跳到主要内容

着名的马奖得主宣布

一月年17月2019日 Sharon Handy
Galbreath冠军Michael Blowen拿着缰绳。
Micheal Blowen老朋友的创始人,纯种马的退休设施,等待他的朋友,骑师Chris McCarron在他位于肯塔基州列克星敦的骑术学院。摄影:Stan Rosenfeld
Michael Blowen是Old Friends的创始人,他是纯种马的退休设施,在他位于肯塔基州列克星敦的骑术学院等待他的朋友,骑师Chris McCarron。摄影:Stan Rosenfeld

1月16,前记者Michael Blowen将获得商业马业学院计划最负盛名的奖项 - 约翰W. Galbreath马业杰出企业家奖。

Blowen是位于肯塔基州乔治城的Old Friends Thoroughbred Retirement避难所的创始人。 作为一名退休的波士顿环球影视评论家和艺术记者,他在2003建立了老朋友,具有讽刺意味的是,Thoroughbred委托给他照顾的第一个大名是Sunshine Forever,他曾被该奖项的同名人物Galbreath所拥有和爱戴。

自1990以来,每年都会颁发Galbreath奖,以表彰对马业产生重大积极影响的企业领导力。 Galbreath是列克星敦Darby Dan Farm的有远见的拥有者,也是前丘吉尔唐斯主席,他既是商人又是骑士。

像老朋友这样的设施专门用于退休的纯种马,没有花里胡哨的东西来吸引游客“这是一个未经证实的想法......怀疑论者预测它不起作用,”律师Milton C. Toby在他的Blowen提名信中说。 “他们错了。”

“我大吃一惊,”Blowen说道,“特别是当我认为John Galbreath自己的Sunshine Forever帮助我建立成功的基础时。 我有一个简单的想法,我总是感到惊讶,其他人没有在我面前做过。 这个奖项强化了我们对老朋友的信念,即善后是赛车的重要组成部分。“

今天,Old Friends在肯塔基州的乔治敦设有一个主要设施,还有两个卫星农场。 这是不寻常的,因为它接受退休的种马。 该组织已经从一个租用的围场和一匹马发展成一个236英亩的农场,一群超过200的救出和退役马匹,以及两个卫星设施:位于纽约萨拉托加以外的Cabin Creek的老朋友和老朋友在肯塔基州富兰克林的Kentucky Downs。

“Michael Blowen代表了Galbreath奖所庆祝的一切,”马项目主任Sean Beirne说。 “他看到了一个在晚年展示纯种马的机会,让他们继续以独特的方式激励他们的粉丝。 UofL很自豪地承认他的成就。“

Blowen荣誉的晚宴定于1月16,2019在大学俱乐部举行。

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

fbpx Skip to main content

Prestigious equine award winner announced

January 17, 2019 Sharon Handy
Galbreath winner Michael Blowen holding bridle.
Micheal Blowen founder of Old Friends, a retirement facility for thoroughbred horses, waits for his friend, jockey Chris McCarron at his riding academy in Lexington, Ky. Photo by Stan Rosenfeld
Michael Blowen founder of Old Friends, a retirement facility for thoroughbred horses, waits for his friend, jockey Chris McCarron at his riding academy in Lexington, Ky. Photo by Stan Rosenfeld

On Jan. 16, former journalist Michael Blowen will be awarded the College of Business Equine Industry Program’s most prestigious award — the John W. Galbreath Award for Outstanding Entrepreneurship in the Equine Industry.

Blowen is the founder of Old Friends Thoroughbred Retirement sanctuary based in Georgetown, Kentucky. A retired Boston Globe movie critic and arts journalist, he established Old Friends in 2003 and, ironically, the first big name Thoroughbred entrusted to his care was Sunshine Forever, who had been owned and beloved by the award’s namesake, Galbreath.

The Galbreath Award has been given annually since 1990 to honor entrepreneurial leadership that has had a significant and positive impact on the equine industry. Galbreath was the visionary owner of Darby Dan Farm in Lexington and a former Churchill Downs chairman who distinguished himself as both a businessman and a horseman.

A facility like Old Friends devoted solely to retired Thoroughbreds without bells and whistles to interest tourists “was an unproven idea … and skeptics predicted it wouldn’t work,” said attorney Milton C. Toby in his nomination letter for Blowen. “They were wrong.”

“I am flabbergasted,” Blowen said, “especially when I think that John Galbreath’s own Sunshine Forever helped me build a foundation for success. I had a simple idea and I was always surprised someone else hadn’t done it before me. This award reinforces our belief at Old Friends that aftercare is an important part of racing.”

Today, Old Friends has a main facility in Georgetown, Kentucky, and two satellite farms. It is unusual in that it accepts retired stallions. The organization has grown from a leased paddock and one horse to a 236-acre farm, a herd of over 200 rescued and retired horses, and the two satellite facilities: Old Friends at Cabin Creek just outside of Saratoga, New York, and Old Friends at Kentucky Downs in Franklin, Kentucky.

“Michael Blowen represents everything the Galbreath Award celebrates,” said Sean Beirne, director of the equine program. “He saw an opportunity to showcase Thoroughbreds in their twilight years and let them continue to thrill their fans in a unique way. UofL is proud to acknowledge his achievements.”

A dinner in Blowen’s honor is scheduled for Jan. 16, 2019 at the University Club.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian