跳到主要内容

会计影响

March 28, 2021 阿里·菲佛
阿米莉亚·塞巴斯蒂安(Amelia Sebastian)CoB明矾

对于税务和会计专业人士Amelia Sebastian而言,在金融界工作很容易。 “我在高中读了会计,……很喜欢……。我知道我要做什么。”

出于这一目标,Amelia进入路易斯维尔大学商学院,并于2007年获得了工商管理学学士学位,主修会计学。 自毕业以来,Amelia在过去的14年中一直在专业和个人上发展。 她于2008年成为注册会计师(CPA),与丈夫肖恩(Sean)结婚,并育有两个孩子,索耶(Sawyer)和安德鲁(Andrew)。 她还努力提高了位于肯塔基州的区域会计师事务所Dean Dorton的税务专业人士的地位。

她说:“我实际上在上学时就得到了工作。” “商学院的乌尔默职业中心很棒。 我接受了所有的采访。 我不必去任何地方……都在校园里。”

作为一名学生,Amelia充分利用了UofL所提供的一切,从举重课作为课外活动(“很高兴能活跃一些东西,而不是整天坐在办公桌前”),然后加入并成为该校的总裁。 Beta Alpha Psi的UofL章节。 会计,金融和CIS学生组织为她提供了结识未来职业领域并激发回馈热情的机会。

“我们会邀请不同的公司或公司来讨论他们的工作,我们将进行社区服务项目,我们将参加地区和全国性的会议,我很喜欢,” Amelia说。 Beta Alpha Psi提供的各种机会使她能够开始为她的学生后生活建立联系。 “当我进入招聘大四的时候,[我已经与所有人见过面]在某个时候。”

在毕业并开始从事税务服务事业后,Amelia继续通过多个扎根于服务业的项目来激发对个人和专业发展的热情。 2016年,她参加了Ignite Louisville,在那里建立了持久的联系-一个由专业人员组成的网络,她说她可以随时打电话寻求帮助。 第二个是他们的Ignite项目围绕的组织-手拉手部委,这是一家当地的非营利性组织,致力于将需要帮助的人与住房,教育和医疗保健资源联系起来。 直到今天,阿米莉亚(Amelia)仍在那做志愿者。

阿米莉亚(Amelia)将这一奉献精神带入了社区建设。 她帮助管理Dean Dorton的新聘用计划,该计划帮助学生开始其公共会计职业,并有机会观看头几年的进度。 她还是表演教练和社区外展委员会成员。 尽管她回馈的渴望并不仅限于工作场所和社区的参与。

“我在UofL拥有丰富的经验,[想]'我该如何回馈商学院?'”阿米莉亚(Amelia)在毕业后的几年中一直保持关注,寻找与母校打交道的正确方法。 几年前进行的一项关于成立商学院校友会的调查显示,她抓住了参与的机会。 尽管COVID暂停了理事会的重大计划,但她仍对该组织在影响学生方面的可能性感到非常兴奋。 “我的热情正在提供帮助,例如现在的校友如何与现在的学生配对? 那是我的主要兴趣。”

阿米莉亚(Amelia)知道,个人可以利用自己的经验在学术,个人和专业上造福他人。 她的学术生涯完全通过有影响力的指导而活着(她引用了前COB讲师Christy Burge教授,Julia Karcher博士,Betty Brown博士以及会计学院院长Bill Stout博士的持久影响),提供新体验的课堂选择和课外活动,使她能够与周围的世界互动。 阿米莉亚(Amelia)的职业生涯鼓励她在自己的领域中发展和进步,同时抓住任何机会来扩大自己的技能范围并将其回报给他人。

抓住了所有可能的机会后,Amelia鼓励学生和校友都这样做。 “只要与[商学院]接触,看看他们需要什么。 如果您真的很感兴趣,请说:“嘿,我真的很喜欢指导学生,有什么办法可以帮助我呢?” 参加不同的课程,看看自己喜欢什么……学习一些您不了解的东西,学习新知识。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Accounting for Impact

March 28, 2021 Ali Pfeiffer
Amelia Sebastian CoB Alum

For tax and accounting professional Amelia Sebastian, working in the finance world was a no-brainer. “I took accounting in high school, and…loved it….I knew what I was going to do.”

With that goal in mind, Amelia attended the University of Louisville College of Business and graduated in 2007 with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, majoring in accountancy. Since graduation, Amelia has spent the last 14 years growing, professionally and personally. She became a certified public accountant (CPA) in 2008, married her husband, Sean, and had two children, Sawyer and Andrew. She’s also worked her way up the tax professional ranks of Dean Dorton, a regional accounting firm based out of Kentucky.

“I actually got my job while I was in school,” she says. “The Ulmer Career Center in the College of Business was fantastic. I got set up with all the interviews; I didn’t have to go anywhere…it was all on campus.”

As a student, Amelia took advantage of all that UofL had to offer, from taking a weightlifting class as an extracurricular (“It was just nice to have something active, not sit at a desk all day”), to joining and becoming president of the UofL chapter of Beta Alpha Psi. The accounting, finance, and CIS student organization provided her the chance to get acquainted with her future career field and develop a passion for giving back.

“We would have different firms or companies come in and talk to us about what they do, we would do community service projects, we would go to the regional and national conferences — I loved it,” Amelia says. The range of opportunities provided by Beta Alpha Psi allowed her to start making connections for her post-student life. “When I went through my recruiting senior year, [I had met with everyone] at some point already.”

Upon graduating and starting her career in tax services, Amelia continued fostering a passion for personal and professional development through multiple projects rooted in service. In 2016, she participated in Ignite Louisville, where she established lasting connections — one being a network of professionals that she says she can call up anytime for help. The second was the organization their Ignite project centered around — Hand in Hand Ministries, a local non-profit focused on connecting those in need to housing, education, and healthcare resources. Amelia continues to volunteer there to this day.

Amelia has carried this dedication to community building into the workplace. She helps manage the new hire program at Dean Dorton that helps students get their public accounting career started, enjoying the chance to watch their progress in those first few years. She’s also a performance coach and a member of the community outreach committee. Though her desire to give back wasn’t quite sated with just workplace and community involvement.

“I had a great experience at UofL and [thought] ‘How can I give back to the College of Business?’” Amelia kept an eye out in the years since graduation, looking for the right way to get involved with her alma mater. When a survey went out a few years ago about starting a College of Business Alumni Council, she jumped at the chance to get involved. Though COVID put the Council’s big plans on pause, she’s still very excited about the possibilities the group will have in impacting students. “My passion is helping out, like how can alumni pair up with current students now? That was my main interest.”

Amelia knows the impact an individual can have by utilizing their experiences to benefit others, academically, personally, and professionally. Her academic career was fully lived through impactful mentorships (she cites former COB instructors Prof. Christy Burge, Dr. Julia Karcher, Dr. Betty Brown, as well as School of Accountancy Director, Bill Stout, PhD as lasting influences), a range of class options to offer new experiences, and extracurricular activities that enabled her to engage with the world around her. Amelia’s professional career has encouraged her to grow and advance in her field while seizing any chance of expanding her skillset and returning the favor to others.

Having seized all the opportunities she could, Amelia encourages students and alumni alike to do the same. “Just reach out [to the College of Business] and see what they need. If there’s something you’re really passionate about, say, ‘Hey, I really like mentoring students, is there a way I can help do that?’ Take different classes and see what you like…take something you don’t know anything about and learn something new.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish