跳到主要内容

向自由企业中心和社区发出的支持和承诺之纳纳德信

26年2019月XNUMX日
邮件

Menard家族致我们服务社区的一封公开信:

任何认识梅纳德家族的人都知道我们为中西部的遗产及其灌输的原则而感到自豪。 其中最主要的是对努力的奉献以及我们对教育的力量的信念,以释放我们所有人中非凡的人类潜能。

我们相信,对于那些愿意为之奋斗的人们,梦想可以成真。 在1958中,我们开始从农业和教学过渡到从零开始建立我们的家居装饰业务,并建立了“每次2比4一次”的业务。此后,梅纳德斯(Menards)以提供卓越价值而享誉全球成功远远超出了我们的预期。

我们希望通过投资我们的员工,客户和业务合作伙伴居住,学习和工作的社区的未来来分享成功。 我们的希望是使尽可能多的人有能力,让我们的家庭有机会利用其天生的能力来学习,贡献和成功。

当一个人成功时,我们所有人都会成功。 通过提供帮助人们实现其潜力的机会,我们可以推动进步,因为为社会创造价值的人越多,我们都变得越强大。 因此,这是一个双赢的局面。

我们该怎么做? 我们认为,高等教育是一个很好的起点。

为了解决这个困扰许多人的国家所面临的棘手问题,需要大胆而大胆的想法。 我们在哪里找到这些? 一个地方是大学。

谁不记得大学里至少有一位教授或客座讲师使我们暴露于一种新的思维方式或被以前无法想象的可能性所吸引? 谁激发了我们的梦想? 是谁促使我们做的比我们认为的要多? 那就是学习的本质。 那就是导致创新的原因。 这就是使社会前进的动力。

大学经历的一个开创性部分是听取不同观点的人的讲话,这些人在为他人创造价值方面有着良好的记录。 在Menards,我们希望为更多的学生提供体验的机会,从而发展终身的学习兴趣。

从一开始,世界上的一个常数就是变化。 得益于技术革命,我们所有人都度过了今天的崩溃速度并从中受益,如今这种破坏速度似乎比以往任何时候都快,而且没有人幸免。 我们甚至没有像以前那样削减四分之四。

为了保持与时俱进,我们所有人都需要接受学习和提出新的想法,以便我们创建一个没有任何人落伍的美国。 我们希望我们对路易斯维尔大学自由企业中心的支持将增强学生的教育经验,为他们取得未来的成功做好准备,并激发整个中西部社区的世代繁荣,从而引领潮流。

约翰·梅纳德(John Menard)还是UW的学生-欧克莱尔(Eau Claire)时,创立了自己的同名家庭装修商店。 如今,Menards在325中西部各州拥有41商店和14制造设施。 仅在肯塔基州,梅纳德斯就有两家商店。

梅纳德斯对路易斯维尔大学的承诺将使自由企业中心继续其使命,从事研究和教学,探索企业在促进个人,社区和社会福祉中的作用。 3百万美元的赠款将帮助资助两个新的终身任职教授职位和五个新的博士研究生,并使中心能够创造新的机会,使学生有机会学习创新,创造力和企业家思维如何有益于他们的未来工作–无论他们选择的专业还是职业道路。

##

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Menard letter of support and commitment to the Center for Free Enterprise and the community

November 26, 2019
letter

An open letter from the Menard family to the communities we serve:

Anyone who knows the Menard family knows how proud we are of our Midwestern heritage and the principles it’s instilled in us. Chief among those is a dedication to hard work and our belief in the power of education to unlock the extraordinary human potential that lies within all of us.

We believe that big dreams can come true for those who are willing to work for them. In 1958 we started transitioning from farming and teaching to build our home improvement business from scratch, building it, as has been reported, “one two-by¬ four at a time.” Since then, Menards’ reputation for offering superior value has led to success far beyond our expectations.  

We want to share in that success by investing in the future of the communities where our employees, customers and business partners live, learn and work. Our hope is to empower as many people as possible to have the opportunity our family did to use their innate abilities to learn, contribute and succeed.

When one person succeeds, we all succeed. By providing opportunities that help people realize their potential, we drive progress, because the more people who are creating value for society, the stronger we all become. So it’s a win-win all around.

How do we do that? We think one good place to start is with higher education.

To tackle the tough issues facing this country, that are holding so many people back, requires big, bold ideas. And where do we find those? One place is at colleges and universities.

Who doesn’t remember at least one professor or guest lecturer in college who exposed us to a new way of thinking or captivated us with previously unimagined possibilities? Who inspired us to dream? Who pushed us to do more than we thought we were capable of? That is the essence of learning. That is what leads to innovation. That is what moves society forward.

A seminal part of the college experience is hearing from people who have a diversity of viewpoints and track record of creating value for others. At Menards, we want to give more students the opportunity to have that experience and to develop a lifelong love of learning as a result.

From the beginning of time, the one constant in the world is change. Thanks to the technological revolution we are all living through–and benefiting from–today’s rate of disruption seems faster than ever, and it spares no one. We don’t even cut two-by-fours like we used to.

To stay relevant, all of us need to embrace learning and new ideas so that we can create an America where nobody gets left behind. We hope our support of the University of Louisville’s Center for Free Enterprise will enhance the educational experiences of students, preparing them for future success and inspiring generational prosperity throughout communities across the Midwest to lead the way.

John Menard founded his namesake home improvement stores while he still was a student at UW – Eau Claire. Today, Menards has 325 stores and 41 manufacturing facilities located in 14 Midwestern states. In Kentucky alone, Menards has two stores.

Menards’ commitment to the University of Louisville will enable the Center for Free Enterprise to continue its mission to engage in research and teaching that explores the role of enterprise in advancing the well-being of individuals, communities, and society. The $3 million gift will help fund two new tenure-track professorships and five new doctoral fellows and also will enable the Center to create new opportunities that will give students the chance to learn how innovation, creativity, and entrepreneurial thinking will benefit their future work – no matter their chosen major or career path.

##

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian