跳到主要内容

与惠特克家族的问答

March 2, 2022 阿里·菲佛
Odile 和 Bob Whitaker 的照片(惠特克基金会)

Robert 和 Odile Whitaker 是 惠特克明德奖学基金,授予一名或多名商学院学生的奖学金,这些学生优先考虑第三年或第四年的学生,并且 GPA 为 3.25 或更高。 罗伯特,谁去鲍勃,是 COB 的校友和学院的现任成员 顾问委员会. 自毕业以来,他和 Odile 都与学院建立了密切的关系,并坐下来分享他们对为什么重视参与的见解。

您为什么决定在商学院设立惠特克奖学金? 

奥迪:  鲍勃和我在我们很小的时候结婚,分别是 22 岁和 21 岁。钱很紧,我们不得不上学,有时还要打两份工才能赚钱。 我们有带着计算器去杂货店的美好回忆! 我们工作非常努力,但有时还不够。 但我们也有幸有一两次在非常困难的时候得到家人的支持。 今天不是每个人都有这个机会。 我们想尽我们所能帮助他人。  

我们真的很想回馈。 对我们来说,教育不仅在我们的生活中很重要,而且我们认为在我们的国家支持它是至关重要的。 我们在商学院设立了奖学金,既支持教育,又回馈给鲍勃职业生涯一个良好开端的学校。 

鲍勃:  商学院不仅有极好的和创新的学术课程,而且还孜孜不倦地帮助城市的学生和人民。 从外展项目到路易斯维尔地区的高中生,再到帮助新的企业主和企业家,商学院不仅仅是一所学校。 它是整个社区的支持系统。  

Bob,你从 UofL 毕业后的经历是怎样的? 你是如何开拓你的职业道路的?

鲍勃: 我决定首先获得一个MBA。 在我的许多课程中,我们会在主题上达到一个点,而教授会说,“我们不会更进一步,那是为了 MBA 课程。” 我发现自己想在学业上走得更远。 当然,拥有 MBA 学位最终会带来更高的收入潜力。 所以,毕业后,我去攻读MBA。

开辟职业道路对每个人来说都是一次独特的经历。 对我来说,每当出现问题、问题或项目时,我都愿意提供帮助,并努力工作。 我也从来没有遇到过成为团队合作者、尝试新角色或新挑战以及跳出框框思考的问题。 这使我能够不断扩大我的角色,这不可避免地导致了下一个职位。   

您于 2004 年加入 DHL。您当时的角色是什么,现在您的头衔是什么? 在 DHL 任职期间,到目前为止,您最自豪的是什么?

鲍勃: 我最初是一名财务高级总监,现在我的头衔是公司财务高级副总裁。 我不仅管理美洲地区的公司财务,而且还是管理我们员工福利计划的福利委员会主席,并担任多个 Teamster 养老金计划的受托人。

我最引以为豪的项目不是对公司影响最大的项目,而是对我们的工人乃至更广泛的美国工人影响最大的项目。 你可能不知道,美国的许多工会养老基金濒临崩溃,这将导致超过一百万人失去养老金,数千家公司破产,数以万计的工作岗位流失。 在我公司的批准下,我联系了竞争对手和工会,就如何节省养老金制定战略。 我加入了各种联盟,写信给我们的员工,敦促他们与国会联系,我多次前往华盛顿与国会会面,讨论通过立法进行结构性改革,以节省养老金。 2021 年初,国会通过了必要的立法,允许养老金、公司和工作继续存在。 对我们的员工乃至整个国家的影响是巨大的,这是迄今为止我最引以为豪的成就。

您希望在商学院留下什么遗产? 

鲍勃: 几年前,我遇到了院长 Mooradian,他分享了他对学校的愿景,并询问我是否可以加入他的顾问委员会。 我对商学院的未来充满热情,并且很高兴能扩大我与学校的联系。 虽然金钱贡献是必不可少的,但我认为贡献你的时间和经验同样重要。 能够为一流的机构做出贡献是我的荣幸和荣幸,我真的希望我们能够继续以任何可能的方式支持大学。  

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Q&A with The Whitakers

March 2, 2022 Ali Pfeiffer
Photo of Odile and Bob Whitaker (Whitaker Endowment)

Robert and Odile Whitaker are the founders of the Whitaker Endowed Scholarship Fund, a scholarship given to one or more College of Business students with a preference for those in their third or fourth year and with a GPA of 3.25 or higher. Robert, who goes by Bob, is a COB alum and current member of the College’s Board of Advisors. Both he and Odile have formed a tight relationship with the College since his graduation and sat down to share their insights on why they value being involved.

Why did you decide to establish the Whitaker Scholarship at the College of Business? 

Odile:  Bob and I got married when we were very young, 22 and 21. Money was tight and we had to go to school and sometimes work two jobs to make it. We have fond memories of going to the grocery store with our calculator! We worked very hard but occasionally it wasn’t enough. But we were also lucky once or twice to have the support of our families when times were very lean.  Not everyone has this chance today. We want to help others where we can.  

We really wanted to give back.  For us, not only has education been important in our lives, but we think it is something critical to support in our country.  We set up our scholarship at the College of Business to both support education, and give back to the school that gave Bob a great start to his career. 

Bob:  Not only does the College of Business have terrific and innovative academic programs, but it also works tirelessly to help the students and people of the city. From outreach programs to high school students in the Louisville area to helping new business owners and entrepreneurs, the College of Business is more than just a school; it is a support system for the whole community.  

Bob, what was your experience like upon graduating from UofL? How did you carve out your career path?

Bob: I decided first to get an MBA.  In many of my classes, we would reach a point in the topic, and the professor(s) would say, “We won’t go further, that’s for the MBA classes.” I found myself wanting to go further in my studies. And of course, having an MBA would ultimately lead to higher earning potential. So, upon graduating, I went to get my MBA.

Carving out a career path is a unique experience for everyone. For me, it was a willingness to help out whenever a problem, issue, or project came up, and work hard.  I also never had an issue being a team player, trying a new role or new challenges, and thinking outside the box. That enabled me to continually broaden my role which inevitably led to the next position.   

You joined DHL in 2004. What was your role then, and what is your title now? What are you most proud of so far during your tenure with DHL?

Bob: I started as a Senior Director of Treasury and now my title is Senior Vice President of Corporate Finance. I not only manage corporate finance for the Americas region, but I’m also the chairman of the benefits committee managing our employee benefit programs and serve as a trustee on several Teamster pension plans.

The project I am most proud of is not the project with the largest impact for the company but really for our workers and more broadly, American workers. As you may not know, many of the union pension funds in the US were on the verge of collapse which would have resulted in more than a million people losing their pension, thousands of companies going bankrupt and tens of thousands of jobs lost. With the go-ahead from my company, I contacted competitors and the unions to strategize on how to save the pensions. I joined various coalitions, wrote to our employees urging them to contact Congress, and I went to Washington multiple times to meet with Congress on passing legislation to make structural changes that would allow the pensions to be saved. In early 2021 Congress passed the necessary legislation allowing the survival of pensions, companies, and jobs. The impact on our employees, and the country as a whole, was tremendous, and this is by far the accomplishment of which I am most proud.

What legacy do you hope to leave with the College of Business? 

Bob: A few years ago, I met Dean Mooradian who shared his vision for the school and asked if I could join his advisory board. I was passionate about the future of the College of Business and was excited to expand my connection to the school. While monetary contributions are essential, I think it is equally important to contribute with your time and experience. It has been a great privilege and pleasure to have been able to contribute to a first-class institution and I really hope we can continue to support the University in any way possible.  

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish