跳到主要内容

COVID-19反射博客:菲利普·库普(IMBA学生)

7年 2020月 XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
Phillip Cupp UofL MBA学生

菲利普·库普(Phillip Cupp)是商业创新学院MBA的研究生。 他是RIZIN Technologies的创始人兼首席执行官。


我们中的许多人都不知道COVID-19对21世纪的生活方式会产生什么影响。 由于我的大部分工作都已经很遥远,所以我想念许多面对面的互动,但是我的工作生活相对来说没有变化。 但是,许多外围关系已受到重大影响。

我的妻子在一家医疗机构上班,该部门被认为是不必要的医疗机构,上周不得不弄清楚如何申请失业。 支票还没有进来,我们还在这些未知的海域中航行。 我的兄弟还在一家不重要的医疗机构工作,并且由于必须关闭办公室而大幅削减了工资。 同一周,他的妻子开始工作,并有了第二个女婴艾玛(Emma)。 她既快乐又健康,但我只能想象此时将孩子带入世界的焦虑,以及孩子给家人带来的经济负担。 我婆婆失去了工作,许多朋友也失去了工作。 与COVID-19如何在经济上影响其他人以及全球范围内压倒性的医疗挑战相比,这些个人例子显得苍白无力。

菲利普的侄女:艾玛(Emma)

对我们所有人来说,这是一个独特而陌生的时间。 在危机时期内向内弯腰并弯腰下来是很自然的,但是我们不必这样生活。 这是一个顺应他人需求的机会,并且随着环境的不断变化而保持感恩和灵活。 无论是为失业的家庭成员或朋友准备饭菜,还是向其他人提供其他资源(育儿,经济支持等),这时都有很多方法可以让您外在。 看到该国团结起来令人鼓舞,并且 随着病毒继续传播,各种公司改变了供应链以生产更多的通风机并提供个人防护装备。

由于我对基督的信仰对我的身份至关重要,因此希望在这个黑暗的时代散发出来:

耶和华坚定的爱永不止息。 他的怜悯永不止息。 他们每天早晨都是新来的; 您的忠诚是伟大的。 我的灵魂说:“耶和华是我的份,因此我要在他身上寄希望。” (哀3:22-24)

创业挑战

作为RIZIN Technologies的创始人兼首席执行官,RIZIN Technologies是一家利用超敏呼吸分析技术的生物技术初创公司,COVID-19不仅给我们团队造成很大压力,而且在企业家和小型企业社区中也造成了更大的压力。 在赢得竞争并在多个商业计划竞赛中获胜后,我们的团队感到震惊和兴奋,因为我们参加了莱斯商业计划竞赛:MBA超级碗竞赛。 然后COVID-19撞击,感觉就像我们帆后面的风突然停止了。 我们无法参加加拿大的比赛,赖斯已被推迟到今年六月。

作为企业家,我和我的团队一直保持灵活,并根据时事调整了我们的业务模式。 不管发生什么事,我们都对我们的合资企业持乐观态度,并且知道我们将共同努力。 尽管我们不知道隧道有多长,但隧道尽头仍然有亮光。

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

COVID-19 Reflection Blog: Phillip Cupp (IMBA student)

April 7, 2020 Jim Warner
Phillip Cupp UofL MBA Student

Phillip Cupp is a graduate student in the College of Business Innovation MBA. He is the founder and CEO of RIZIN Technologies.


Many of us had no idea the impact that COVID-19 would have upon our way of living in the 21st century. With most of my work already being remote, I miss many in-person interactions, but my work life has been relatively unchanged. However, many peripheral relationships have been significantly affected.

My wife works for a medical office, which has been deemed a non-essential medical service and had to figure out how to file for unemployment last week. The check still hasn’t come in yet, and we’re still navigating these uncharted waters. My brother also works in a medical office deemed non-essential and has taken a significant pay cut with his office being mandated to shut down. That same week, his wife went into labor, and they had their second baby girl, Emma. She is happy and healthy, but I can only imagine the anxiety of bringing a child into the world at this time, along with the financial burden it has placed on their family. My mother-in-law lost her job, and many friends have lost theirs as well. These personal examples pale in comparison to how COVID-19 has impacted others economically and the overwhelming medical challenges around the world.

Phillip’s niece: Emma

This is a unique and unfamiliar time for all of us. It is only natural to turn inward and hunker down during times of crisis, but we don’t have to live this way. This is an opportunity to look to the needs of others, along with remaining thankful and flexible as the environment continues to shift. Whether that’s preparing a meal for family members or friends who have lost their jobs or providing additional resources (childcare, financial support, etc.) to others, there are plenty of ways to look outside of yourself at this time. It’s encouraging to see the country rally together, and various companies alter supply chains to produce more ventilators and provide PPE as the virus continues to spread.

With my faith in Christ being central to who I am, hope radiates in this dark time:

The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” (Lamentations 3:22-24)

Entrepreneurship Challenges

As the founder and CEO of RIZIN Technologies, a biotech startup utilizing hypersensitive breath analysis, COVID-19 has put a strain on our business for both my team but even more so on many within the entrepreneurial and small business community. After building momentum in competing in and winning at multiple business plan competitions, our team was shocked and elated that we got into the Rice Business Plan Competition: the Superbowl of MBA competitions. Then COVID-19 hit, and it felt like the wind behind our sails suddenly stopped. We were unable to attend a competition in Canada, and Rice has been postponed to June of this year.

As entrepreneurs, my team and I have remained flexible and adapted our business model in light of current events. Regardless of what happens, we are optimistic about our venture and know we will get through this together. Although we don’t know how long the tunnel is yet, there remains a light at the end of it.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian