易斯维尔。
没关系,我们已将实习生40-60英里发送到路易斯维尔地区以外。 我们还为MSBA学生提供远程实习。 这些学生可以远程工作,并且得到了大学的全面技术支持,包括Zoom和GoToMeeting。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Employer F.A.Q.


Are the interns part-time or full-time?
Our interns are part-time and work an average of 25-30 hours per week. Some students are able to work 40 hours per week.

How long is the internship program?
Typically, our students work 11 months of their 13-month program. Depending on company need, some interns may work more than 11 months. We ask that employers keep their interns for 11 months while they are in their 13-month program so both the employee and the employer are able to benefit from the program.

Am I required to take an intern?
No, you are not required to take an intern if you do not find a good fit from the resumes or interviews.

Can I review multiple batches of resumes before selecting an intern?
Yes, you can review as many resumes as necessary to find the right fit. Just let the internship coordinator know and more resumes will be provided to you.

Am I expected to offer full-time employment at the end of the internship?
No, our goal is one of two items 1) a stellar letter of recommendation or 2) an offer of employment. Both of these are based on the performance of the intern and the capability of the company.

How does the review process work?
Employers share a job description or short details of the position with the Internship Coordinator, who then reviews and pulls the resumes of the best-fit students. Once you review the resumes, please let the Internship Coordinator know who you would like to interview.  The Internship Coordinator will reach out to those candidates, either letting them know a representative of the company will be reaching out to set up the interviews or to help arrange the interviews. Once interviews are conducted, please inform the Internship Coordinator if an offer will be extended or if additional resumes are needed. The offer will come directly from you. They will be your employees and are expected to follow the company policies and procedures.

Who decides the intern’s schedule?
The schedule is decided between the intern and the supervisor. Our students work during regular business hours. They do have class three days a week, starting at 6 pm.

What is the pay rate? Who pays the intern?
On average the pay is $25,000 for the 11 months which works out to be about $17 an hour. Some companies are able to pay more and some pay less.  The intern is paid directly from the employer.

The intern is not working out—do I have to keep them? What are the next steps?
If the student is not meeting your expectations (e.g. working on homework without permission after completing a project, not completing assigned projects) you are not obligated to keep them. We ask that you first speak with the intern and allow them to make improvements. If, after you talk with them and the behavior is still the same, please reach out to us. We will work with you on next steps if termination of the intern is necessary.

I’m not sure I can sponsor an international student. What is CPT/OPT?
Because our MSBA program is STEM-designated, our international students are able to work up to 11.5 months under CPT (Curricular Practical Training) during the program and 3 years of OPT (Optional Practical Training) after the program without a sponsorship. You can train and engage these students for 4 years without sponsoring them.

What expectations are required of me?
We ask that you provide the intern with meaningful, challenging work that benefits your organization’s goals and the career interests of the student. We also ask that you complete 2 electronic evaluations of student performance, mid-way through and at the end of the internship, based on MBA/MSBA program requirements and employer expectations during the internship period. These interns receive course credit for the internship and your feedback can affect their grade.

When is the pool of candidates available?
We are rolling admissions so we accept students year-round. We normally have a good pool of candidates and can begin the resume-sharing process by April. The majority of interviews take place from May-August.  As the internship process is competitive among students, it is also beginning to become competitive between companies. The earlier/quicker the selection process occurs, the better opportunity you have for gaining your top candidate.

Are these students’ resumes shared with multiple companies at one time?
Because there has been more interest from our internship-seeking students, we do share their resumes with multiple companies at a time, if they are a good fit.

Are all the students’ resumes shared with every company?
No, we only share the resumes of those students’ who may be a good fit for your organization with you. All of the students’ resumes are not shared with every company.

I would like to support an intern but I am not local to Louisville.
That’s ok, we have sent our interns 40-60 miles outside of the Louisville area. We also offer distance internships for our MSBA students. These students work remotely and are fully technology-supported by the University, including Zoom and GoToMeeting.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian