跳到主要内容

2020年冬季院长致辞

13年2020月XNUMX日 Todd Mooradian
Todd Mooradian博士,Yogesh Yadav院长

这个学期的结束是赚大钱的时候。 尽管夏末和初秋提供了阳光,而且新鲜的开始和新的学年带来了乐观,但是在寒冷的天气和较早的日落侵袭的日子里,挑战让我们忍耐下来做这项工作。

在磨石上花费的这些时间不仅定义了我们的性格,而且使我们的成功变得更加重要。 我们日复一日地挣钱,我为能成为一所大学的一员而感到自豪,在那里我周围有许多教职工,他们竭尽所能,以确保我们的学生能够发挥潜能,实现美好的事物。

本期的《教职员工,学生和校友》 货币 在数小时的辛勤工作中,他们的性格在火中得以锻造,这与我们的学生在学期末面临的挑战不同。 努力是一种意志的行为,是品格的总和,而且(往往是)只有自我才真正知道。 我们可以记录旅程,但是必须走那条路才能达到极致。 对于此问题中的某些人,例如Sundeep“ Sunny” Dronawat或我们的商学院2019年校友Raymond“ Ray” Loyd研究员,那段旅程意味着极大的牺牲和奉献精神-他们的成功和共同的智慧使我们更加富有。

当最聪明的人有创造知识的空间时,伟大就来了。 这些空间是通过捐赠者(例如Amelia,Harry和Owsley Frazier)以及像Mark Hohmann这样的校友的慷慨而开放的。 能够认识到Manju Ahuja博士是商学院计算机信息系统的Frazier家庭主席,这使我们的大学和学生群体受益匪浅。 对于像肯塔基州Goodwill Industries的首席财务官Mark Hohmann这样的明矾,我们感到非常幸运,他为我们的CAMP 100课程提供了自己的时间和经验。 慷慨绝不等于影响的多寡,在这方面,我们感谢所有为我们学院的伟大而投入的人们,无论是大笔还是小笔,都用财富,才华和热情投入。对于UofL。

希望您从自己的努力和努力中抽出一些时间与我们一起反思,分享其中的成功和故事。 我也鼓励您与我们联系并分享您自己的故事和旅程。 商学院一直渴望听到我们枢机主教的消息。

访问我们的网站,在社交媒体上关注我们,并与我们的教职员工联系,以了解有关即将发生的事件的更多信息。 您可以通过多种方式对商学院正在进行的任务进行投资。 请与Joe Neary及其开发团队联系,以了解如何扩展我们的对话。

最好的,

Todd Mooradian

路易斯维尔大学院长
商学院

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Winter 2020 Dean’s Message

January 13, 2020 Todd Mooradian
Todd Mooradian, PhD, Dean with Yogesh Yadav

The end of the semester is when greatness is earned. Whereas the late summer and early fall offer sunshine and the optimism that fresh starts and new school years bring, it is in the encroaching days of colder weather and earlier sunsets that challenge us to bear down and do the work.

It is these hours spent at the grindstone which not only define our character but make our successes that much more significant. We earn our stripes day in and day out, and I am proud to be a part of a university where I am surrounded by staff and faculty who work so hard at ensuring that great things can be achieved by our students realizing their potential.

The faculty, staff, students, and alumni featured in this issue of Currency have had their character forged in the fire that comes with those hours of hard work, not unlike those which our students face at semester’s end. Effort is an act of will, the summation of character, and (more often than not) only truly known by the self. We can document the journey, but the road still must be traveled to arrive at greatness. For some in this issue, like Sundeep “Sunny” Dronawat or our 2019 Alumni Fellow for the College of Business Raymond “Ray” Loyd, that journey has meant great sacrifice and dedication—and we are all richer by their successes and shared wisdom.

Greatness itself comes when the best minds are given the space to generate knowledge. These spaces are held open through the generosity of donors such as Amelia, Harry, and Owsley Frazier and alumni like Mark Hohmann. To be able to recognize Dr. Manju Ahuja as the Frazier Family Chair of Computer Information Systems in the College of Business benefits our university and student population beyond words. We are fortunate for an alum like Mark Hohmann, CFO at Goodwill Industries of Kentucky, who offers his time and experience as a guest speaker to our CAMP 100 class. Generosity is never about the amount as much as it is about its impact, and in this regard, we are thankful to all those who invest in the greatness of our College in large amounts and small, with treasure and with talent, and with their passion for UofL.

I hope you take some time from your own hard work and efforts to reflect with us, share in the successes and stories contained within. I also encourage you to reach out to us and share your own stories and journeys. The College of Business is always eager to hear from our Cardinal family.  

Visit our website, follow us on social media, and connect with our faculty and staff to learn more about upcoming events. There is a multitude of ways you can invest in the ongoing mission at the College of Business. Please reach out to Joe Neary and his development team to find out how you can extend our conversation.

Best,

Todd Mooradian

Dean, University of Louisville
College of Business

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian