跳到主要内容

分享精神

30 年2021月XNUMX日
Erica Hulse 的户外拍摄

Erica Hulse 是人们用来完成工作的人——这一声誉帮助她赢得了同龄人的尊重。 作为学生支持协调员,她帮助塑造了新的在线 MBA 计划 (OMBA),确保我们的研究生有一位关心他们在课堂上和专业人士中取得成功的倡导者。 埃里卡对学生成功的热情帮助她赢得了红衣主教精神奖。

正如她的一位提名人所提供的那样,“[Erica] 对学生有着无止境的同情,并经常通过打电话给学生并支持他们度过难关来超越自我……她友好、支持并保持积极的态度来消除学习中的障碍追求为学生做正确的事情。”

在过去六年与在线课程和研究生一起工作后,埃里卡于去年 XNUMX 月加入学院,并立即影响了刚刚起步的课程。 “我很幸运有机会帮助我们从头开始为在线学生和教师建立支持系统,”Erica 反映道。 作为一名前在线学生,Erica 了解在线教育带来的具体挑战和担忧。

建立在线社区

最紧迫的挑战之一是学生体验和在虚拟环境中建立社区意识。 “向[OMBA 学生]提问并真正满足他们的需求是一次宝贵的学习经历,”埃里卡说。 开放的沟通渠道有助于团队实施解决方案,从而改善未来研究生的体验。 “我知道 [OMBA 主任 Zac Goldman, PhD] 一直在与我们的学生合作精简我们的课程,以确保内容对在线学习者具有创新性和包容性。”

与此同时,Erica 的角色在过去一年中发生了变化,包括创造分享学生故事的机会。 她写了几篇文章和学生简介——其中一些影响范围超出了学院。 埃里卡在夏天对 OMBA 学生迈克尔亨德森的采访引发了一个故事 由他的雇主 GE Appliances. “[这篇文章] 有点令人愉快的滚雪球效应,”艾丽卡微笑着说。 “我希望 [它] 真的帮助他实现了他的职业目标。”

艾丽卡在学院的第一年结束时获得了红衣主教精神奖。 “这是一个非常特别的奖项,因为它来自与我每天共事的人; 这些是我的同事和使商学院成为现在的人,”埃丽卡说。 “因此,让他们感受到我为我们在学院所做的工作带来了积极性、乐观和成长感; 这对我来说比外部奖励更重要。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Spirit of Sharing

November 30, 2021 Jim Warner
Outdoor shot of Erica Hulse

Erica Hulse is the person people go to to get things done—a reputation that has helped earn her the respect of her peers. She has helped shape the new Online MBA program (OMBA) as a student support coordinator—ensuring that our grad students have an advocate who cares about their successes in the classroom and as professionals. Erica’s passion for student success is what helped earn her a Cardinal Spirit Award.

As one of her nominators offered, “[Erica] has an unending compassion for students and regularly goes above and beyond by calling students and supporting them through their struggles…She is friendly, supportive, and maintains a positive attitude to knocking down barriers in the pursuit of doing what’s right for students.”

After working with online programs and graduate students for the last six years, Erica joined the College last November and immediately impacted the fledgling program. “I was fortunate to be given the opportunity to help build our support system for online students and faculty from the ground up,” reflects Erica. As a former online student, Erica understands the specific challenges and concerns that come from online education.

Building An Online Community

One of the most pressing challenges was the student experience and building a sense of community in the virtual setting. “It was a valuable learning experience to ask questions [of OMBA students] and really meet their needs,” says Erica. Having an open line of communication has helped the team implement solutions that will improve the experience for future graduate students. “I know that [OMBA Director Zac Goldman, PhD] has been working with our students to streamline our courses to make sure that content is innovative and inclusive for online learners.”

Meanwhile, Erica’s role has evolved in the past year, including developing opportunities to share student stories. She has written several articles and student profiles—some of whose reach extended beyond the College. Erica’s interview with OMBA student Michael Henderson over the summer spawned a story by his employer, GE Appliances. “[The article] kind of had a delightful snowball effect,” beams Erica. “I hope [it] really helped him to further his professional goals.”

Erica’s first year at the College closes by earning a Cardinal Spirit Award. “It’s a really special award because it comes from the people that I work with every day; these are my colleagues and the people that make the College of Business what it is,” says Erica. “And so for them to feel that I bring positivity and a sense of optimism and growth to what we do in the College; that means more to me than the external reward.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish