跳到主要内容

通往潜力的途径

March 22, 2022
企业家 TK Coleman 与 Valley 高中红衣主教桥学院的学者。

企业家 TK Coleman 被描述为充满可能性的代言人。 TK 在 XNUMX 月作为自由企业梅纳德家族讲座系列中心的特邀演讲者将这种热情带到了路易斯维尔。 数十名 UofL 学生、教职员工和社区成员在 TK 为自己创造事情的独特方式上受到了对待,因为他展示了“你梦想中的经济学”。

但在踏上 UofL 的校园之前,TK 与另一组学生进行了交谈,这组学生在杰斐逊县西南部的路易斯维尔山谷高中。 自由企业中心与商学院的 Cardinal Bridge 学院合作,向大约 50 名高中二年级学生、三年级学生和四年级学生介绍了 TK Coleman 的积极性和洞察力。 在与学生的互动环节中,TK 使用故事和个人轶事来传达他努力工作、坚持不懈和创造自己积极成果的信息。

“对我们的学生(和教职员工)来说,这是一个绝佳的机会——我们都需要电梯,而 TK Coleman 提供了,”山谷教师 Marla Paschal 说。 “昨天在整个大楼里,以及当天剩下的时间里,有很多关于这件事的讨论。 我希望他传递的信息能像野火一样深入人心并传播开来。 我们无法向学生传达足够多的积极信息。”

该中心与红衣主教桥学院之间的合作似乎是一种自然而然的合作,因为这两个团体的使命都专注于改善人们的生活。 “自由企业中心的成立是为了说明创新和企业家精神在改善生活中的作用,”中心主任史蒂夫·戈曼说。 “TK 是一个活生生的例子,是刚刚开始学术和职业生涯的年轻人的完美代言人。”

要查看 TK 在商学院的演讲,或任何过去的 Menard 家庭系列讲座活动,请访问 媒体室 at UofLFreeEnterprise.org.

红衣主教桥学院为高中三年级和四年级学生提供提高业务、技术和领导技能的机会,通过双学分课程获得大学学分,并提前直接进入商学院。 目前,CBA 已在当地三所高中实施,有望扩展到其他学校并影响更多学生的生活。 要与 CBA 合作作为财务赞助商、导师、演讲嘉宾或导师,请联系 Erica McDaniel: CBAbiz@louisville.edu.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Pathways to Potential

March 22, 2022
Entrepreneur TK Coleman with Cardinal Bridge Academy scholars at Valley High School.

Entrepreneur T.K. Coleman has been described as a passionate voice for possibility. T.K. brought that passion to Louisville in February as a guest speaker in the Center for Free Enterprise Menard Family Lecture Series. Dozens of UofL students, faculty, staff, and members of the community were treated to T.K.’s unique take on making things happen for yourself, as he presented “The Economics of Your Dreams.”

But before he ever set foot on UofL’s campus, T.K. spoke to another group of students, this one at Louisville’s Valley High School in southwest Jefferson County. Collaborating with the College of Business’ Cardinal Bridge Academy, the Center for Free Enterprise introduced about 50 high school sophomores, juniors, and seniors to T.K. Coleman’s positivity and insight. During the interactive session with students, T.K. used stories and personal anecdotes to relay his message of hard work, persistence, and creating your own positive outcomes.

“What a fabulous opportunity for our students (and staff)—we all needed a lift and T.K. Coleman delivered,” said Valley teacher Marla Paschal. “There was a lot of talk about the event throughout the building yesterday, and for the remainder of the day. I hope the message he delivered sinks in and spreads like wildfire. We can’t get enough positive messages to our students.”

The collaboration between the Center and the Cardinal Bridge Academy seemed like a natural one, given both groups’ missions focus on improving people’s lives. “The Center for Free Enterprise was founded to illustrate the role of innovation and entrepreneurship in making lives better,” said Center director Steve Gohmann. “T.K. is a living, breathing example of that and the perfect spokesperson for young people who are just beginning their academic and career journeys.”

To view T.K.’s talk at the College of Business, or any past Menard Family Lecture Series events, visit the Media Room at UofLFreeEnterprise.org.

The Cardinal Bridge Academy offers high school juniors and seniors opportunities to sharpen their business, technology, and leadership skills, earn college credit hours through dual-credit classes, and establish early direct admission into the College of Business. Currently, in place in three local high schools, the CBA is poised to grow to other schools and impact even more students’ lives. To partner with the CBA as a financial sponsor, mentor, guest speaker, or tutor, contact Erica McDaniel at CBAbiz@louisville.edu.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish