跳到主要内容

实践积极性

28年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
Ryan Quinn博士

积极领导力项目于2018年在UofL成立,旨在促进积极领导力在全球的传播。 从与UofL Athletics合作到开发工具和扩大研究范围,该项目自成立以来一直非常活跃。 目前,它正准备通过一个新的网站和一系列产品来扩大其在商学院的工作。 我们与项目的学术总监Ryan Quinn博士坐了下来,以了解有关该项目的更多信息,项目提供的资源以及Ryan自己对积极领导的热情。

您是如何参与积极领导力的研究和实践的? 您能否确定某个时刻或一位导师来激发您提倡积极领导的行为?

我一直倾向于研究这个话题。 当我开始我的博士课程时,积极心理学才刚刚开始,而积极组织奖学金还需要几年的时间。 但是,我一直对领导力感兴趣。 当我根据他们的研究问题的积极程度对与我合作的老师做出决定时,我对一切事物都呈阳性的兴趣很快就变得显而易见。 一两年之内,我参加了最早的关于积极心理学的会议和一次关于欣赏探究的博士研讨会。 然后,我帮助组织了关于积极组织奖学金的第一次会议。 我的个人兴趣一直是帮助个人和组织发挥潜能,而我将积极领导视为实现此目标的有力方法。

告诉我们有关商学院的项目的信息。 该项目在过去几年中如何发展? 您认为UofL项目的目标是什么?

我们对“积极领导力项目”的首要任务是在世界范围内增强积极领导力。 只需一天阅读新闻,就足以说服大多数人我们需要它! 但是,我们还有一些较小的目标可以帮助我们实现这一目标。 在头两年半的时间里,我们一直专注于开发一套初始的教学工具,以帮助人们发展积极的领导力,并支持我们的Rechter研究员进行积极的领导力研究。 现在,我们终于可以启动我们的新网站和工具套件,除了继续我们以前的计划,我们希望通过更广泛的合作,研究扩展,研讨会系列和其他新计划来扩大我们的影响力。

访客可以在项目的网站上发现什么?

由学院出色的营销团队创建的漂亮的新网站,具有我上面提到的一整套教学工具,其中包括:

  • 积极领导力项目开发的两套免费教学工具。
  • 有关访问和使用 领导力放大器 智能手机应用程序。 尽管我们套件中的每个工具都可以在任何教学环境中单独使用,但是 领导力放大器 应用程序还将教学工具统一为一个补充学习系统。 因为它是在线的,所以它使学生能够在大流行期间或在非大流行时期的课堂体验之间继续学习。
  • 有关如何在学习系统中使用所有这些工具的想法的教师手册。
  • 外部组织提供的其他我们喜欢的出色工具的建议。 我们还邀请用户分享他们喜欢的工具,这些工具可以包含在网站或LinkedIn社区中。
  • 我们基于领导模型的研究。 我们邀请用户加入我们的LinkedIn社区,以了解有关此研究或其他研究的信息。
  • 获得路易斯维尔大学高管领导力培训课程。
  • 有关“积极领导力”项目工作的最新消息。
  • 介绍我们的附属教职员工和Rechter研究员。

你提到 领导力放大器。 您能否为我们提供有关该应用程序的更多详细信息? 它是如何工作的? 您需要在积极的领导力中接受我们的培训吗?

该应用程序旨在创建实践社区,以共同实时提高其领导能力。 实际上,它是打算在课外或课间使用的,前提是您拥有真正的领导机会。 领导力放大器 帮助您从日历中选择活动,您可以在其中进行领导。 该应用程序将引导您解决一系列专门设计的问题,以帮助您深入了解如何领导,并鼓励您从学习社区的其他成员中寻求和使用反馈。 它还会报告您的领导力工作,并共享他人的领导力报告。

该应用程序放大了人们的领导能力发展,原因有两个。 首先,它通过计划和反思将领导机会转变为深思熟虑的实践。 其次,它使人们可以从他人以及自己的领导经验中学习。 该应用程序是免费安装在您的手机上的,但是建立社区需要付费。

除了提供这些资源的项目之外,您还正在与高管教育一起提供具有正面领导力证书的课程。 告诉我们有关该程序的信息。

积极领导力证书计划是一门为期数周的课程,参与者每周要参加一个上午的活动,以学习课堂领导力概念,然后使用 领导力放大器 应用程序之间的应用程序,以练习他们作为学习者社区在工作中所学的内容。 根据研究,培训计划的一个普遍问题是,人们倾向于保留课堂中所涵盖概念的惊人比例,而很少实施所学知识。 通过以这种方式组织班级,参与者将在课堂上学习概念,并使彼此负责实践班级之间的领导原则,从而扩大他们的保留力和领导力。

您如何看待积极的领导才能影响一个人的个人和职业生活? 您希望那些对积极领导感兴趣的人从该项目中脱身吗?

积极领导的核心是要以一种更好的方式看待世界,然后鼓舞他人帮助我们使这个更美好的世界成为现实。 这听起来不错,但是当人们实际上试图通过这样的陈述来生活时,往往会有盲点。 这种盲点的一个例子就是我所说的“道德上的充分性”。 我们倾向于在两种/或两种类别中考虑伦理。 有些事情是道德的,或者不是。 结果,一旦我们实现了我们认为的道德标准,那些希望成为道德标准的人就常常停下来,而我们再也没有意识到还有更多的东西。 实际上,一旦我们从道德充裕框架过渡到道德机会框架,就会为我们打开一个全新的世界。 当我们仅从自给自足的角度考虑道德时,我们发现了改善我们的组织,社区和生活的方法,这对我们来说是根本不会发生的。 这些机会很多都是简单的或很小的,但是有些机会会导致整个组织创建新市场,改变文化或看到以前看不到的绩效改善机会。 积极领导力的主要部分是发现机会,当我们想要卓越的美德时,我们可能会忽略这些机遇,否则我们将忽略这些美德或仅寻求充分的美德。

盲点的另一个例子是我们如何处理生活中的事件。 人们(尤其是管理人员)倾向于下意识地将自己的生活变成问题,却从未意识到有其他方法可以使他们的生活更有成效。 例如,我们可以将生活分解为瞬间,事件或情节。 当人们追求美德时,他们试图生活在生活的瞬间,事件或情节中。 他们经常看到新的方式可以使小片刻产生重大影响,一些看起来似乎很大的问题已经解决或变得不那么重要了。 他们获得有关其项目和策略的见解。 就个人而言,我发现在自己的生活中实践这些原则时,我的人际关系变得更加丰富,我的工作变得更加有效,并且我更加享受生活。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Practice Positivity

March 28, 2021 Jim Warner
Ryan Quinn, PhD

The Project on Positive Leadership was founded at UofL in 2018 to promote the spread of positive leadership worldwide. From working with UofL Athletics to developing tools and expanding research, the Project has been very active since its inception. It is currently preparing to ramp up its work at the College of Business with a new website and host of offerings. We sat down with the Project’s Academic Director, Ryan Quinn, PhD, to learn more about the Project, the resources it provides, and Ryan’s own passion for positive leadership.

How did you become involved with the study and practice of positive leadership? Can you identify a moment or a mentor that inspired you to promote the practice of positive leadership?

I was always inclined to study this topic. When I began my PhD program, Positive Psychology was just beginning, and Positive Organizational Scholarship was still a few years from beginning. However, I was always interested in leadership. My interest in all-things-positive quickly became apparent as I made decisions about the faculty I would work with based on how positive their research questions were. Within a year or two, I was attending one of the earliest conferences on Positive Psychology and a doctoral seminar on appreciative inquiry. Then I helped organize the first conference on Positive Organizational Scholarship. My personal interest has always been in helping individuals and organizations unleash their potential, and I see positive leadership as a powerful way to do this.

Tell us about the Project at the College of Business. How has the Project evolved over the past few years? What do you see as the goal for the Project at UofL?

Our over-arching mission for the Project on Positive Leadership is to increase positive leadership in the world. Just a day of reading the news may be enough to convince most people that we need that! However, we also have several smaller goals to help us in achieving that. For the first two-and-a-half years, we have been focusing on developing an initial suite of teaching tools to help people develop positive leadership, and supporting our Rechter Fellows in conducting research on positive leadership. Now that we are finally launching our new website and suite of tools, we are hoping to expand our impact through broader collaborations, research outreach, a workshop series, and other new initiatives, in addition to continuing our previous initiatives.

What can visitors expect to discover on the Project’s website?

The beautiful new website created by the college’s fabulous marketing team has the suite of instructional tools I mentioned above, which includes:

  • Two-dozen free instructional tools developed by the Project on Positive Leadership.
  • Instructions for accessing and using the Leadership Amplifier smartphone application. Although every tool in our suite can be used individually in any instructional setting, the Leadership Amplifier app also unifies the teaching tools into a complementary learning system. Because it is online, it enables students to continue learning during a pandemic or between classroom experiences during non-pandemic times.
  • An instructors’ manual with ideas about how to use all of these tools in a learning system.
  • Suggestions of other great tools we like, provided by outside organizations. We also invite users to share their favorite tools that we can include on the website or in our LinkedIn community.
  • The research upon which we base our leadership model. We invite users to engage on our LinkedIn community about this or additional research.
  • Access to University of Louisville Executive Education programs on positive leadership.
  • Ongoing news about the work of the Project on Positive Leadership.
  • Introductions to our affiliated faculty, staff, and Rechter fellows.

You mention the Leadership Amplifier. Can you give us some more details about the app? How does it work? Do you need to be taking our course in positive leadership to use it?

The app is designed to create communities of practice that improve their leadership together in real-time. It is actually intended to be used outside of class, or in-between classes, when you are engaged in real leadership opportunities. Leadership Amplifier helps you to select events from your calendar in which you can practice leadership. The app walks you through a series of questions specifically designed to help you acquire insight into how you can lead, and encourages you to seek and use feedback from the other members of your learning community. It also reports out on your leadership efforts as well as sharing others’ leadership reports.

The app amplifies people’s leadership development for two reasons. First, it turns leadership opportunities into deliberate practice through planning and reflection. Second, it enables people to learn from others’ leadership experiences as well as their own. The app is free to install on your phone, but there is a subscription charge for setting up communities.

Beyond the Project offering these resources, you are also working with Executive Education on courses offering a positive leadership certificate. Tell us about that program.

The positive leadership certificate program is a multi-week course in which participants gather for one morning a week to learn in-classroom leadership concepts and then use the Leadership Amplifier app between classes to practice what they are learning, on the job, as a community of learners. According to research, a common problem with training programs is that people tend to retain a surprisingly small percentage of the concepts covered in classes and implement even less of what they learn. By structuring the class this way, participants will learn concepts in the classroom and hold each other accountable for practicing leadership principles between classes, amplifying their retention and leadership.

How do you think positive leadership can impact a person’s personal and professional life? What do you want those interested in positive leadership to take away from the Project?

Positive leadership is, at its core, about seeing the world in a better way, and then inspiring others to help us make that better world a reality. This sounds good, but people often have blind spots when actually trying to live by a statement like this. One example of this kind of blind spot is what I call “ethical sufficiency.” We tend to think of ethics in either/or categories. Something is ethical, or it is not. As a result, those of us who wish to be ethical often stop once we have achieved what we think is ethical, and we never realize that there is so much more. In fact, once we move from an ethical sufficiency frame to an ethical opportunity frame, a whole new world opens up to us. We see ways to improve our organizations, our communities, and our lives that simply would not occur to us when we are only thinking about ethics in terms of sufficiency. Many of these opportunities are simple or small, but some can lead entire organizations to create new markets, transform cultures, or see previously unseen performance improvement opportunities. A major part of positive leadership is about discovering the opportunities that come when we want excellence in the virtues which we might otherwise ignore or only seek adequacy in.

Another example of a blind spot is in how we bracket the events of our lives. People—and especially managers—tend to subconsciously break their lives into problems, never realizing that there are other ways to break down their lives that might be more productive. For example, we can break our lives into moments, events, or episodes instead. When people seek excellence in the virtues, they try to live in the moments or events or episodes of their lives; they often see new ways in which small moments can have big impacts, some problems that seemed large dissolve or become less relevant. They acquire insights into their projects and strategies. Personally, I find that as I put the principles into practice in my own life, my relationships become richer, my work becomes more effective, and I enjoy life more.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian