跳到主要内容

拥抱第二次机会

March 1, 2022 吉姆华纳
特雷尔威廉,会计学生

XNUMX-XNUMX年 会计 特雷尔·威廉姆斯少校距离北卡罗来纳州立大学开始读研究生还有几个月的时间。 这是下一阶段,Terrell 已经准备好迎接挑战。 他有一种安静的魅力——那种散发出温暖和生命的微笑。 特雷尔带着自己的目标,一种既谦逊又引人入胜的信念。 就像我们当中最优秀、最聪明的人一样,特雷尔·威廉姆斯的明天充满希望和机遇。 “五年前,我从未想过我会处于现在的境地,”特雷尔说。 带领他离开心爱的路易斯维尔的生活与他五年前的生活大不相同,提醒人们事情的变化有多快。

命运的邂逅

“29 年 2017 月 XNUMX 日,我刚下班,正在去我哥哥家的路上,”特雷尔回忆道。 “我在便利店停了下来——在里面呆了不到一分钟。 我并没有想太多,但我让我的车开着,所以我回到商店外面时,有一个意想不到的惊喜。” 特雷尔发现有人试图偷他的车。 他反射性地伸手去拿枪,但还没等他反应过来,枪声就响了起来。

“我只是觉得有东西刺穿了我的右侧,所以我从未注意到那个试图偷我车的人。 他在街对面有更多的人在寻找他,他们一看到我的枪,就开始向我开枪。”

特雷尔在随后的枪声中中了两枪。 “我无法离开地面......一直试图站起来,但感觉就像是干地上的一条鱼,来回翻腾。 我开始想,“我是不是拍了我的腿,这是怎么回事?” 所以我伸手抓住我的大腿,感觉就像一袋水。”

第一颗子弹击中了特雷尔的胸部并从脊椎中射出。 他从腰部以下瘫痪了。 第二枪击中了他的脖子。 “那一刻,我想如果我快要死了……我开始一遍又一遍地说同样的话,‘上帝,请照顾我。 上帝,请照顾我。

治愈身体和灵魂

奇迹般地,特雷尔威廉姆斯在枪击事件中幸存下来。 从康复和治疗开始,还有很长的路要走,但特雷尔在家人的陪伴下开始了康复过程。 他认为 UofL 医院是 弗雷泽康复研究所, 和一对程序, 转向和平,UofL 青少年暴力预防研究中心,帮助他治愈身体、思想和精神。

当他身体康复时,特雷尔回到了他的社区。 他开始与当地组织合作,并开始与学生分享他的旅程。 “如果我们试图帮助建立更好的自己,这对我们所有人都是有益的。” 通过公开演讲活动积极参与社区活动最终使他走上了重返学校的道路。

“在 [加利福尼亚附近] 长大,我一直是 UofL 的忠实粉丝,而这座城市——我爱这座城市。 因此,如果我要去上学,我知道 UofL 确实是我眼中唯一的选择。” 事实证明,另一个偶然的相遇是使这个梦想成为现实的关键。 “我在一次创伤幸存者活动中遇到了[前总统]尼利·本达普迪。 她将我与招生部的 Jenny Sawyer 联系起来,她让我的过程非常顺利。” 得知 UofL 有人伸出援手,这让 Terrell 深受鼓舞。 “如果你关心你的城市,我知道你也关心你的学生。”

充分利用第二次机会

他在 UofL 的本科之旅是一个个人发现,他将自己对数学的热爱转化为一个有前途的会计职业。 对医疗保健房地产公司 Ventis 的一次随机询问变成了一次成功的实习,两次续签。 他甚至开始做志愿者 惠特尼/斯特朗——一个专注于负责任的枪支所有权和结束枪支暴力的非营利组织——利用他的会计技能来帮助平衡他们的账目。

这项艰苦的工作最终促成了北卡罗来纳州的詹金斯会计硕士 (MAC) 奖学金计划。 基于绩效的计划将大学和公司赞助之间的学位成本分摊。 会计师事务所 RSM 选择了 Terrell 并将赞助他在北卡罗来纳州立大学,保证他毕业后在该公司担任全职职位。

奖学金是一个改变生活的机会,虽然这意味着离开他所爱的城市,但 Terrell Williams 知道无论走到哪里,他都会随身携带 Louisville 和 UofL——一路上激励着其他人。 “我的生活感觉就像它被粉碎成一百万块,但你必须弄清楚如何将它重新组合起来。 我必须明白,只有不同的道路可供选择。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Embrace Second Chances

March 1, 2022 Jim Warner
Terrell William, Accountancy Student

Terrell Williams understands the importance of a second chance. The senior accountancy major is a handful of months away from starting graduate school at North Carolina State University. It’s the next phase, and Terrell is more than ready to embrace the challenge. He has a quiet charisma about him—the type of smile that radiates warmth and life. Terrell carries himself with purpose, a conviction that is equal parts humble and engaging. Like the best and brightest among us, Terrell Williams’ tomorrow is filled with hope and opportunity. “Five years ago, I never thought I would be in the situation I am in now,” says Terrell. This life leading him from his beloved Louisville looks a lot different than the one he led half a decade ago and serves as a reminder of how quickly things can change.

A Fateful Encounter

“March 29th, 2017, I had just gotten off work, and was on my way to my brother’s house,” recalls Terrell. “I stopped at the convenience store—was in there for less than a minute. I wasn’t thinking too much about it, but I left my car running, and so I come back outside the store to an unexpected surprise.” Terrell discovered someone attempting to steal his car. Reflexively, he reached for his gun, but before he could react, shots rang out.

“I just felt something pierce my right side, and so what I never noticed was the guy who’s trying to steal my car. He had more people across the street looking out for him, and as soon as they saw my gun, they started shooting me.”

Terrell was shot twice in the ensuing gunfire. “I could not get off the ground…kept trying to get up but felt like a fish on dry land, flopping back and forth. I started thinking, ‘Did I shoot my legs like, what’s going on?’ So I reached down, grabbed my thighs, and they just felt like bags of water.”

The first bullet had hit Terrell in the chest and exited through the spine. He had been paralyzed from the waist down. A second shot struck him in the neck. “At that moment, I thought if I was about to die…I started saying the same thing over and over, ‘God, please take care of me. God, please take care of me.’”

Healing the Body and Soul

Miraculously, Terrell Williams survived the shooting. It was a long road from rehab and therapy, but Terrell began the healing process with his family by his side. He credits UofL Hospital, the Frazier Rehabilitation Institute, and a pair of programs, Pivot to Peace, and the UofL Youth Violence Prevention Research Center, for helping him heal—body, mind, and spirit.

While he healed physically, Terrell reached back to his community. He began working with local organizations and began sharing his journey with students. “It’s just beneficial to us all if we try to help build better versions of ourselves.” Being active in his community through public speaking engagements ultimately put him on the path back to school.

“Growing up [in the California neighborhood], I’ve been a big UofL fan, and this city—I love the city. So if I was going to go to school, I knew UofL was really the only option in my eyes.” Another chance encounter proved pivotal in making this dream a reality. “I met [former president] Neeli Bendapudi at a trauma survivors event. She connected me with Jenny Sawyer in Admissions, who made the process super smooth for me.” Knowing that there were people at UofL reaching out to help was inspiring to Terrell. “If you care for your city, I know that you care for your students as well.”

Making the Most of a Second Chance

His undergraduate journey at UofL has been a personal discovery, taking his love of math and transforming it into a promising career in accountancy. A random inquiry with health care real estate company Ventis became a successful internship, renewed twice over. He even began volunteering with Whitney/Strong—a nonprofit focused on responsible gun ownership and ending gun violence—utilizing his accounting skills to help balance their books.

This hard work has culminated into the Jenkins Master of Accountancy (MAC) Fellowship Program at NC State. The merit-based program splits the degree cost between the university and firm sponsorship. The accounting firm, RSM, has selected Terrell and will be sponsoring him at NC State, guaranteeing him a full-time position with the firm upon graduation.

The fellowship is a life-changing opportunity, and while it means leaving the city he loves, Terrell Williams knows that he carries Louisville and UofL with him wherever he goes—inspiring others along the way. “My life felt like it was shattered into a million pieces, but you got to figure out how to put it back together. I had to learn that there are just different paths to take.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish