跳到主要内容

有影响力的算法

16年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
动画特色是在数字景观中移动的个人资料

可以肯定地说,自由意志和预先决定之间的古老辩论从未考虑过社交媒体,更不用说算法了。 这项技术在我们日常数字生活中所扮演的角色和目的不仅与我们的习惯有关; 它们模糊了被动和主动决策之间的界限。 对于那些在 Google 或 Instagram 之前知道时间的人来说,一些建议可能会让人觉得有些刺耳,但那些出生在互联网时代的人呢?

像任何代沟一样,X 世代和婴儿潮一代可能认为千禧一代完全了解计算机,但仅仅因为千禧一代自摇篮以来就体验过技术并不能使他们成为专家。 例如,所有 X 世代都无法解释电视广播技术,所有婴儿潮一代都不是机械师。 就像电视或汽车一样,互联网只是我们生活的另一个方面。

在这种情况下考虑算法。 当我们工作、流媒体、购物和发布时,算法只是在表面之下工作。 缩小这些决定的范围似乎是一种无意识的行为。 它确实质疑我们的算法意识以及我们对决策的影响。

探索算法对学生的影响是 UofL 实践助理教授进行的一项研究的核心, 艾比·科尼格(Abby Koenig),博士。 该研究结果于去年年底出现在 计算机与组成. 在她的报告中,学生们表示对算法平台有表面的认识。 当被要求反思和写下他们的经历时,这种反应加深了。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Impactful Algorithms

August 16, 2021 Jim Warner
animation featuring a profile moving through a digital landscape

It’s safe to say that the age-old debate between free will and pre-determination never considered social media, let alone algorithms. The role and purpose this technology plays in our daily digital life has become not only yoked to our habits; they blur the line between passive and active decision-making. For those who knew a time before Google or Instagram, some recommendations may feel intrusive, but what of those born within the internet age?

Like any generation gap, Gen Xers and baby boomers may think millennials fully understand computers, but just because millennials have experienced tech since the cradle doesn’t make them experts. For example, all Gen Xers can’t explain television broadcast tech, and all boomers aren’t mechanics. Much like television or cars, the internet is just another facet of our life.

Consider algorithms in this context. While we work, stream, shop, and post, algorithms are working just below the surface. Narrowing these decisions may seem like an unconscious act. It does call into question our algorithm awareness and what influence we have on our decisions.

Exploring the impact of algorithms on students is at the heart of a study conducted by UofL Assistant Professor of Practice, Abby Koenig, PhD. The findings appeared late last year in Computers and Composition. In her report, students indicated a surface-level awareness of algorithmic platforms. That response deepened when asked to reflect and write about their experiences.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian