跳到主要内容

Fly-Fight-研究生

1年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
PMBA 学生 Dwight Brown 与 Nat Irvin 博士在 2021 年 XNUMX 月 PMBA 毕业典礼上

当空军退休人员德怀特布朗坐在他的 MBA 毕业典礼上时,他几乎不知道他将成为今年杰出军事奖的获得者。 该奖项旨在表彰对专业 MBA 课程表现出杰出奉献精神和贡献的人。 “当他们叫我的名字时,我感到非常惊讶。 我很荣幸也很感激被选中。” 从他三十多年的服务生涯到他在 UofL 的时间,德怀特已经将挑战转化为机遇。

兵役

德怀特的旅程始于 80 年代初的美国空军。 “我从高中毕业就加入了空军预备队。 我知道我负担不起大学费用,而且我也在寻找更多的结构。” 在他服役 35 年期间,包括在沙漠风暴行动期间,他看到了世界。 德怀特天生的好奇心和改善生活地位的动力意味着抓住机会——包括在空军期间经历了一些不同的职业。 对医学的迷恋促使他成为一名医生,最终塑造了他作为平民的未来职业道路。 回到美国后,德怀特转行从事计算机信息系统和医学信息学工作。

为了推动他长达十年的医疗保健事业,德怀特决定追求一个 UofL MBA. 重返课堂是一项艰难的承诺。 “在我这个年纪重返学校意味着我必须重新学习很多东西,”德怀特说。 在此过程中,没有比 Nat Irvin 博士更能挑战和激励他的教师了。

从飞行员到学生

“我一直是一个有纪律的人,”德怀特说。 “MBA 课程是一门完全不同的学科。 这不是游戏……我有两个班级的 [Nat],他对我的挑战比什么都重要,因为他是一个思想家,他想让你思考。 你需要能够和他一起跳出框框思考。 我很高兴他向我发起挑战,因为这让我对很多事情大开眼界。”

挑战并不止于课堂。 与去年在校的许多学生一样,大流行极大地改变了德怀特的学习经历。 德怀特说:“幸运的是,在大流行之前,我们作为 PMBA 团队一起上了几节课。” “我们的班级面对面见面,彼此了解得足够多,即使我们上网……我们仍然有友情。” 在 COVID-19 中学习了一年的一个好处是,德怀特省去了从俄亥俄州自由镇到学院的通勤,这使他能够专注于自己的工作,甚至可以略微提前完成课程。

继续前进的动力和愿望影响了德怀特的下一步行动。 他将成为 UofL 的第一个成员 NSA 网络安全劳动力证书 队列。 在学习网络安全和密码学的基础知识的同时,该计划将提供获得行业认证和徽章的更多机会。 对于德怀特来说,这份证书就像是他医疗保健之旅的延续。 “由于需要保护数据和患者信息免受网络攻击,我很高兴能成为 UofL 计划的一部分。” 虽然他在空军后备队的日子可能是一段回忆,但他在近 40 年前学到的一课继续为他服务:有纪律地利用所提供的机会。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Fly-Fight-Graduate

August 1, 2021 Jim Warner
PMBA Student Dwight Brown with Dr. Nat Irvin at PMBA commencement May 2021

When Air Force retiree Dwight Brown was sitting at his MBA graduation, little did he know that he would be the recipient of this year’s Distinguished Military Award. The award honors the person who demonstrates outstanding dedication and contributions to the Professional MBA program. “I was totally surprised when they called my name. I am honored and grateful to be selected.” From his thirty-plus years of service to his time at UofL, Dwight has transformed challenges into opportunities.

Military Service

Dwight’s journey began in the US Air Force in the early ’80s. “I joined the Air Force Reserves right out of high school. I knew that I couldn’t afford college, and I also was looking for a little more structure.” He saw the world during his 35 years of service, including during Operation Desert Storm. Dwight’s natural curiosity and drive to improve his station in life meant taking opportunities as they came—including moving through a few different careers while in the Air Force. A fascination with medicine prompted him to become a medic, ultimately shaping his future career path as a civilian. When he returned stateside, Dwight transitioned into computer information systems and a career in medical informatics.

Looking to add a boost to his decade-long healthcare career, Dwight decided to pursue an MBA at UofL. The transition back to classes was a difficult commitment. “Going back to school at my age meant I had to relearn a lot of things,” says Dwight. Along the way, no faculty challenged and motivated him more than Dr. Nat Irvin.

From Airman to Student

“I’ve always been a disciplined person,” says Dwight. “The MBA program is a whole other type of discipline. It’s not a game…I had [Nat] for two classes, and he challenged me more than anything because he’s a thinker, and he wants you to think. You need to be able to think outside the box with him. I’m glad he challenged me because it opened my eyes to a lot of things.”

The challenges did not stop with the classroom. As with many students in school over the last year, the pandemic dramatically changed Dwight’s learning experience. “Luckily, we had several classes together as a PMBA cohort before the pandemic,” says Dwight. “Our class met face-to-face and got to know one another enough that even when we went online…we still had the camaraderie.” One upside from a year of learning in COVID-19 was that Dwight was spared the commute from Liberty Township, Ohio to the College, allowing him to focus on his work and even completing his courses slightly ahead of schedule.

The drive and desire to continue pushing forward has influenced Dwight’s next move. He will be part of UofL’s first NSA Cybersecurity Workforce Certificate cohort. While learning the fundamentals of cybersecurity and cryptography, this program will provide additional opportunities to earn industry certifications and badges. For Dwight, the certificate feels like a continuation of his journey in healthcare. “With the need to protect data and patient information from cyberattacks, I’m excited to be a part of this program at UofL.” While his days in the Air Force Reserves may be a memory, he continues to be served by a lesson he learned nearly 40 years ago: have the discipline to take advantage of the opportunities provided.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian