跳到主要内容

支持美国梦; 给L商学院的礼物将帮助学生

30年2019月XNUMX日
大红色的鸟瞰图uofl商业抽象雕塑学院

乔·克拉夫(Joe Craft)的这篇观点文章最初发表于8年2019月XNUMX日的 快递杂志.

上个月,路易斯维尔大学商学院宣布从我的慈善基金会捐赠了一份礼物,以增强其自由企业中心的使命。 这种支持将帮助大学实现其目标,即招募两名企业家精神教授和五名博士研究生,并扩大该中心的研究和学生计划,其中包括阅读小组,演讲者系列和新的在线课程。

利用这些新机会的路易斯维尔学生将准备在整个职业生涯中运用企业家思想并推动创新,同等重要的是,了解并欣赏如何在我们的经济体系内创造价值。

我很幸运地使人们一生都教会我自由企业的重要性,以及为那些愿意加入以目标为目标,或更直率地说,为促进社会福祉而参与商业世界的人们提供的机会。 对于路易斯维尔大学的学生,我希望我的礼物能为您做同样的事情! 我的希望是,您将利用自由企业中心的教advantage,并被激发去追求美国梦。 如果这样做,您将为生活以及成千上万(甚至数百万)的生活带来意义和目标,并为您带来一生。

在我成长的初期,我住在肯塔基州东部极度贫困的时期的哈扎德(Hazard)。 该地区非常依赖煤炭行业,从1950年代末到1970年代初,煤炭行业一直在需求下降。 苦恼的阿巴拉契亚山脉遍布全国各地许多富有同情心的人。

在1960年代,我的回忆包括夏天,担任我的教会的接待委员会成员。 我的任务是欢迎来自美国东部各地的众多志愿者青年团体来到我的家乡,向该地区遭受经济苦难的人们提供希望和救济。 在过去的十年中,政治家和那些将要提供帮助的人不断在媒体中增强绝望的信息。 很难不对这个地区的未来感到忧虑,对自己和同伴也感到焦虑。

幸运的是,我的老师,朋友和家人教会了我自力更生的概念,以及积极参与社会,对自己的生活负责,自己的成果和改变他人生活的需要。 他们解释说,要成为一个创造就业机会的人,帮助其他人找到工作,最好的办法就是使人们摆脱贫困,使他们能够享受工作的尊严,摆脱绝望的阴影,也不必依靠他人来满足他们的基本需求。 那是我对企业家精神和追求美国梦的最初了解。 我立刻被卖了。 原则很简单–认真上学,努力工作,尊重您的导师,承担有计划的风险,在困难时期坚持不懈并一路照顾他人。

在接下来的十年中,我在这些教导中经历了真相。 在政府计划迅速增长的同时,阿拉伯禁运引发了一场能源危机,改变了肯塔基州东部及其公民的经济命运。

自从我从肯塔基大学毕业以来,这是我职业生涯的最佳时机,能源投资者正赶赴肯塔基州的煤矿区,为受过教育和工作意愿的任何人提供就业机会。 这是我追逐美国梦想的机会,我做到了,加入了其中一位投资者以学习工作技能并帮助美国解决能源危机。 我在肯塔基州东部的煤田工作了五年,然后才搬到俄克拉荷马州的塔尔萨,加入另一家恰好在其公司总部设在这里的煤炭公司。

我经常想到以下问题:“谁会想到来自阿巴拉契亚的男孩能实现美国梦?” 在过去的40年中,我一直在帮助我们的国家成为令世界羡慕的经济强国中占据前列。 在这段时间里,我有机会领导了一家公司,该公司已成为肯塔基州最大的煤炭生产商和美国东部第二大煤炭运营商。 一路走来,为我们的企业成功做出贡献的男人和女人的杰出成就得到了认可。 例如,安永会计师事务所(Ernst&Young)在2007年将我评为能源,化学和采矿类别的西南地区年度企业家; 金融博客Motley Fool将我评为“ 10年度十大首席执行官”之一,该职位仅次于Facebook的马克·扎克伯格(Mark Zuckerberg),紧随已故的苹果史蒂夫·乔布斯(Steve Jobs)。 最重要的是,这种成功使我有机会回到自己的家乡。

没有美国的自由企业制度,这种经验是不可能的。 自由市场和企业是获得成功的动力。 自由的企业使我们能够在我们的生活和他人的生活中创造价值。 获得成功是对幸福的最终追求。 这激发了我为路易斯维尔大学的自由企业中心做出的贡献。

这一贡献使我们的未来领导人能够定义他们的成功,追求他们的幸福并最终实现他们对美国梦的愿景。 对于路易斯维尔大学的学生来说,我们的国家需要您充分利用为您制作的这份礼物!

乔·卡夫(Joe Craft)是哈扎德(Hazard)的本地人,毕业于肯塔基大学,是Alliance Resource Partners LP的总裁,首席执行官兼董事长。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Support for the American dream; Gift to U of L business college will help students

December 30, 2019
arial view of Big Red the uofl college of business abstract sculpture

This opinion piece by Joe Craft was originally published in the December 8, 2019 edition of The Courier-Journal.

Last month, the University of Louisville’s College of Business announced a gift from my charitable foundation to enhance the mission of its Center for Free Enterprise. This support will help the university achieve its goals to recruit two professors of entrepreneurship and five doctoral students, as well as to expand the center’s research and student programming, which will include reading groups, a speaker series, and new online courses.

Louisville students who take advantage of these new opportunities will be prepared to apply entrepreneurial thinking and drive innovation throughout their careers and, equally important, understand and appreciate how value is created within our economic system.

I have been fortunate to have people throughout my life teach me the importance of free enterprise and the opportunities made available to those who would embrace participating in the business world with the goal or, more bluntly, the responsibility to advance the well-being of society. To the students at the University of Louisville, I want my gift to do the same for you! My hope is you will take advantage of the teachings at the Center for Free Enterprise and be inspired to chase the American dream. If you do, you will bring meaning and purpose to your life and to the tens of thousands, if not millions of lives you will touch along the way.

During the formative years of my life, I lived in Hazard during a period when Eastern Kentucky was experiencing extreme poverty. The region was very dependent on the coal industry, which was suffering from a decline in demand from the late 1950s to the early 1970s. Distressed Appalachia was on the hearts and minds of many compassionate people from around the country.

In the 1960s, my memories included summers filled by serving on a host committee for my church. My assignment was to welcome a multitude of volunteer youth groups from all over the eastern United States who came to my hometown to offer hope and relief aid to those experiencing economic distress in the area. During that decade the message of hopelessness was constantly being reinforced in the media, by politicians and those who were coming to help. It was hard not to feel apprehensive about the future for the region and anxious for yourself and your fellow man.

Fortunately, my teachers, friends and family taught me the concept of self-reliance and the need to be an active participant in society, to take responsibility for your own life – your own outcome – and to make a difference in the lives of others. They explained lifting people from poverty is best achieved from being a job creator helping others get a job so they could enjoy the dignity of work and escape the shame of hopelessness and the need to depend on others to provide for their basic needs. That was my first understanding of entrepreneurship and chasing the American dream. I was sold immediately. The principles were simple – take school seriously, work hard, respect your mentors, take calculated risks, persevere through difficult times and care for others along the way.

Over the next decade, I experienced the truth in these teachings. While government programs proliferated at a rapid pace, it took an energy crisis, caused by the Arab embargo, to change the economic fortunes of Eastern Kentucky and its citizens.

Perfect timing for my career since I was graduating from the University of Kentucky at the same time energy investors were rushing to Kentucky’s coal mining regions, offering opportunities for employment to anyone with an education and a will to work. This was my chance to chase the American dream and I did so, joining one of those investors to learn job skills and help America solve the energy crisis. I worked in the coalfields of Eastern Kentucky for five years before moving to Tulsa, Oklahoma, to join a different coal company that happened to have its corporate headquarters there.

The following question often runs through my mind: “Who would have thought a boy from Appalachia could achieve the American dream?” Over the past 40 years, I have had a front-row seat helping our country become an economic power that is the envy of the world. During this time, I had the opportunity to lead a company that has become the largest coal producer in Kentucky and the second-largest coal operator in the Eastern United States. Along the way, the outstanding accomplishments of the men and women who contributed to the success of our enterprise were recognized. A couple of examples are when Ernst & Young recognized me as Entrepreneur of the Year for the Southwest Region in the Energy, Chemical and Mining category in 2007; and the financial blog Motley Fool named me one of its “Top 10 CEO’s for 2011,” just ahead of Mark Zuckerberg from Facebook and just behind the late Steve Jobs of Apple. Most of all, this success has allowed me the opportunity to give back to my home state.

Without America’s free enterprise system, this experience would not have been possible. Free markets and enterprise are driven by earned success. Free enterprise allows us to create value in our lives and in the lives of others. Earned success is the ultimate pursuit of happiness. This inspired me to make this contribution to the University of Louisville’s Center for Free Enterprise.

This contribution is given to enable our future leaders to define their success, pursue their happiness, and ultimately, achieve their vision of the American dream. To the students at the University of Louisville, our country needs you to take full advantage of this gift made for you!

Joe Craft, a native of Hazard and a graduate of the University of Kentucky, is president, CEO, and chairman of Alliance Resource Partners LP.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian