跳到主要内容

有前途的研究

December 1, 2021 吉姆华纳
经济学博士生 Sadek Showcat 的结果

创业是投资于你——你的想法、计划、毅力,并使投资获得回报。 它正在计算风险,着眼于回报,并实现信念的飞跃。 萨德克秀卡特 了解风险/回报并押注于自己。 在过去的五年里,Sadek 从他在孟加拉国的家到中国的一家跨国公司担任首席运营官,再到追求他的事业。 创业博士 在 UofL。 他在路易斯维尔和印第安纳州布卢明顿之间分配时间——他的妻子 Shukufe 正在那里攻读科学教育博士学位,他的女儿 Sehrish 正在上小学。 虽然这里有很多实际里程和生活,但他的工作正在取得成效。 萨德克最近被 2021 年创业研究虚拟暑期研讨会 (VSSER) 评为“最有前途的青年创业学者奖”。

影响贫困

研究贫困的根源并以可持续的方式改善生活质量的愿望是萨德克工作的核心——能够从研究转向实践帮助激发了他从企业界的初步转变。 “当你在阶梯上走得更高时,你在人事方面做得更多——你对人的了解更多,而对技能的了解却更少,”萨德克说。 相反,根据萨德克的说法,他作为终身学习者与生俱来的动力(他将其归功于他在孟加拉国的父母 Showkat 和 Selina 的教养)意味着找到了“增加我的带宽来帮助他人的方法”。

这种转变最终使他与 Jim Fiet 博士就 UofL 的博士课程进行了对话。 “接触穷人并发现什么样的政策以及企业家精神如何帮助他们成长——这让我[进行了这项研究]。 我的重点是贫困和创业的交叉点。”

与此同时,萨德克已经开始探索有助于制定经济政策的空间。 “例如,”萨德克说,“想想格言'教人钓鱼......'如果每个人都知道如何钓鱼并且正在钓鱼,那么出售鱼的经济价值是相同的,没有人[繁荣]。 所以我想了解的是,在贫困的背景下,我们如何教他们如何找到有吸引力的机会,而不是拥有同样的机会。”

获奖候选人

Sadek 正在攻读博士学位课程的第二年,他利用学术研讨会,结合虚拟和面对面的活动。 VSSER 计划是由阿拉巴马大学的 Vishal Gupta 博士主持的为期两个月的研讨会。 来自世界各地的200名创业博士生参加了此次研讨会。

虽然他参加 VSSER 的最初动机是让自己在夏天保持动力并专注于创业研究,但他从未想过自己会成为获奖者。 “当我发现时,我不知所措……非常自豪,”萨德克停顿了一下,似乎仍然难以置信。 对他来说,该奖项是一种急需的推动力——正如许多处于学习阵痛中的研究生会告诉你的那样,在追求高级学位的过程中往往很难衡量进步。 如果萨德克需要一个标志,那么 VSSER 奖和他的学术前景一样大胆而光明。

可持续研究

随着第二年的继续,萨德克希望将这种势头带入他的研究中。 随着会议演讲和出版物的临近,他也牢记更大的目标——可以改善他的家乡孟加拉国及其他地区生活的政策。 “我见过 [在我的领域] 从事有意义和负责任的研究的教授,这些研究可以为 联合国 17 项可持续发展目标……我想认识真实的人,并通过我的研究分享他们的故事。” 

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Promising Research

December 1, 2021 Jim Warner
Upshot of Econ PhD student Sadek Showcat

Entrepreneurship is about investing in you—your idea, plan, perseverance, and making that investment pay off. It’s calculating the risk, eyeing the reward, and making a leap of faith. Sadek Showkat understands risk/reward and betting on himself. In the past five years, Sadek has gone from his home in Bangladesh to work for a multinational corporation in China as a COO to pursuing his PhD in Entrepreneurship at UofL. He splits his time between Louisville and Bloomington, Indiana—where his wife Shukufe is pursuing her PhD in Science education and his daughter Sehrish is attending elementary school. While there’s a lot of actual miles and life clocked here, his work is paying off. Sadek has recently been named the “Most Promising Junior Entrepreneurship Scholar Award” from the 2021 Virtual Summer Seminar in Entrepreneurship Research (VSSER).

Impacting poverty

A desire to study the root causes of poverty and sustainably to improve the quality of life is at the heart of Sadek’s work—being able to move from research into the practical had helped inspire his initial transition from the corporate world. “As you go higher up the ladder, you do more on the personnel side—you learn more about people and less about skills,” says Sadek. Conversely, his innate drive as a lifelong learner (for which he credits the upbringing by his parents Showkat and Selina back in Bangladesh) meant discovering the way, according to Sadek, “to increase my bandwidth to help other people.”

This shift ultimately led him to a conversation with Dr. Jim Fiet about the PhD program at UofL. “Reaching out to people who are poor and discovering what kind of policies and how entrepreneurship is helping them grow—that led me [to this study]. My focus is on the intersection of poverty and entrepreneurship.”

Meanwhile, Sadek has already started exploring the spaces that help inform economic policy. “For example,” says Sadek, “think about the adage ‘to teach a man to fish…’ if everyone knows how to fish and is fishing, the economic value of selling the fish is the same, and nobody is [prospering]. So what I’m trying to understand is how we can teach them how to find attractive opportunities instead of having the same opportunities—within the context of poverty.”

Award winning candidate

Sadek is in his second year of the PhD program and has taken advantage of academic seminars, taking a combination of virtual and in-person events. The VSSER program is a two-month seminar conducted by Dr. Vishal Gupta from the University of Alabama. There were 200 doctoral candidates in entrepreneurship from around the world participating in the symposium.

While his initial motivation to attend VSSER was to keep himself motivated and focused on entrepreneurial research over the summer, he never imagined that he would be an award winner. “I was overwhelmed when I found out…very proud,” Sadek pauses, as if still in disbelief. To him, the award has been a much-needed boost—as many graduate students in the throes of study will tell you, it’s often difficult to gauge progress while in pursuit of the advanced degree. If Sadek needed a sign, the VSSER award is as bold and bright as his academic prospects.

Sustainable research

As his second year continues, Sadek hopes to carry this momentum into his research. With conference presentations and publications on the horizon, he is also mindful of the larger goal—policy that can improve the lives in his native Bangladesh and beyond. “I have seen professors [in my field] who are doing meaningful and responsible research which can provide value for the UN’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals…I want to meet real people and share their stories through my research.” 

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish