跳到主要内容

品牌化家族遗产

16年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
父女在纺织厂,家族企业在工作室。

家族企业在第二届年度 路易斯维尔商业第一/UofL 家族企业 奖项。 该活动展示了路易斯维尔都市区的各种多代企业。 这些奖项突出了家族企业不仅为该地区而且为世界本身做出的长期贡献。

当我们听到家族企业或家族企业这个词时,首先想到的是夫妻店面。 或许,我们可以想象一个只有少数员工的公司在当地的足迹。 它的结构是非正式的和脚踏实地的。 这个词有一种大众化的品质。 它意味着手工或工匠产品。 这些是提供利基行业的企业,一直在与企业巨头进入他们的市场作斗争。 虽然这种叙述可能是某些家族企业的品牌标识,但实际情况要复杂得多。

最近的一篇文章 作者:UofL 家族企业中心主任 Isabel Botero 博士和独立研究员 Shanan Litchfield-Moore 研究了与“家族企业”(FOB) 一词相关的消费者关系。 虽然手工小企业的观念是家族企业的一个方面,但您很难将汽车制造商、媒体公司或全球超市视为 FOB。 现实情况是,沃尔玛、康卡斯特和宝马都被归类为离岸价。 在这些情况下,每家公司都有一个家族,该家族控制一家私营公司 50% 的有表决权的股份或一家上市公司 32% 的股份。 此外,家族企业雇佣了我们 60% 的劳动力,占美国 GDP 的 57%。

家族企业全球统计图

家族遗产的影响

公司将其品牌标识为 FOB 的决定通常取决于他们所在的行业和他们希望定位的受众。 该品牌位于消费者期望和拥挤市场的交叉点。 Botero 的研究检验了这些看法以及对 FOB 的可能影响。 一方面,消费者觉得 FOB 更能满足客户的需求,在当地社区中占有一席之地,并提供高质量的产品。 同时,FOB与传统和强大的文化联系在一起,但缺乏专业性。

从这个角度来看,很容易理解为什么像宝马这样拥有奢侈品牌的公司不会选择将其标识为 FOB。 将世界一流的品牌与区域化认知相冲突。 此外,“手工”汽车没有太大价值。 相比之下,沃尔玛长期以来一直围绕着山姆沃尔顿的形象和传统价值观建立自己。 一个来自阿肯色州本顿维尔的白手起家的人的神话创造了对美国梦的怀旧情绪以及工薪阶层的客户群——即使在与消费者连接到 FOB 的本地企业积极竞争的同时。

支持品牌

归根结底,我们选择用美元投票的方式与我们作为消费者的最终价值以及我们对家族企业的态度同样重要。 今年的 FBC 获奖者展示了与客户、社区和行业的联系,这些联系使他们的业务成为该地区最好的企业之一。 这些家族企业在确保下一代成功方面大有作为。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Branding a Family Legacy

July 16, 2021 Jim Warner
Father and daughter in textile factory, family business legacy in studio.

Family businesses were front and center with the second annual Louisville Business First/UofL Family Business Awards. This event showcased the diverse range of multigenerational businesses in the Louisville metro area. The awards highlight the long-standing contributions family businesses make for not just the region but the world itself.

When we hear the phrase family business or family firms, the first thing that comes to mind is a mom-and-pop storefront. Perhaps, we imagine a local footprint to the company with a handful of employees. Its structure is informal and down-to-earth. There is a folksy quality to the term. It connotes handmade or artisan products. These are enterprises that supply a niche industry, ever fighting the advance of the corporate monoliths into their marketplace. While this narrative may be the brand identity for some family businesses, the reality is much more complex.

A recent article by UofL Family Business Center Director Isabel Botero, PhD, and independent researcher Shanan Litchfield-Moore examined consumer connections related to the phrase “family-owned business” (FOB). While the artisanal, small business perception is one aspect of a family business, you’d be hard-pressed to think of a car manufacturer, a media corporation, or a global superstore as a FOB. The reality is that Walmart, Comcast, and BMW are all classified as FOBs. In these instances, each company has a family that controls 50% of the voting shares for a privately held company or 32% share in a publicly-traded company. Additionally, family firms employ 60% of our workforce and account for 57% of US GDP.

Family Owned Business Worldwide Stat Graphic

Impact of Family Legacy

The decision for a company to identify their brand as an FOB often is dictated by the industry they are in and the audience they hope to target. That branding lies at the intersection of consumer expectation and a crowded marketplace. Botero’s study examined these perceptions and the possible impact on FOBs. On the one hand, consumers feel like FOBs are more attuned to their customers’ needs, have a stake in the local community, and offer high-quality products. At the same time, FOBs are tied to tradition and strong cultures but are lacking professionalism.

In this light, it’s easy to see why a company like BMW—with its luxury branding—would choose not to identify as an FOB. Tying world-class branding conflicts with a regionalized perception. Further, there isn’t much value in a “handmade” car. In contrast, Walmart has long built itself around the image of Sam Walton and a sense of traditional values. The mythmaking of a self-made man from Bentonville, Arkansas, appeals to the nostalgia of an American dream as well as a working-class customer base—even while aggressively competing against the very local businesses that consumers connect to FOBs.

Supporting a Brand

Ultimately, how we choose to vote with our dollar has as much to do with what we as consumers ultimately value and our attitude towards family firms. This year’s FBC award winners demonstrate the connections to their customers, community, and industry that have made their businesses among the finest of the region. These family firms go a long way to ensuring their success for the next generation.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish