跳到主要内容

第二次机会

April 30, 2021
放大电话,演讲者讨论第二次招聘机会。 有穿着商务休闲装的性专业人士。

在当今紧张的劳动力市场中,雇主必须发挥创造力来填补空缺职位以保持其业务运营。 自由企业中心最近举行的一次小组讨论讨论了解决劳动力短缺同时帮助公司履行其多样性和公平使命的一种方法。

第二次机会招聘的商业和道德案例 专注于未开发和未充分利用的员工来源:有犯罪记录的人。 该小组由第二次机会思想领袖、人力资源专家和一名前囚犯组成,他现在是一名成功的软件工程师。 1 月 XNUMX 日的活动拉开了第二次机会月的序幕。

第五三银行首席投资策略师、最近出版的一本有关该主题的书的作者杰夫·科尔泽尼克 (Jeff Korzenik) 深入了解了美国人口老龄化、自 1990 年代以来出生率下降以及大量工人离职导致的劳动力短缺大流行期间的劳动力。 他说:“商界必须期望他们将不得不更深入地挖掘人口以获得我们需要的工人。” “最好的机会之一是关注那些被排除在劳动力之外或就业不足的人……因为他们有犯罪记录。”

Korzenik 承认,实施成功的第二次机会招聘计划需要雇主的承诺和努力,但也有一些组织可以提供帮助。 Levelset 的合伙人 Alex Love 与公司在公平机会招聘的人力资源方面合作,评估和改革申请流程和招聘实践。 Love 与来自肯塔基州谢泼兹维尔 Rue Gilt Groupe (RGG) 的小组成员 Robin Berry 密切合作,于 2019 年制定了他们的计划。RGG 修改了他们的招聘政策,包括“禁止盒子”,并开始根据“他们的适合这份工作,而不是他们过去的犯罪历史。” 自两年前成立以来,RGG 的过渡工作计划一直是为其仓库配备人员的成功方式,同时为重新进入劳动力市场的人们提供宝贵的工作经验和培训。

还有一些组织在被监禁者获释前与他们合作,为他们重新入狱做好准备。 The Last Mile 于 2010 年在圣昆廷监狱成立,为囚犯提供教育和技术培训。 它的校友包括 Slack、Square、Fandom、Checkr 等科技公司的成功员工。

“我们明白,成功的重返工作不仅仅是找到一份工作,”The Last Mile 的首席项目官悉尼海勒说,他谈到了 TLM 衡量成功的影响指数。 “我们还关注住房、社区支持、教育……以及他们对生活的满足和满足程度。”

TLM 的成功之一是 Sumit Lal,他也参与了讨论。 Sumit 在圣昆廷度过了五年,在里面获得了大学学位,并参加了为期一年的 TLM 培训计划。 他现在在科技巨头 Slack 担任软件工程师。 Sumit 呼吁雇主给回国公民第二次机会,并考虑申请人的背景调查信息是否与申请职位的人真正相符。 “我们不是最严重的错误,”他指出。 他还要求社会普遍给予恩惠,接纳来自不同背景的人,他们可能住在临时住所或假释中。 他的目标是改变那些有犯罪记录的人的叙述。 “过去做出的一个错误决定可能会在你的余生中对你不利,”他说。

当被问及处于非招聘职位的学生或员工可以提供哪些帮助时,小组成员敦促观众直接与雇主展开对话。 “考虑到问题的很大一部分是带有偏见和偏见的信息,而且是错误的,我认为每个人都有机会通过自我教育来改变自己,”然后在工作中进行这些对话,悉尼海勒说.


主持人:

  • Robin Berry,Rue Gilt Groupe 人事副总裁
  • 悉尼海勒,首席项目官,最后一英里
  • Jeff Korzenik,第五第三银行首席投资策略师; 作者, 未开发的人才
  • Sumit Lal,软件工程师,Slack; 毕业生,最后一公里
  • Alex Love,Alex Love 咨询公司首席执行官; 合作伙伴,水平集

注意统计:

  • XNUMX 万美国人过去或现在有过重罪定罪。
  • 过去被定罪的人的失业率是全国平均水平的五倍。
  • 带着工作重新进入社会的人再次犯罪的可能性要小得多。
  • XNUMX% 的招聘经理报告说,过去有过信念的人比同龄人更能招聘到同等或更强的人。 第二次机会员工往往比他们的同事呆得更久,进步得更快。
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Second Chances

April 30, 2021
zoom call featuring speakers discussing second chance hirings. there are sex professionals dressed in business casual attire.

In today’s tight labor market, employers must get creative to fill vacant positions to keep their businesses operating. A recent panel discussion presented by the Center for Free Enterprise addressed one way to combat a labor shortage while helping companies fulfill their diversity and equitability missions.

The Business and Ethical Case for Second Chance Hiring focused on an untapped and underutilized source of employees: people with criminal records. The panel was made up of second chance thought leaders, human resources professionals, and a former inmate who is now a successful software engineer. The event on April 1 kicked off Second Chance Month.

Jeff Korzenik, Chief Investment Strategist for Fifth Third Bank and author of a recently published book on the subject, gave insight into the labor shortage caused by the aging of the American population, birth rates dropping since the 1990s, and a large number of workers leaving the workforce during the pandemic. “The business community has to expect that they will have to dig deeper into the population to get the workers we need,” he said. “One of the best opportunities is to look to those people who have been sidelined from the labor force, or who have been underemployed… because they have a criminal record.”

Korzenik acknowledges that implementing a successful second chance hiring program takes commitment and work on the part of the employer, but there are organizations that help. Alex Love, Partner with Levelset, works with companies on the HR side of fair chance hiring, to evaluate and overhaul application processes and hiring practices. Love worked closely with panelist Robin Berry from the Rue Gilt Groupe (RGG) in Shepherdsville, Kentucky, to set up their program in 2019. RGG revamped their hiring policies, including “banning the box,” and began to hire candidates based on “their fit for the job, and not their past criminal history.” Since its inception two years ago, RGG’s transitional work program has been a successful way to staff their warehouse while giving valuable work experience and training to people reentering the workforce.

There are also organizations that work with the incarcerated before their release, to prepare them for reentry. Founded in 2010 at San Quentin prison, The Last Mile provides education and technology training to inmates. Its alumni include successful employees at tech companies like Slack, Square, Fandom, Checkr, and many more.

“We understand that successful reentry is about more than finding a job,” said Sydney Heller, Chief Program Officer at The Last Mile, who talked about TLM’s Impact Index for measuring success. “We also look at things like housing, community support, education…and how fulfilled and satisfied they are with the life they are living.”

One of TLM’s successes is Sumit Lal, who also participated in the discussion. Sumit spent five years in San Quentin, got his college degree inside, and went through the one-year TLM training program. He now works as a software engineer with technology giant Slack. Sumit called for employers to give returning citizens that second chance, and to consider if the information on the applicant’s background check truly matches the person applying for a position. “We are not our worst mistakes,” he noted. He also asked for grace from society in general, to be accepting of people who come from different backgrounds, who may be in transitional homes, or on parole. His goal is to change the narrative around those with criminal records. “One bad decision made in the past can be used against you for the rest of your life,” he said.

When asked what students or employees in non-hiring positions can do to help, the panelists urged the audience to simply start the conversation with their employers. “Considering that a large part of the problem is information that is prejudiced and is biased, and is just wrong, I think that everyone has an opportunity to make a difference by educating themselves,” and then having those conversations at work, said Sydney Heller.


PANELISTS:

  • Robin Berry, VP of People, Rue Gilt Groupe
  • Sydney Heller, Chief Program Officer, The Last Mile
  • Jeff Korzenik, Chief Investment Strategist, Fifth Third Bank; Author, Untapped Talent
  • Sumit Lal, Software Engineer, Slack; Graduate, The Last Mile
  • Alex Love, CEO, Alex Love Consulting; Partner, Levelset

STATISTICS OF NOTE:

  • Nineteen million Americans have a past or current felony conviction.
  • People with past convictions are unemployed at five times the national average.
  • People reentering society with a job are far less likely to re-offend.
  • Eighty-two percent of hiring managers report that people with past convictions are equal or stronger hires than their peers. Second chance employees tend to stay longer and advance faster than their colleagues.
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish