跳到主要内容

赋予机会

10年2020月XNUMX日 吉尔Wegenast
Jane Offutt Burns博士

克服障碍并实现个人和专业的“第一”一直是Jane Offutt Burns(BSC '61,MBA '68)的定义特征。

简回忆说:“到六岁时,我知道大学是至关重要且昂贵的。” 简在肯塔基州泰勒斯维尔的一个农场长大,她的父母在这里挣钱挣钱以争取大学学位,她因此受到鼓舞,走了一条不同的道路。 “我was了我所有的生日钱,还有一个慷慨的叔叔的债。” 尽管她很节俭,但是她的积蓄还不够“直到UofL给我提供奖学金,一切都变了。” 毕业后(首次尝试通过CPA考试),UofL再次出现,她有机会在夜校上夜班并获得MBA学位,而她在当地一家会计师事务所全职工作。 她说:“没有UofL,我的大部分职业就不会发生。”

简一直困扰着她一生,直到XNUMX年前才被诊断为学习障碍,但她常常感到自己不够。 然而,当她在英语和数学领域找到了自己的利基市场,并专注于自己擅长的事情,而不是自己无法做到的事情时,她意识到:“每个人在某些领域都有残疾,但在其他领域则表现出色。 对我来说,税收是我最擅长的地方。 这一直是一个不断变化的谜团-我喜欢解决谜团和发现事实,我需要改变。”

在Jane的职业生涯的前25年中,她在CPA公司“像恶魔一样工作”并活跃于专业协会中(通常是两者中唯一的女性),她也成为宾夕法尼亚州立大学第一位获得商业博士学位的女性。 东肯塔基州的会计主席在一次会议上发表讲话时,她的职业生涯出现了转折点。 “在他的鼓励下,我申请并找到了工作; 事实证明,教学对我来说是完美的。”

在指导和鼓励学生的宝贵机会中,简还认识到,担任教授需要最高的诚信和道德标准,包括“当我犯错时愿意告诉学生”。

她的母校(UofL商学院的校友)和宾州州立大学史密尔商学院的会计系杰出校友奖获得了母校的认可,简恩对此表示感谢。 当她的丈夫汉克(Hank)去世时,她转到了德州理工大学(Texas Tech University)的教授职位“梦想职位”。 从那时起,她为UofL会计专业的研究生建立了一项捐赠奖学金基金,并指定UofL作为要添加到该捐赠基金中的人寿保险单的受益人。 她指出:“回馈是生命的秘密所在,而给予奖学金是一种永生的方式。”

Jane现已退休,现在住在德克萨斯州的拉伯克市,在那里她保持了30年来举办年度德比舞会的传统。

要了解有关以对您有意义的方式将路易斯维尔大学纳入您的房地产计划的更多信息,请联系大学商业发展办公室,网址为: joseph.neary@louisville.edu or (502)852-4784。 有关礼品计划的更多信息,请访问: uoflplannedgifts.org.

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Endowing Opportunity

June 10, 2020 Jill Wegenast
Dr. Jane Offutt Burns

Overcoming obstacles and achieving personal and professional “firsts” has been a defining characteristic for Jane Offutt Burns (BSC ’61, MBA ’68).

“By age six, I knew college was critical and expensive,” Jane recalls. Growing up on a farm in Taylorsville, Kentucky, where her parents struggle financially to earn college degrees, Jane was motivated to take a different path. “I was saving all my birthday money, along with bonds from a generous uncle.” Despite her thriftiness, her savings were insufficient “until UofL offered me a scholarship, and everything changed.” After graduating—and passing her CPA exam on the first attempt—UofL was there again, with the opportunity to earn an MBA through night classes while she worked full-time in a local accounting firm. “Without UofL,” she says, “most of my career wouldn’t have happened.”

Contending throughout her life with a learning disability that was undiagnosed until six years ago, Jane often felt inadequate. However, as she found her niche in English and Math, and focused on what she could do well, rather than on what she couldn’t do, she realized, “Everyone has a disability in some area but excels in other areas. For me, tax was where I could excel. It was an always changing mystery—and I love solving mysteries and uncovering facts, and I need change.”

For the first 25 years of Jane’s career, as she “worked like a demon” at CPA firms and was active in professional associations—generally as the only woman in both—she also became the first female to earn a PhD in business at Penn State. A turning point in her career came when the Accounting Chairman of Eastern Kentucky heard her speak at a conference. “At his encouragement, I applied and landed the job; it turned out that teaching was perfect for me.”

Amid the rewarding opportunities to mentor and encourage students, Jane also recognized that serving as a professor required the highest integrity and ethical standards, including “the willingness to tell students when I’ve made a mistake.”

Recognized for her professional accomplishments by her alma maters—as an Alumni Fellow in UofL’s College of Business and with the Accounting Department Distinguished Alumni Award at Penn State’s Smeal College of Business—Jane is grateful for all that she has received. When her husband Hank died, she moved to her “dream position,” an endowed professorship at Texas Tech University. Since then, she has established an endowed scholarship fund for graduate students in accounting at UofL and designated UofL as the beneficiary of a life insurance policy to be added to the endowed fund. “Giving back is part of the secret sauce for life,” she notes, “and an endowed scholarship is a way to live forever.”

Now retired, Jane lives in Lubbock, Texas, where she continues a 30-year tradition of hosting an annual Derby party.

To learn more about including the University of Louisville in your estate plan in a way that is meaningful for you, please contact the College of Business Development Office at joseph.neary@louisville.edu or (502) 852-4784. For more information about gift planning, please visit: uoflplannedgifts.org.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian