跳到主要内容

投资挑战

29 年2021月XNUMX日 阿里·菲佛
汤姆·威姆塞特(Tom Wimsett_UofL)校友

“准备说是。”

这是商学院校友兼Wimsett&Company首席执行官兼所有者Tom Wimsett的建议。 支付和金融技术行业的资深人士将其抓住机遇的能力归功于他获得成功的基石。

Wimsett在东肯塔基大学开始了他的学术生涯,但是当他的高中恋人Rhonda进入路易斯维尔大学时,他跟随了他。 通过参加支付处理公司National Processing Company雇用数百个新职位的职业博览会,他在19岁时成为数据输入文员。今年夏天的工作使Wimsett踏入了金融技术行业的道路,他认识到了这种影响接受他所带来的机会。 

在80年代和90年代初,数据处理是手动完成的。 公司通常会在美国境外开设设施来容纳这些业务。 当National Processing Company决定跟随行业发展以跟上竞争步伐时,Wimsett抓住了职业发展的机会,并搬到了德克萨斯州的El Paso,负责监督在墨西哥华雷斯市跨境开设的新数据处理设施。

“我愿意承担问题操作……他们会想,'天哪,我们可以搬到埃尔帕索的人? 谁愿意每天开车穿越边境?'”他说。 “我来自总部,了解文化,了解我们需要完成的工作。”

随着公司机会的不断增加,他对提高板块的技巧导致了更多的越野运动,因为该公司继续建立新的设施。 最终,汤姆的努力得到了回报,他在34岁时被任命为National Processing Company的首席执行官。他担任该职位四年,负责监督该公司的市值增加了1.5亿美元,然后在2002年离开以寻求更具创业精神的公司。路线。

自从在National Processing Company工作以来,Wimsett在过去的19年中一直在金融技术和支付处理行业中寻找新的机会。 他通过在新挑战中的经验积累了经验,建立了新公司并寻找可以解决的职业定义难题(他成为肯塔基州巴兹敦的Town&Country Bank and Trust Company董事长,并在金融危机期间扭转了困境。挣扎)。 

职业成功并不是Wimsett致力于的唯一领域。 受益于他在UofL工作的时光,他对回馈教育充满了热情。 他曾担任天主教教育基金会(Catholic Education Foundation)的主席,在纳尔逊县学校(Nelson County Schools)的公民顾问委员会中担任职务,他们实施了一项新计划,让每位高中生和初中获得兼职工作,以获取工作经验,并且目前重视他在美国商学院顾问委员会中担任的职务。 

“我们是院长和商学院的一个很好的发声板。我认为这是一支很棒的高管团队。”

Wimsett于1986年毕业于商学院,获得工商管理学士学位,他珍视该学院所提供的现实世界课程。 

他说:“我会在UofL学习很多东西,就像我在Bob Myers博士那里学的统计学课程一样……在我所有的课程中我都会把我学到的东西[应用到工作中],”说。

Wimsett看到了艰苦的工作并将理论应用到实践中所拥有的力量,因此鼓励学生和应届毕业生做同样的事情。

他说:“当您获得职业发展的机会时,即使这意味着有时会搬到新城市,如果您将这些视为冒险,那么您的个人和职业都将得到更大的发展。” 。 “为自己设定一个高标准,并朝着这个目标努力。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Investing in Challenge

April 29, 2021 Ali Pfeiffer
Tom Wimsett_UofL Alumni

“Be prepared to say yes.”

That’s the advice of Tom Wimsett, College of Business alum and CEO/Owner of Wimsett & Company. The payment and financial technology industry veteran credits his ability to seize opportunity when it’s presented to him as a cornerstone to his success.

Wimsett started his academic career at Eastern Kentucky University, but when his high school sweetheart, Rhonda, attended the University of Louisville, he followed. By attending a career fair where payment processing firm National Processing Company was hiring hundreds of new positions, he became a data entry clerk at the age of 19. This summer job started Wimsett down a path in the financial technology industry, where he recognized the impact of accepting opportunities that came his way. 

In the 80s and early 90s, data processing was done manually. It was common practice for companies to open facilities outside of the US to house these operations. When National Processing Company decided to follow industry suit in order to keep up with the competition, Wimsett seized his chance for career growth and moved to El Paso, Texas to oversee a new data processing facility being opened across the border in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico.

“I was willing to take on problem operations…They’d be like, ‘Gosh, who can we move to El Paso?  Who’s going to be willing to drive across the border every day?’” he says.  “I came from headquarters, I knew the culture, I understood what we needed to accomplish.”

His knack for stepping up to the plate when opportunity knocked led to more cross country moves as the company continued to set up new facilities. Eventually, Tom’s hard work paid off and he was named CEO of National Processing Company at the age of 34. He spent four years in the role, overseeing the market value for the company increase by $1.5 billion before leaving in 2002 to pursue a more entrepreneurial route.

Since his time with National Processing Company, Wimsett has spent the last 19 years seeking new opportunities in the financial technology and payments processing industry. He’s built upon his experience with new challenges by starting new companies and seeking out career-defining challenges that he could solve (he became chairman for Town & Country Bank and Trust Company in Bardstown, Kentucky and turned the troubled bank around during a period of financial struggles). 

Career success isn’t the only area Wimsett’s focused his efforts on.  He’s developed a passion for giving back to education, having benefitted from the opportunities his time with UofL afforded him. He’s served as Chairman of the Catholic Education Foundation, in a Citizen’s Advisory Board role to Nelson County Schools where they implemented a new program to get every high school junior and senior a part-time job in order to gain job experience, and currently values the role he holds on the College of Business Board of Advisors. 

“We serve as a good sounding board for the dean and the College of Business….I think it’s a great group of executives.”

Having graduated from the College of Business in 1986 with his BS in Business Administration, Wimsett values the real-world lessons the College has to offer. 

“I would take a lot of the things I was learning at UofL, like my statistics course I had with Dr. Bob Myers…I would take things I was learning in all of my courses there [and apply them to work],” he says.

Having seen the power that hard work and applying theory to practice has had on his own career, Wimsett encourages students and new graduates to do the same.

“When you get an opportunity for career advancement, even if it means sometimes moving to a new city, if you look at those things as an adventure, [you’ll] grow more, both personally, as well as professionally,” he says. “Set a high bar for yourself and work towards that objective.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian