跳到主要内容

发挥潜力

29年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
Michael Chesser CoB学生

对于某些学生来说,在高中时做兼职暑假有助于您度过周末。 它为车内加油,也为您带来一些现金。 对于其他人来说,兼职工作可以帮助养家糊口,为上大学提供方便。 这些很少是我们将来会附加到“职业”上的工作。 迈克尔·切瑟(Michael Chesser)可以轻松地为暑期工作提供一个现实,尽管他可能曾在餐厅工作过,并且还以最低工资工作,但他已经在思考。

“我在高中学习成绩不错,但是即使获得了奖学金,我也没有足够的钱来支付大学费用。 我的父母付不起钱,我将被学生贷款所困,” Chesser说。 “对我来说,重要的是,我[从事]一份认真的工作,并且[在上学时]可以建立一份职业。” 输入UPS。

Chesser在高中毕业之前就开始(通过合作机会)在UPS做兼职工作。 大四那年的夏天,Chesser弄湿了脚,每天只工作三个小时(由于未满18岁)作为包裹处理工。 从一开始,Chesser就投入了精力和精力,这是他的家人灌输的一种职业道德。 “我父亲(说)要参加一个公平的工作。 我非常灵活,乐意做我所要求的……所以,当[提供其他]班次时,我会说“是”,因为尽管其他人可能将其视为额外的工作,但我却将其视为表达“我知道如何做的机会”。做更多的事情。'”

UPS的大都会学院计划提供有偿学费,书本费和其他奖励措施-相当于数千美元,用以抵消追求大学教育的费用。

该计划为公平的竞争环境提供了条件,使学生有机会无偿上大学,同时也提供了建立职业生涯的机会。 机会是Chesser不回头拥抱的。

切瑟(Chesser)的干事态度为他服务良好,赢得了上司的信任,并推动了他的职业道路。 这种驱动力已经超出了他所追求的学位范围-在21岁的迈克尔·切瑟(Michael Chesser)是房主并且驾驶新车的时候。 他思路清晰,方向明确,背叛了自己的岁月。 专注和纪律只会因他的工作方式和学业而扩大,这意味着要参加面对面的课堂。

“差不多是我的早上[始于]中午XNUMX点。 我起床,上学四个小时……回到家,再睡三个小时。 我起床去上班,大约九点钟,然后一直工作到凌晨四五点钟才回家。我会轮流睡两三个三到五个小时,以保持我的日常活动。” Chesser早期学习的课程之一是在夏季和冬季的课程中分配课程负荷。 他也开始在线上更多的课程,因为这些课程都可以使用。 能够利用这些课程,不仅意味着他仍然可以在四年内毕业,而且还可以多睡一两个小时。

在进行第三班工作后(包括在主枢纽工作,在装卸坡道上移动和运输罐子以及兼职主管的职位),Chesser准备进行更改。 他回忆说:“一旦我达到了我的学业水平,并且希望与自己的职业道路更加一致,我便开始寻找合作职位。” 虽然只有三班制的兼职主管职位每周保证27.5小时,但合作伙伴的平均水平是连续40个小时。 他在大学期间的大部分时间都在飞机材料部门全职工作(上午7点至下午3点)。 该部门(贷款和借款)负责为其他航空公司购买零件和材料。 白天上班让他有机会制定更典型的时间表。 它补充了他的课程负载,这些天这些课程都在线上进行。

在他的最后一个学期中,Chesser从金融专业转为获得管理学工商管理学士学位(BBA)。 从一开始,这就是他想要的一条教育之路,但是直到最近,才开始有活跃的管理学位课程。 “我喜欢在真正的财务部门工作……而且我可以做到这一点,同时能够赋予自己创造力,以做出决定并帮助设定公司的发展方向。 当[学院]向BBA提供管理方面的重点时,我意识到我可以按自己真正想要的学位准时完成学业。” Chesser说。 他指出了自己作为兼职主管的第一次经历,这激发了他对管理的兴趣。 在任何给定的夜晚,Chesser都会监督10至40人从卡车(又称接驳机)和从飞机上下来的集装箱中卸下包裹。 “担任主管(主管)……有时会很艰难,但我真的很喜欢能够有一些自由,并有机会做出一些决定。” 

UPS和UofL的合作最终实现了工作和学习的灵活性,一只脚今天牢固地固定,将来一只脚牢固地固定。 Chesser不会失去对增长的投资意识。 即使有他的决心和专心,他所走的道路只有两个机构都敞开大门才有可能。 

“ UPS拥有巨大的发展空间-从我开始的地方看看我现在的位置。 我继续采取行动,努力工作……我想知道自己正在走职业道路……他们给了我这样做的机会。” 对于Chesser而言,这意味着要住在一家在短短几年内给了他这么多钱的公司。

当他开始职业生涯的下一个阶段时,他很可能会留在UPS,寻找下一个机会。 从技术上讲,他的合作社合同将于XNUMX月结束,这意味着从XNUMX月到现在,他将不得不另谋高就。 如果他不这样做,Chesser将回到主枢纽担任兼职主管。 话虽如此,他并不担心。 “当您从[UPS]的角度看待它时,该公司已对您进行了投资并将您置于这一位置……将所有这些都保存在您的履历表中,并使所有这些人都认识我……这给了您很大的帮助。” 鉴于Chesser的努力,这是何时(而不是是否)下一个机会来临的问题。 无论机会有多大,他都会随时准备交付。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Delivering on Potential

March 29, 2021 Jim Warner
Michael Chesser CoB Student

For some students, a part-time summer job in high school helps to fund your weekends. It puts gas in the car, some cash in your pocket. For others, part-time work helps support the family, offers a nest egg for college. These are rarely the jobs we would attach to a future “career.” The reality of what a summer job could offer Michael Chesser came into sharp focus early on, and while he may have had the restaurant jobs and worked away at minimum wage gigs as well, he was already thinking ahead.

“I did well in high school, but even with scholarships, I was not going to have the money to pay for college. My parents couldn’t afford to pay for it, and I was going to be stuck with student loans,” says Chesser. “For me, it was important that I [worked at] a serious job and that I could build a career [while going to school].” Enter UPS.

Chesser began working part-time (through a co-op opportunity) at UPS before graduating from high school. The summer before his senior year saw Chesser getting his feet wet, working only three hours a day (due to being under 18) as a package handler. From the very start Chesser put in the effort and hustle at the job — a work ethic instilled by his family. “My father [says] to put in a fair day’s work. I’m pretty flexible and willing to do what’s asked of me…so when [offered additional] shifts, I’d say yes because whereas other people might see it as extra work, I saw it as an opportunity to say ‘I know how to do more things.’”

The Metropolitan College program at UPS offers paid tuition, money for books, and other incentives — equating to thousands of dollars to offset the cost of pursuing a college education.

The program levels the playing field, giving students the chance to attend college debt-free while offering opportunities to build a professional career simultaneously. The opportunity was one Chesser embraced without looking back.

Chesser’s can-do attitude served him well, earning him the trust of his supervisors and propelling his career path forward. It’s a drive that has already paid off beyond the pursuit of his degree — at the age of 21, Michael Chesser is a homeowner and drives a new car. He has a clarity of thought and direction that betrays his years. The focus and discipline were only amplified by his approach to the job, and his schoolwork, which meant taking in-person classes.

“Pretty much my morning [started at] noon, one o’clock. I would get up, go to school for four hours…come back home and sleep for another three hours. I would get up and go to work around nine and then work until about four or five in the morning and come home—I’d sleep in two shifts of three to five hours to keep up my routine.” One of the lessons Chesser learned early on was to distribute his course load over summer and winter sessions. He also began taking more classes online, as they were available. Being able to take advantage of these sessions meant not only could he still graduate in four years, but he could also get an extra hour or two of sleep.

After working the third-shift (including working in the main hub moving and transporting cans on the loading ramps, and part-time supervisor positions), Chesser was ready for a change. He recalls, “Once I got to a point that I was far enough in school, and looking to be more in line with my career path, I started looking for co-op positions to open up.” While the part-time supervisor positions on the third shift are only guaranteed 27.5 hours a week, the co-opt mean a straight 40 hours. The home stretch of his college years has been spent working full-time (7 a.m. – 3 p.m.) in the Aircraft Materials department. The department (Loans and Borrows) deals with purchasing/loans of parts and materials for other airlines. The dayshift gives him the chance to have a more typical schedule; it complements his course load, which these days is all online.

In his final semester, Chesser switched from being a finance major to earning his Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) in Management. It’s an education path he had wanted from the beginning, but there wasn’t an active management degree track until recently. “I enjoy working in true finance…and I can do that while being able to give myself that creativity to make a decision and help set the direction of a company. When [The College] offered the BBA with a management focus, I realized I could finish on time with the degree I truly wanted,” says Chesser. He points to his first experiences as a part-time supervisor driving his interest in management. On any given night, Chesser was overseeing between 10 and 40 people unloading packages from trucks (aka feeders) and containers that came off planes. “Being a sup [supervisor]…is tough at times, but I really liked being able to have some freedom and a chance to make some decisions.” 

The flexibility to work and study, with one foot firmly planted in today and one in the future, was ultimately made possible by UPS and UofL’s collaboration. That sense of investment in growth is not lost on Chesser. Even with his determination and focus, the path he has set out on is only possible by both institutions holding the doors open. 

“UPS has tons of room for advancement—look where I’m at now from where I started. I’ve continued to make moves, worked myself up…I think knowing that I am making a career path…and they’ve given me the opportunity to do that.” For Chesser, it means staying at a company that has given him so much in just a handful of years.

As he starts the next phase of his professional life, he is likely to stay at UPS, looking for the next opportunity. His co-op contract technically ends in October, which means he will have from May until then to find another position. If he doesn’t, Chesser will go back to being a part-time supervisor in the main hub. That said, he’s not worried about it. “When you look at it from the perspective of [UPS], the company has invested in you and put you in this spot…having all of this on your resume and having all these people know me…it gives you a huge leg-up.” Given Chesser’s drive, it’s a matter of when, not if, the next opportunity comes. Whatever shape that chance takes, he will be ready to deliver.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian