Direkt zum Inhalt

Das College of Business zeichnet Top-Unternehmer aus

17. März 2019
Hank Conn und seine Frau nehmen den Preis entgegen und treten dem College of Business Circle of Fame 2018 bei

Die Wirtschafts- und Ingenieurgemeinden von UofL feierten Anfang dieses Monats gemeinsam Unternehmertum, als das UofL College of Business seinem prestigeträchtigen Entrepreneurship Circle of Fame zwei Namen hinzufügte.

Van Clouse, ein 30-jähriger UofL-Professor, der das Entrepreneurship-MBA-Programm mitbegründet hat, und Henry „Hank“ Conn, ein UofL-Absolvent, der über 20-Millionen-Dollar für die Gründung der JB Speed ​​School of Engineering zugesagt hat Conn Zentrum für Erneuerbare Energieforschungwaren die diesjährigen Preisträger der 16-Zeremonie im November. 

Ihre Namen waren auf einer Tafel direkt vor dem College in der Jane Goldstein Plaza angebracht.

Clouse, der zum Ende des akademischen Jahres in den Ruhestand tritt, ist der Cobb Family Professor of Entrepreneurship und Direktor des Forcht Center for Entrepreneurship. Er hat Hunderte von Studenten und Coaching-MBA-Teams auf regionaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene unterrichtet Businessplan-Wettbewerbe.

Van Clouse spricht bei der 16-Zeremonie im November.

"Es macht mich traurig, dass die Zeit gekommen ist, in den Ruhestand zu gehen", sagte Clouse, der zu UofL in 1986 kam. „Ich werde das Programm weiterhin verfolgen, aber ich fühle, dass unser aktuelles Programm in wirklich guten Händen ist. … Ich habe meinen Kollegen gesagt, wenn Sie jemals eine Frage haben, rufen Sie mich an und Sie werden mich vielleicht finden, wenn ich nicht irgendwo unterwegs bin. “ 

Conn erwarb sein Grundstudium an der Speed ​​School in 1966, einen MBA von COB in 1969 und einen Master of Engineering von Speed ​​in 1972. Seit 1983 war er an mehr als 25-Startups beteiligt.

Er sagte, sein MBA sei "von unschätzbarem Wert für mich" und es sei ihm eine Ehre, im Circle of Fame anerkannt zu werden.

Hank Conn bei der Zeremonie.

Clouse und Conn bringen die in 16 begonnene Anzahl der Preisträger des Circle of Fame zu 2012.

Bisherige Preisträger sind W. Stewart Cobb, '56 (2012); Thomas R. Davidson, 62 (2012); Terry E. Forcht, 59 (2012); David A. Jones, 54 (2012); James A. Patterson, 55 (2012); Daniel C. Ulmer, 55 (2012); Kenneth C. Gardner, 72 (2013); Kent Oyler, "80" 82 (2014); Thomas A. Wimsett, 86 (2014); Randall J. Bufford, '81 (2015); Sean O'Leary, '95 (2015); Diane Medley, 80 (2016); W. Earl Reed III, 73 (2016); und William J. Ready, '01 (2017).

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

fbpx Skip to main content

College of Business honors top entrepreneurs

January 17, 2019
Hank Conn and wife accepting award and joining College of Business Circle of Fame 2018

UofL’s business and engineering communities together celebrated entrepreneurship earlier this month when UofL’s College of Business added two names to its prestigious Entrepreneurship Circle of Fame.

Van Clouse, a 30-year UofL professor who co-founded the entrepreneurship MBA program, and Henry “Hank” Conn, a UofL alumnus who pledged over $20 million to create the J.B. Speed School of Engineering’s Conn Center for Renewable Energy Research, were this year’s honorees at the Nov. 16 ceremony. 

Their names were inscribed on a plaque located just outside the college in Jane Goldstein Plaza.

Clouse, who will retire at the end of the academic year, is the Cobb Family Professor of Entrepreneurship and director of the Forcht Center for Entrepreneurship. He has taught hundreds of students and coaches entrepreneurship MBA teams in regional, national and international business plan competitions.

Van Clouse speaks at the Nov. 16 ceremony.

“It saddens me that the time has come for me to retire,” said Clouse, who came to UofL in 1986. “I will continue to follow the program, but I feel like our current program is in really good hands. … I’ve told my colleagues if you ever have a question, give me a phone call and you may find me if I’m not out on a trail hiking somewhere.” 

Conn earned his undergraduate degree from the Speed School in 1966, an MBA from COB in 1969 and a Master of Engineering from Speed in 1972. Since 1983, he has been involved in more than 25 startups.

He said his MBA “was priceless for me all the way through,” and said he was honored to be recognized in the Circle of Fame.

Hank Conn at the ceremony.

Clouse and Conn bring to 16 the number of honorees in the Circle of Fame, begun in 2012.

Past honorees are W. Stewart Cobb, ’56 (2012); Thomas R. Davidson, ’62 (2012); Terry E. Forcht, ’59 (2012); David A. Jones, ’54 (2012); James A. Patterson, ’55 (2012); Daniel C. Ulmer, ’55 (2012); Kenneth C. Gardner, ’72 (2013); Kent Oyler, ’80 ’82 (2014); Thomas A. Wimsett, ’86 (2014); Randall J. Bufford, ’81 (2015); Sean O’Leary, ’95 (2015); Diane Medley, ’80 (2016); W. Earl Reed III, ’73 (2016); and William J. Ready, ’01 (2017).

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian