跳到主要内容

Spring 2020 Dean的消息

12年2020月XNUMX日 Todd Mooradian
Dean Mooradian在办公桌

我们处在一个令人难以置信的动荡和不确定性的地方和时间。 乔治·弗洛伊德(George Floyd)和路易斯维尔(Louisville)自己的布雷娜·泰勒(Breonna Taylor)最近去世,这使人们更加关注社会上已有数百年历史的种族裂痕-这些裂痕使我们作为一个社会有道德义务要解决。

这些事件的残酷和不公正感在非洲裔美国人中尤为突出。 但是这些行为对所有美国人都是冒犯,剥夺了我们所有人实现我们的普遍理想和道德抱负的机会。 现在是团结和行动的时候了。

作为商学院院长,我重申我们致力于改善我们社区,地区及其他地区种族不平等的承诺。 我们每个人都想采取行动-利用我们已赋予的才能,优势和机会-改变世界。 我认为,对企业以及对我们的商学院而言,崇高的目标无非是明确而积极地努力为我们整个社会创造公平,正义和机会。

我们已经在我们的商学院社区中进行了一次对话,该对话将我们的集体力量引导到可以促进经济平等和社会正义的具体举措上。 当然,我们最有能力在本地推动变革。 但是,地方变革将引领全球进步。

这些努力不是新的承诺,而是我们已经采取的许多重大举措的延续。 我们正在学院内建立一个更加多元化和包容的社区。 我们正在扩大投资,以提高代表性不足和服务不足社区的学生的保留率和毕业率。 我们正在与自己校园以外的路易斯维尔社区建立联系,包括与中央高中的双学分教育计划, 提升波特兰 波特兰小学的倡议,以及 项目建设 面向中学生的迷你MBA暑期机会计划。

我邀请您加入我们,我们将保持前进的势头,并为建立一个更加公正和平等的社会而加快努力。 我要求您在我们绊倒,庆祝我们的成功并一路支持我们时对我们负责。 我们面临着巨大的挑战。 在您的支持下,我们一定会与他们见面的。

最好的,
Todd Mooradian
路易斯维尔大学院长
商学院

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Spring 2020 Dean’s Message

June 12, 2020 Todd Mooradian
Dean Mooradian at desk

We are in a place and time of incredible tumult and uncertainty. The recent deaths of George Floyd and Louisville’s own Breonna Taylor have turned greater attention to centuries-old racial fissures in our society – fissures that we as a society have a moral obligation to address. 

The brutality and injustice of these events are felt particularly acutely by African Americans. But these actions are affronts to all Americans, robbing us all of the chance to live up to our universal ideals and moral aspirations. The time for solidarity and action is now. 

As the Dean of the College of Business, I am reaffirming our commitment to ameliorating inequities of race in our community, region, and beyond. We all want to act – using the talents, strengths, and opportunities we have been given  – to change the world. I can think of no more noble a purpose for business, and for our College of Business, than to explicitly and energetically strive to create equity, justice, and opportunity for all in our society.

We have convened a conversation in our College of Business community that is directing our collective energies to specific initiatives that will advance economic equity and social justice. Of course, we are best positioned to drive change locally. But local change will lead toward global progress. 

These efforts are not a new commitment, but a continuation of many great initiatives we’ve already taken. We are building a more diverse and inclusive community within the College. We are expanding investments to increase retention and graduation rates for students from underrepresented and underserved communities. We are connecting with the Louisville community beyond our own campus, including our dual credit educational program with Central High School, our Elevate Portland initiative with Portland Elementary School, and the Project BUILD mini-MBA summer opportunity program for high school students. 

I invite you to join us as we keep the momentum going and accelerate our efforts towards a more just and equal society. I ask that you hold us accountable when we stumble, celebrate our successes, and support us along the way. We have tremendous challenges ahead of us. With your support, we certainly will rise to meet them.

Best,
Todd Mooradian
Dean, University of Louisville
College of Business

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian