跳到主要内容

认识 Raymond Shields:OMBA 学生聚焦

21年2021月XNUMX日 埃里卡·霍尔斯(Erica Hulse)
Raymond Shield OMBA 学生聚光灯标题图片

“我从未失去对路易斯维尔大学和路易斯维尔市的热爱,” 田纳西州纳什维尔商业银行副总裁和 2021 年春季在线 MBA 团队成员 Raymond Shields。 虽然希尔兹现在可能居住在外州,但他一直住在路易斯维尔,直到 1974 年,并且“看着我的姐姐莎伦·L·希尔兹博士从 UofL 获得本科和硕士学位。 我的父亲 Alan V. Shields 牧师也从 UofL 获得了硕士学位。”

Shields 为 OMBA 课程带来了广泛的知识和银行业的终生职业,以及一份令人印象深刻的学术简历,以满足他对金融领域的热情和承诺。 他毕业于贝尔蒙特大学,获得金融学士学位。 此外,他还参加了田纳西银行家协会、范德比尔特大学和杜克大学的课程。

“获得 MBA 学位将为我提供知识,使我作为我所在领域的思想领袖变得更加强大。 这将使我能够将自己与具有相同目标的其他人区分开来。”

希尔兹一生通过多个学术课程获得了丰富的知识,他知道如果没有获得研究生学位,他的学术生涯是不完整的。 “获得 MBA 学位将为我提供知识,使我作为我所在领域的思想领袖变得更加强大。 这将使我能够将自己与具有相同目标的其他人区分开来。” 由于日程繁忙,希尔兹知道在线获得研究生学位是必要的。 “当时 EMBA 课程的时间安排和在线 MBA 课程的缺乏与我的日程安排和目标不符。” 一旦 UofL 推出了完成学位的在线 MBA 选项,Shields 的情况就发生了变化。 “在线学习使我能够继续接受教育,否则我将无法这样做。”

“我与 Audrey Kline 博士和 Zac Goldman 博士的互动令人难以置信,并在我在 OMBA 期间的时间里打上了‘个人印记’。”

通过虚拟平台与教师和同学联系对 Shields 来说既是积极的又是有益的。 “我团队的其他四名成员都很棒,”他分享道。 “我们合作得很好,我期待与他们有更多的项目。” 他与教职员工一起工作的经历同样强大。 “我与 Audrey Kline 博士和 Zac Goldman 博士的互动令人难以置信,并在我在 OMBA 期间的时间里打上了‘个人印记’。”

当他想放松时,可以在家里看到 Shields 为田纳西泰坦队的比赛加油,或者只是在家外与他的英国史宾格猎犬泰坦一起享受一个下午。 “我喜欢……坐在我们的甲板上,喝一杯葡萄酒或波旁威士忌,看着我们房子后面的农场,那里有鹿和其他野生动物。 它是如此宁静,是远离一天压力的绿洲。”

您想提名OMBA学生聚焦大人物吗? 给我们发电子邮件 bizonline@louisville.edu.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Meet Raymond Shields: OMBA Student Spotlight

July 21, 2021 Erica Hulse
Raymond Shield OMBA Student Spotlight Header Image

“I have never lost my love for the University [of Louisville] and the city of Louisville,” shared Vice-President of Commercial Bank in Nashville, Tennessee and spring 2021 Online MBA cohort member Raymond Shields. Though Shields may now reside out of state, he lived in Louisville until 1974, and “watched as my sister, Dr. Sharon L. Shields, received her undergraduate and master’s degrees from UofL. My father, Reverend Alan V. Shields also received his master’s degree from UofL.”

Shields brings to the OMBA program extensive knowledge and a lifelong career within the banking industry, along with an impressive academic resume tailored to his passion and commitment to the field of finance. He graduated from Belmont University with an undergraduate degree in finance. Additionally, he attended programs from the Tennessee Bankers Association, Vanderbilt University, and Duke University.

“Getting an MBA will provide me knowledge that will make me even stronger as a thought leader in my field. It will allow me to set myself apart from other individuals with the same goals.”

With a wealth of knowledge gained through multiple academic programs over the course of his life, Shields knew that his academic career would not be complete without earning his graduate degree. “Getting an MBA will provide me knowledge that will make me even stronger as a thought leader in my field. It will allow me to set myself apart from other individuals with the same goals.” Due to his busy schedule, Shields knew that earning his graduate degree online was necessary. “The timing of the Executive MBA programs and the lack of online MBA programs at the time were just not a fit with my schedule and goals.” Those circumstances changed for Shields once UofL launched its Online MBA option for degree completion. “Online learning has allowed me to pursue my education, when I would not have been able to otherwise.”

“My interactions with Dr. Audrey Kline and Dr. Zac Goldman have been incredible and have put a ‘personal stamp’ on my time during the OMBA.”

Connecting with faculty and classmates via the virtual platform has been both positive and rewarding for Shields. “The four other members of my team have been just awesome,” he shared. “We have worked well together, and I am looking forward to more projects with them.” Just as powerful were his experiences working with his faculty members. “My interactions with Dr. Audrey Kline and Dr. Zac Goldman have been incredible and have put a ‘personal stamp’ on my time during the OMBA.”

When he wants to unwind, Shields can be found cheering at Tennessee Titan games at home, or simply enjoying an afternoon outside his home with Titan, his English Springer Spaniel. “I like to…sit out on our deck with a glass of wine or a bourbon and watch the farm behind our house for deer and other wildlife. It is so peaceful and an oasis from the stress of the day.”

Would you like to nominate someone to be featured for the OMBA Student Spotlight? Email us at bizonline@louisville.edu.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish