跳到主要内容

商业之诗

1年2021月XNUMX日 阿里·菲佛
吉姆华纳,COB 内容开发人员

吉姆华纳是商学院的“幕后人物”。 他是负责开发学院产生的声音的团队的一员; 将其打造为学生和员工都值得信赖、受人尊敬的机构。 不过,促成这种声音的不仅仅是吉姆的技术技能; 他的热情和奉献精神确保每个人都坐在桌子旁。 正是这种奉献精神为他赢得了红衣主教精神奖。

“页面上的一切都应该有一个原因——甚至是微观层面。” 吉姆在讨论他在教 MFA 学生如何发展写作风格以及所有写作选择的重要性方面的背景时说到了这一点。 不过,这是对他的恰当引用,因为这不仅适用于他的写作技巧,还适用于他对路易斯维尔大学的热情和联系。

作曲

作为学院的出版和营销协调员,Jim 负责起草或编辑学院制作的几乎所有印刷或数字媒体,但并不止于此。 “我认为我是该部门的瑞士军刀。 知识足够危险,也许足以胜任,”他开玩笑说。 “从写作……到网页设计,到配音广告,再到制作播客,无所不包。”

2018 年,当他的妻子被接受攻读博士学位时,他搬到了路易斯维尔,之后加入了学院。 UofL 的修辞和作文 (正如他所说,“我追随人才”)。 Jim 带来了多年的创作经验,他从威尔克斯大学获得了艺术硕士学位。 他利用所受的教育在费城任教,从事编辑和制作工作,管理一家国际文学杂志,并与 NPR 附属机构合作。 吉姆是一位出版作家,正如教职员工在月度会议上所见证的那样,他是一位多才多艺的诗人。 在文科领域的广阔职业生涯为他目前的职位带来了可识别的力量。

“对声音和语言经济的理解尤其来自诗歌。 它将这些技能视为可转移的,”他解释道。 “作为商学院的诗人——嗯,我认为对双方来说,我们都在说'这不是我们所期望的,但它正在发挥作用。'”

写作机会

吉姆对学院声音的理解不仅仅来自技术经验; 它也源于在他认为需要的领域领导的非常个人的选择。 他是学院的联合主席 多元化与包容性 (D&I) 委员会 并且是 UofL 多样性和种族平等委员会 (CODRE) 的通讯主席。 在这两个领域,他都致力于做出有影响力的改变。 “我是一名建筑工人。 我帮助创造了这些空间,因为在成长过程中,我并不总是能接触到它们,”他说。

阅读圈一直是大学用来帮助教职员工和学生理解和支持反种族主义议程的工具。 对于 Ibram X. Kendi 的书 如何成为反种族主义者, 吉姆走上盘子,方便读者进行艰难的对话。 他在这种环境中的机智和关怀方式为他赢得了红衣主教精神奖。

“在我们谈论问题的周五会议中,吉姆开始向所有人敞开心扉讲述他的经历,作为一个有时会被视为社区隐形成员的人。 我认为这是一个非常重要的时刻,在开放和进入领导一个圈子的领导角色中,“信息系统、分析和运营助理教授兼数字化转型学习计划主任 Andrew Wright 博士说商学院的中心。

起草信心

Wright 博士之前曾担任过 D&I 委员会的教职联合主席,他了解 Jim 选择在这个圈子中领导和分享的重要性。 “他在处理协助角色方面的灵巧……我理解谨慎、外交但诚实地引导这些对话是多么困难。 通过这种方式,我很高兴看到他越来越舒服,能够分享人们不了解他的旅程的那些方面,并真正体现了红衣主教的精神。”

同事和联合委员会主席都感受到了吉姆的存在和才能,他们很感激能听到他的声音。 他很荣幸获得该奖项,并承诺将继续在需要他的领域发挥领导作用。 “在我所做的事情上,我觉得我是学院的大使。 对此有责任; 证明这就是商学院的样子。 我想进一步说明这一点。 像[红衣主教精神]这样的奖项,是一种肯定。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

The Poetry of Business

August 1, 2021 Ali Pfeiffer
Jim Warner, COB Content Developer

Jim Warner is the College of Business’s “man behind the curtain.” He’s part of the team responsible for developing the voice the College generates; establishing it as a credible, respected institution for students and employees alike. It’s not just Jim’s technical skills that have contributed to this voice though; his passion and dedication ensure everyone has a seat at the table. It’s this dedication that earned him a Cardinal Spirit Award.

“There should be a reason for everything that’s there on the page—even down to a microscopic level.” Jim says this while discussing his background in teaching MFA students how to develop their writing style and how all writing choices matter. It’s an apt quote from him though, as it doesn’t just apply to his writing skills, but his passions and connections to the University of Louisville.

Composing the Voice

As the College’s Coordinator of Publications and Marketing, Jim is responsible for drafting or editing nearly any piece of print or digital media the College produces, but it doesn’t stop there. “I think I’m the department’s Swiss Army Knife. It’s enough knowledge to be dangerous, maybe enough to be competent,” he jokes. “It’s everything from writing…to web design, to voice-over commercials, and producing podcasts.”

He joined the College in 2018 after relocating to Louisville when his wife was accepted into a PhD program in Rhetoric and Composition at UofL (as he says, “I follow the talent”). Jim brought with him years of creative experience, having earned an MFA from Wilkes University. He utilized his education to teach, did editing and production work in Philadelphia, managed an international literary magazine, and worked with an NPR affiliate. Jim’s a published writer, and as staff and faculty have witnessed during monthly meetings, an accomplished poet. A vast career in liberal arts brought a recognizable strength to his current position.

“Understanding voice and the economy of language comes from poetry in particular. It’s seeing those skills as transferable,” he explains. “Being a poet in the College of Business—well, I think for both sides, we’re saying ‘This isn’t what we were expecting, but it’s working.’”

Writing Opportunities

Jim’s understanding of the College’s voice isn’t just from technical experience; it’s also born from a very personal choice to lead in the areas he feels needed. He’s co-chair of the College Diversity & Inclusion (D&I) Committee and is the Communications Chair for UofL’s Commission on Diversity and Racial Equality (CODRE). In both spaces, he’s committed to making impactful change. “I’m a builder. I’ve helped create those spaces because growing up, I didn’t always have access to them,” he says.

Reading circles have been a tool the university has utilized to help faculty, staff, and students in understanding and supporting an anti-racist agenda. For Ibram X. Kendi’s book How to Be an Antiracist, Jim stepped up to the plate to facilitate a difficult conversation for readers. His tactful and caring approach in this setting is what earned him his Cardinal Spirit Award.

“During one of our Friday sessions where we were talking about issues, Jim started to open up to everyone about his experiences, as someone who can be sometimes perceived as an invisible member of a community. I saw it as a really important moment in opening up and stepping into a leadership role in leading one of the circles,” says Dr. Andrew Wright, Assistant Professor in Information Systems, Analytics, and Operations and Director of Learning Initiatives in the Digital Transformation Center at the College of Business.

Drafting Confidence

Having previously served as the faculty co-chair on the D&I Committee, Dr. Wright understood the gravity of Jim’s choice to lead and share in this circle. “His deftness at handling the facilitation role…I understand how difficult it is to lead those conversations carefully, diplomatically, but honestly. In that way, I was so happy to see him growing into his comfort in being able to share those aspects about his journey that people didn’t understand and really embodied that Cardinal spirit.”

Jim’s presence and talent are felt by co-workers and co-committee chairs alike, who are grateful to have his voice. He is honored by the award and promises to continue leading in these spaces where he’s needed. “I feel like I am an ambassador for the College in what I do. There’s a responsibility to that; to demonstrate that this is what the College of Business looks like. I want to further that narrative. An award like [the Cardinal Spirit], it’s validation.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian