跳到主要内容

什么是领导力?

6年 2020月 XNUMX日 Ryan Quinn博士
帕特·鲁莫罗棒球运动员和领导人

COVID-19时代的佼佼者:MBA学生的故事:参赛作品#2

我可以告诉球员参与,因为他们在问所有正确的问题。 我为他们的答案做好了准备,并确保尽可能多地关心他们。 对话结束时,我向他们保证隧道尽头总是有阳光,而且我总是有空说话。

Pat Rumoro,MBA学生,曾任路易斯维尔大学棒球运动员

在深入探讨分享领导力故事的博客之前,我应该澄清一下该博客中的用语。 当然,领导有很多定义,人们使用的大多数不同定义都没有错。 但是,为了清晰易懂,我需要解释领导力的含义,以便在我使用术语一词时,您知道我在说什么。

我将领导力定义为一个影响过程,分为三个步骤。 当一个人表现出至少一种比他或她遵守惯例所表现出的才能更好的美德时,便开始这一过程。 美德是道德上卓越的标准,例如勇气,同情心,正直或谦卑。 约定是一种我们认为理所当然的活动模式,例如习俗,规范,制度,例行程序,程序,政策或礼节。 约定可能很长很复杂,例如在国会制定法律的过程,也可能很简单,例如美国大多数讲英语的人倾向于在别人向我们打招呼时打招呼。 然后,当一个人偏离常规但通过表现出比以往通常情况下更出色的美德时,就会发生领导才能。

第一步的一个简单例子是Pat Rumoro,他是我目前的MBA学生之一,曾是路易斯维尔大学的棒球运动员。 (他允许我在讲故事时使用他的名字。)在为我的班级分配作业时,他说,在美国开始社交疏离之后,他“希望与一些现役的棒球运动员保持联系,以振奋精神。”

请记住,当社会隔离规则生效时,大多数大学都取消了像棒球这样的春季运动。 路易斯维尔棒球队取得了不错的开端,当社交疏散结束时,他们的战绩为13-4。 失去了您全年都在为之准备的赛季,这在极端中令人失望。 然而,对失落赛季的失望并不是许多棒球运动员需要振作精神的唯一原因。 对于许多球员来说,赛季的损失也使他们的职业前景和终生的梦想受到质疑。 如果我今年希望在美国职业棒球大联盟留下深刻印象怎么办? 还是要从去年的受伤中恢复过来? 还是最终闯入起跑线? 如果我不是棒球运动员,那我是谁? 我还能成为谁? 此外,学生运动员在就业市场和职业发展方面的经验很少(如果有的话)。 失去工作或职业前景对任何人来说都是灾难性的,但是一个人的经验越少,经验的不确定性和恐惧性就越大。

当Pat想到目前的棒球运动员时,他感到同情他们,然后安排了与一群棒球运动员的电话会议:

球员士气低落的事实使我在脆弱的时候支持他们。 他们不确定自己的未来以及下一步应该做什么,我能够提供现实的支持。 我制定了一个计划,以便从一开始就可以理解他们的感受,然后利用我的经验来提升他们的感受。 ……我能够开发出一种“如果……那么”类型的方法,在学习了玩家的感受之后,我将有不同的选择途径可供选择。 这样,我就可以尽可能多地利用自己的个人经历。

我发了短信给我最近的几个玩家,并设置了电话会议。 我确保首先要问的是每个人的感觉如何以及他们对未来的看法。 我确保记下每个玩家的回应,以便每当看到联系时都可以准确地回头。 然后,我运用了“如果……那么”的方法,将他们的感受与经历联系起来,并解释了我如何能够自我激励度过一段因受伤而无法参加整个赛季的时间。

我可以告诉球员参与,因为他们在问所有正确的问题。 我为他们的答案做好了准备,并确保尽可能多地关心他们。 在对话结束时,我向他们保证隧道尽头总是有阳光,而且我总是有空说话。 我认为事情进展得尽可能顺利。

帕特的举止达到了领导的首要条件:他的举止表现出至少一种美德(同情),并且比人们遵守惯例时通常表现出的卓越。 尚无既定的流程,规程或习惯来让Pat伸出手并与当前的棒球运动员举行会议。 组织会议(尤其是电话会议,因为他们必须遵守社交距离)的想法与习惯行动不同。

帕特的举动也表现出了极大的同情心。 伸出援助之手非常富有同情心,但Pat并没有就此止步。 他花时间仔细考虑并计划他在会议上会说和要做的事情。 他提出要表明自己关心的观点。 他非常乐于倾听,因此记笔记。 他分享了个人故事,以使他们受益。 他答应在那里为他们服务。

帕特的故事还介绍了领导过程的第二步和第三步。 宣称领导力已经发生的第二个步骤是,其他人会感到某种振奋或赞美的情绪。 在这个故事中,帕特描述了玩家参与对话的过程,与对话开始前他们的士气低落形成了鲜明对比。

领导过程的第三步是人们的跟随。 当人们模仿,服从或以与第一人的行为相辅相成的方式行事时,就会发生跟随行为。 毕竟,如果没有人跟随,就没有领导。 这就是为什么领导是一个社会过程,而不只是一个人的行为的原因。 即使一个人表现出非凡的美德,即使没有人跟随,也不会发生领导。

Pat只写了一些关于关注的内容。 首先,他说他们通过“提出所有正确的问题”来回应他的努力。 其次,他说他告诉他们他会在他们那里。 在这种情况下,随即提出了一些问题,因为帕特(Pat)帮助他们弄清楚了自己失去的赛季该怎么办,因此,通过提出问题,他们符合他的愿望,希望他们与他一起努力以找出解决办法。 此外,如果他们在需要帮助时继续来找他,那么他们将遵守他的愿望,希望他们与他联系。

帕特(Pat)在棒球运动员中的领导能力说明了我对领导能力的定义。 即使我们没有正式的领导职位,他的故事也是我们许多人可以展现的那种领导风格的简单但启发性的例子。 实际上,这只是我将在此博客中使用的领导力定义的一个好处。 如果领导力是一个过程,其过程始于超越常规的美德,然后激发其他人效仿,那么就有可能:任何人几乎在任何时候都表现出领导才能; 处于正式领导职位的人要知道什么时候领导(相对于他们何时进行管理,控制,交流或使用其他某种形式的影响); 领导者尊重他人的代理机构来选择是否自己跟随自己; 人们要更加清楚领导的责任和利益。 如果我们更多的人声称这些好处和责任,那么我们可能会对这次大流行时代产生的令人鼓舞的结果感到惊讶。


关于博客

该博客中的条目考察了我的领导力故事 工商管理硕士 的学生 路易斯维尔大学商学院。 在美国开始社会隔离之后不久,我们就领导力课程开始了。 我被要求为学院制作内容,这将有助于个人和组织努力应对鉴于COVID-19大流行而我们都面临的新的,棘手的和复杂的问题,但是起初,我担心我会除了我见过的许多其他精彩内容之外,几乎没有什么可以提供的。 然后,我的学生开始报告他们在我班上表现出的领导才能。 他们面临的挑战是多种多样的,但他们的努力却鼓舞人心。 因此,我现在分享他们的一些经验以及对他们的经验的一些分析。 我希望这既能激发读者的灵感,又能给读者具体的想法,使他们在困难时期也能表现出卓越的领导才能。


关于积极领导项目

积极领导力项目是路易斯维尔大学商学院的一项举措,其使命是通过增强世界上的积极领导力来使生活变得更加重要和成功。 为此,我们创建和传播用于教授和学习积极领导力的工具,支持对积极领导力的研究,并与承担相同或相似任务的其他人建立联系,以增强彼此的影响力。 我们还与 高管教育 向希望增强领导能力的管理人员提供这些工具。


关于作者

瑞安·奎因博士

瑞安·奎因(Ryan W.Quinn) 是管理学副教授和积极领导力项目的学术主管。 路易斯维尔大学商学院。 他撰写了有关领导力和相关主题的书籍和学术文章,以期了解如何帮助个人和组织发挥潜力。 他还教高管,MBA学生,并为世界各地的组织提供咨询。

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

What Is Leadership?

April 6, 2020 Ryan Quinn, PhD
Pat Rumoro baseball player and leader

LEADING IN THE TIME OF COVID-19: STORIES FROM MBA STUDENTS: Entry #2

I could tell the players were engaged because they were asking all of the right questions. I was prepared for their answers and made sure to be as caring as possible. At the end of the conversation I was able to assure them that there will always be light at the end of the tunnel and that I was always available to talk.

Pat Rumoro, MBA Student and former University of Louisville baseball player

Before I get too far into a blog that shares stories of leadership, I should clarify what I mean by the term in this blog. There are, of course, many definitions of leadership, and there is nothing wrong with most of the different definitions people use. However, in order to be clear and comprehensible, I need to explain what I mean by leadership so that when I use the term you know what I am talking about.

I define leadership as an influence process that occurs in three steps. This process begins when one person exhibits at least one virtue with more excellence than he or she would have exhibited if he or she had conformed to convention. A virtue is a standard of moral excellence such as courage, compassion, integrity, or humility. A convention is a pattern of activity that we take for granted, such as customs, norms, institutions, routines, procedures, policies, or rituals. Conventions may be long and complicated, such as the process for making laws in Congress, or they may be simple, such as the tendency of most English speakers in the United States to respond by saying hello when someone else says hello to us. Leadership occurs, then, when a person deviates from convention but does so by exhibiting virtue with more excellence than they normally would in that situation.

A simple example of this first step comes from Pat Rumoro, one of my current MBA students, and a former University of Louisville baseball player. (He gave me permission to use his name in telling his story.) In his assignment for my class, he said that after social distancing began in the United States he “wanted to reach out to some current baseball players to lift their spirits.”

Remember, when social distancing rules went into effect, most universities canceled Spring sports like baseball. The Louisville baseball team was off to a great start, with a 13-4 record when social distancing ended their season. Losing a season for which you have been preparing all year is disappointing in the extreme. However, disappointment over the lost season was not the only reason that many of the baseball players needed their spirits lifted. For many of the players, the loss of the season also threw their career prospects and life-long dreams into doubt. What if I was counting on this year to make an impression on major league scouts? Or to recover from last year’s injury? Or to finally break into the starting rotation? If I am not a baseball player, who am I? And who else can I be? Furthermore, student-athletes have little (if any) experience with job markets and career development. Losing a job or one’s career prospects can be devastating for anyone, but the less experience a person has, the more uncertain and frightening the experience tends to be.

When Pat thought of the current baseball players, he felt compassion for them and then arranged a telephone meeting with a group of baseball players:

The fact that the players’ morale was so low allowed me to support them at a time of vulnerability. They were unsure about their futures and about what they should do next and I was able to offer realistic support. I laid out a plan so that I could understand their feelings from the beginning, and then use my experiences to lift them up. … I was able to develop an “if…then” type of approach where I would have different options of outlets to follow after learning how the players felt. This way, I was able to relate as much of my personal experiences as possible.

I texted a couple of players that I was closest to and set up a conference phone call. I made sure the first thing I asked was how everyone was feeling individually and what they thought their future was. I made sure to take notes on each player’s responses so that I could accurately relate back whenever I saw a connection. I then used my “if…then” approach and related their feelings to an experience I had and explained how I was able to self-motivate to get through a time when I wasn’t able to play for an entire season due to injury.

I could tell the players were engaged because they were asking all of the right questions. I was prepared for their answers and made sure to be as caring as possible. At the end of the conversation, I was able to assure them that there will always be light at the end of the tunnel and that I was always available to talk. I thought things went as smoothly as possible.

Pat’s action met the first criterion for leadership: he acted in a way that exhibited at least one virtue (compassion) with more excellence than people typically exhibit when they conform to convention. There was no established process, procedure, or custom for Pat to reach out and set up a meeting with current baseball players. The idea of organizing a meeting—especially a phone meeting, given that they had to comply with social distancing—was distinct from customary action.

Pat’s actions also exhibited excellent compassion. The very act of reaching out was compassionate, but Pat did not stop there. He took the time to think through and plan what he would say and do in the meeting. He made a point to show he cared. He was so committed to listening well that he took notes. He shared personal stories for their benefit. He promised to be there for them.

The second and third steps of the leadership process were also present in Pat’s story. The second step that must occur to claim that leadership has occurred is that other people feel some kind of uplifting or other-praising emotion. In this story, Pat describes the player’s engagement in their conversation in contrast to the low morale they were feeling before the conversation began.

The third step in the leadership process is that people follow. Following happens when people imitate, obey, or act in ways that complement the first person’s actions. After all, there is no leadership if no one follows. This is why leadership is a social process, not just a person’s actions. Even if a person exhibits exceptional virtue, if no one follows, no leadership has happened.

Pat only writes a little bit about following. First, he says that they responded to his efforts by “asking all of the right questions.” Second, he says that he told them he would be there for them. In this situation, asking questions is following because Pat went to help them figure out what to do about their lost season, so by asking questions they are complying with his wish for them to work with him to figure out what to do. Further, if they continue to come to him when they need help, they will be complying with his wish for them to reach out to him.

Pat’s leadership with the baseball players illustrates my definition of leadership. His story is also a simple-but-inspiring example of the kind of leadership that many of us can exhibit, even if we have no formal leadership position. In fact, this just one benefit of the definition of leadership I will be using in this blog. If leadership is a process that begins with virtue that exceeds convention and then inspires others to follow, then it is possible for: anyone to exhibit leadership at almost any time; people in formal leadership positions to know when they are leading (versus when they are managing, controlling, exchanging, or using some other form of influencing); leaders to respect the agency of others to choose whether or not to follow for themselves; and people to be much clearer about both the responsibilities and the benefits of leadership. If more of us claim those benefits and responsibilities, we may be surprised at the inspiring outcomes that emerge from this time of the pandemic.


About the Blog

The entries in this blog examine stories of leadership performed by my Masters of Business Administration students at the University of Louisville College of Business. Our classes on leadership began shortly after social distancing began in the United States. I was asked to produce content for the College that would be helpful to individuals and organizations struggling to manage the new, jarring, and complex problems we all face in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, but at first, I worried that I would have little to offer beyond the wonderful content I have seen so many others produce. Then, my students began to report on the leadership efforts they exhibited in my class. The challenges they face are diverse and wide-ranging, but their efforts are inspiring. Therefore, I am now sharing some of their experiences, as well as some of my analyses of their experiences. My hope is that this will both inspire readers and also give readers concrete ideas about how they too can exhibit exceptional leadership during these difficult times.


About the Project on Positive Leadership

The Project on Positive Leadership is an initiative within the University of Louisville’s College of Business with a mission to make lives more significant and successful by increasing positive leadership in the world. We do this by creating and disseminating tools for teaching and learning positive leadership, by supporting research on positive leadership, and by connecting with others who embrace the same or similar missions, in order to enhance each other’s impact. We also work in conjunction with Executive Education to deliver these tools to managers wishing to enhance their leadership capability.


About the Author

Dr. Ryan Quinn

Ryan W. Quinn is an Associate Professor of Management and the Academic Director of the Project on Positive Leadership at the University of Louisville College of Business. He has written books and academic articles on leadership and related topics, with an interest in understanding how to help individuals and organizations unleash their potential. He also teaches executives, MBA students, and consults for organizations around the world.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian