跳到主要内容

屡获殊荣的顾问

13年2020月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳

“我攻读艺术学士学位的是本科生,但是我获得了攻读艺术学位的机会是由一名顾问给我的。”凯蒂·埃特里奇(Katie Ethridge)的研究领域专注于摄影,尽管她有机会在自己的领域工作,但她的爱人UofL的改变和改变的渴望改变了她的职业生涯。

“这是一位促使我学习艺术的顾问……我想帮助人们找到这种联系并发现他们热衷的事物。”帮助学生发现他们的激情反过来帮助凯蒂磨砺了自己的道路-最近得到了认可由教育咨询委员会(EAB)提供。 在今年秋天的美国国家学术咨询协会(NACADA)年度会议上,凯蒂被任命为2019年EAB杰出咨询奖的三位获奖者之一。 该奖项是在去年秋天被商学院任命为“红衣主教精神奖”得主之后的,该榜样体现了使学院成为理想工作场所的鲜明特征。

凯蒂(Katie)的五年咨询经历是一个演变。 凯蒂(Katie)目前担任学术顾问(Sr. Sr.)以来,从作为前台顾问提供分流级别的学生支持起,使她与学生之间建立了更深的联系。 “认识学生并进行更有意义的对话非常有趣,而不仅仅是谈论上什么课或辍学。 我要了解我们的学生来到这所大学的动机。 这就是我对工作的真正爱。”

这些纽带带来了真正为学生的生活提供建议和见解的能力。 “拥有这些关系可以使我们建立信任,并使学生有信心提出棘手的问题,这才是真正重要的问题。”以持续的方式与学生互动和联系本身就是一条学习曲线,凯蒂对她的学生的投资是有形的。 凯蒂目前与TILE的大学生活学习社区合作,教授CAMP 100课程。 当学生们进入霍恩礼堂听取客座讲师Mark Hohmann(肯塔基州Goodwill Industries的首席财务官)的声音时,学生们都在与她签到。 他们渴望分享另一个学周的艰辛和胜利。

凯蒂花时间陪伴他们,并让霍曼先生做好演讲的准备。 “就像这份工作可能会在情感上加重负担一样,它在情感上也是一种回报。

看到成功,即使是在最小的胜利中,例如能够移动考试时间表,对我来说都是至关重要的。”

从整体上定义成功是很难的,因为这不是一成不变的。 例如,凯蒂(Katie)提倡学生的心理健康,因为他们知道更好的幸福感并不总是能反映成绩方面的传统成功感。 “ NACADA具有出色的视觉效果,可以打破顾问的职责……学生的需求,机构的需求,部门的需求以及我们作为顾问的自身需求。 您对所有这些各方都有同等的责任……了解所有这些方面,以便您可以将它们相互之间中继[很重要]。”

凯蒂(Katie)将她的成功归功于商学院顾问和创新自由。 “我在这里有一些独特的机会来开发程序,而我在其他地方可能没有能力。 当她与[资深顾问]雪莱·蒂威尔(Shelley Tewell)合作进行TILE时,就不可能在任何地方发生。来自UofL展示的协作环境。 “商学院支持我,我的主管们支持我-从员工到教职员工的每个人都帮助使生活学习社区发展起来,并设法将他们的课程插入并帮助我们的学生……学院为我提供了独特的机会建立联系并构建此程序。”

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Award-winning Advisor

January 13, 2020 Jim Warner

“I pursued fine arts as an undergrad, but the opportunity to pursue my fine arts degree was given to me by an advisor.” Katie Ethridge’s area of study focused on photography, and while she had a chance to work in her field, her love of both UofL and a desire to make a difference altered her career trajectory. 

“It was an advisor who pushed me to study art… I want to help people find that connection and discover what they are passionate about.” Helping students discover their passion has, in turn, helped Katie hone her path—one which was recently recognized by the Education Advisory Board (EAB). At the National Academic Advising Association (NACADA)’s annual conference this fall, Katie was named as one of three recipients of the 2019 EAB Advising Excellence Awards. This award comes on the heels of being named a Cardinal Spirit Award winner this past fall by the College of Business for exemplifying the defining traits which make the College a wonderful place to work.  

Katie’s five-year journey with advising has been an evolution. From providing triage-level student support as a front desk advisor, Katie’s current role as Academic Counselor, Sr. has allowed her to develop deeper ties with her students. “It’s been great getting to know students and having more meaningful conversations beyond talking about what classes to take or drop. I get to learn what our students’ motivations are for being here at the College. It’s what I really love about the job.” 

From those bonds comes the ability to truly offer advice and insight into a student’s life. “Having these relationships allows us to build trust and give students the confidence to ask the hard questions—that’s where it really matters.” Engaging and connecting with students in sustaining ways is itself a learning curve, and Katie’s investment in her students is tangible. Katie currently works with the College’s Living Learning Community, TILE, teaching the CAMP 100 class. As students filter into the Horn Auditorium to hear guest lecturer Mark Hohmann (CFO, Goodwill Industries of Kentucky), the students all check in with her. They are eager to share the travails and triumphs of another school week.

Katie takes her time with each of them, as well as getting Mr. Hohmann ready for his talk. “In the same ways that the job can be emotionally taxing, it’s emotionally rewarding. 

Seeing the successes—even in the smallest of wins, like being able to move an exam schedule—matters to me.”

Defining success at large is hard because it’s not something that can be found just in numbers. For example, Katie advocates for her students’ mental health, knowing that better well-being may not always reflect a traditional sense of success in terms of grades. “NACADA has a great visual that breaks down an advisor’s responsibility… the student’s needs, the institution’s needs, the department’s needs, our own needs as an advisor. You have a responsibility to all those parties, equally…understanding all those pieces so you can relay them to one another [is important].”

Katie credits part of her success as an advisor to the College of Business and the freedom to innovate. “I’ve had some unique opportunities to develop programs here that I may not have been able to elsewhere. Working on something like TILE with [fellow advisor] Shelley Tewell couldn’t happen just anywhere.” As she presented at the NACADA conference on the success of the LLC, the feedback from counselors at other schools trying to launch similar programs has been decidedly varied from the collaborative environment presented at UofL. “The College of Business supported me, my supervisors supported me—everyone from staff to faculty have helped get the living-learning community going as well as figuring out to plug their programs in and help our students… The College has provided me a unique opportunity to make those connections and build this program.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian