跳到主要内容

设定标准

3年2022月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳

在线MBA (OMBA)在我心中占有重要的位置,”担任商学院在线教学主任的扎卡里·戈德曼博士说。 “这是第一个委员会,也是我进入商学院时加入的第一批个人。” 作为学院在线学习发展的一部分(以及在线 MBA 的形成阶段),Goldman 博士能够帮助建立一个项目。 仅在第三年,OMBA 就排名第 42 位 美国新闻与世界报道的最佳在线硕士课程列表。 OMBA 在全国退伍军人中也排名第 29 位,在线工商管理学士学位 (BSBA) 排名第 26 位。  

根据 Goldman 博士的说法,如果用一个词来描述商学院在线课程的发展,那将是故意的。 “我们试图非常有策略地做出决策,收集和使用重要数据来为我们做出的每一个决定提供信息,”Goldman 博士说。 “从诸如在线构建什么程序之类的重大决策,到诸如我们举办在线办公时间之类的日常决策,我们希望有意识地了解学生的需求。”

有意增长

过去三年在线 MBA 的快速增长和演变不容忽视。 这种发展源于我们所处的时代——这种思想远远超出了大流行病的范畴,并利用了技术提供教育的潜力。 “我们意识到,在支持方面,我们需要更多 [为了] 来提供这些学生正在寻找的一切——资源、机会、人脉以及日常支持,”Goldman 博士解释道。

为了最好地服务于 OMBA 和这个快速增长的细分市场,商学院创建了 在线课程办公室,由 Goldman 博士领导。 “我认为这是商学院有史以来最伟大的事情之一。 OPO 是对未来的投资,也是对我们能力范围内的短期投资。”

OPO 只是冰山一角; 正如 Goldman 博士所强调的那样,“我真诚地相信,如果新技术出现,我们的教职员工和学生都准备好根据需要进行调整和适应,并且有一种清晰直接的方式可以增强学习体验。 我们很幸运,我们的教职员工愿意接受这种程度的变化。”

队列的力量

虽然需要专门的讲师、部门领导和 OPO 团队合作来建立一个成功的项目,但 Goldman 博士知道,如果没有学生,尤其是最初的学生,OMBA 就不会成为今天的样子。 “我曾多次表示,我们目前的成功很大程度上归功于 2019 年秋季的学生。 这 46 名学生现在通过他们的 MBA 取得了巨大的成就,但在获得 MBA 之前,他们帮助我们建立了这个项目……这群人在很多方面都是在线 MBA 的无名英雄。 我尽可能地歌颂他们,但他们往往仍然是我的灵感。”

讨论他们的 OMBA 经验所花费的反馈和时间有助于开发该计划的基础设施。 这种对项目整体成功的承诺说明了这一群体的特点。 “我们正准备在几个月后在这里欢迎 22 年秋季的学生,”Goldman 博士咧嘴笑着说。 “我要告诉他们我告诉 21 年秋季队列的事情。 成为路易斯维尔大学在线 MBA 学生的门槛很高。 现在由他们来达到这个标准并超越它,并继续提高对[在学院]在线学习的期望。”

“超越”

由于为我们的学生建设更好的动力本身就反映在 Goldman 博士本人的工作中——他的同龄人并没有忘记这一事实。 学院将教师服务奖授予 Goldman 博士。 “是的,这很令人惊讶,但我很荣幸能得到同事的认可,”Goldman 说。 他很快分享了他在同一回合中获得的荣誉。 “我认为我的一些在线 MBA 教师可能会为此推荐我,因为我们现在正在从事许多不同的项目。 我认为其中一些可能超出了传统的工作描述,但我很高兴能与一群了不起的合作者和真正关心我们学生的人一起工作。”

最后,重新定义传统体验的外观与在线课程的核心以及商学院有关。 对于 Goldman 博士来说,旅程才刚刚开始。 “我们在这里有所作为,我们将继续投资于为所有学生提供和提供高质量的在线学习体验。 它吸引了我认为长期以来一直渴望接受教育和获得教育机会的观众。 我很高兴看到我们开始为这些想成为路易斯维尔红雀队的学生提供这些机会。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Setting the Bar

May 3, 2022 Jim Warner

Online MBA (OMBA) has a near and dear place in my heart,” says Dr. Zachary Goldman, who serves as the director of Online Teaching and Learning for the College of Business. “It was the first committee, the first group of individuals I joined when I entered the College of Business.” Being a part of the College’s online learning evolution (and the formative stages of the online MBA) has allowed Dr. Goldman to help build a program. In only its third year, the OMBA was ranked #42 by U.S. News & World Report’s list of the best online Master’s programs. The OMBA was also ranked #29 in the nation for Veterans, and the Online Bachelors in Business Administration (BSBA) was ranked #26.  

According to Dr. Goldman, if there is one word to describe the development of online programs at the College of Business, it would be intentional. “We try to make decisions very strategically, gathering and using important data to inform every decision we make,” says Dr. Goldman. “From the big decisions such as what programs to build online, to the day-to-day decisions like when we host online office hours, we want to be intentional about what our students need.”

Intentional Growth

It’s hard to overlook the rapid growth and evolution of the Online MBA over the last three years. This development results from the times we live in—a thought extending far beyond the pandemic and tapping into the potential that technology offers education. “We realized support-wise we needed more [in order] to deliver all that these students were looking for—resources, opportunities, connections, and just day-to-day support,” explains Dr. Goldman.

To best serve the OMBA and this rapidly growing segment, the College of Business created the Online Programs Office, headed by Dr. Goldman. “I think it’s one of the greatest things to ever happen to the College of Business. The OPO is an investment in the future and an investment in the short term for what we were able to.”

The OPO is just the tip of the iceberg; as Dr. Goldman stresses, “I genuinely believe that our faculty, our staff, and our students are prepared to adjust and adapt as needed if new technologies come along and there’s a clear and direct way in which they can enhance the learning experience. We’re very fortunate that we have faculty and staff willing to embrace that level of change.”

The Power of Cohorts

While it has taken the collaboration of dedicated instructors, section leaders, and the OPO team to build a successful program, Dr. Goldman knows that the OMBA would not be where it is today without the students, especially the initial cohort. “I’ve said on many occasions that we owe a great deal of our current success to the fall 2019 cohort. Those 46 students are doing great things with their MBA now, but before earning that MBA, they help us build the program… That’s a group of people who are, in many ways, the unsung heroes of the Online MBA. I try to sing their praises whenever I can, but they are oftentimes still the inspiration.”

The feedback and time spent discussing their OMBA experience have been instrumental in developing the program’s infrastructure. This commitment to the program’s overall success speaks to the character of this cohort. “We’re preparing to welcome the fall ’22 cohort here in a few months,” says Dr. Goldman with a broadening grin. “I’m going tell them the same thing I told the fall ’21 cohort. There’s a high bar set for being an online MBA student at the University of Louisville. Now it’s up to them to reach that bar and eclipse it and continue to elevate the expectations of what online learning looks like [at the College].”

“Above and Beyond”

As the drive to build better for our students is itself reflected in the work of Dr. Goldman himself—a fact not lost on his peers. The College awarded the Faculty Service Award to Dr. Goldman. “Yeah, that was quite the surprise, but I was honored to be recognized by my colleagues,” says Goldman. He is quick to share the kudos he received in the same turn. “I think some of my online MBA faculty might have recommended me for that because we’re working on many different projects right now. And some of it, I think, goes beyond probably the traditional job description, but I’m grateful to work with an amazing group of collaborators and people who genuinely care about our students.”

In the end, redefining what the traditional experience looks like speaks to the very heart of online programs and, in turn, the College of Business. For Dr. Goldman, the journey is just beginning. “We’re making a difference here, and we’re continuing to invest in offering and delivering high-quality learning experiences online for all of our students. It’s attracting an audience that I think has been hungry for their education and opportunities to earn their education for a really, really long time. And I’m happy to see that we’re starting to provide those opportunities for these students who want to be Louisville Cardinals.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish