跳到主要内容

餐桌旁的座位

29年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
丽塔·马斯特(Rita Vest),凯利·阿布尼(Kelly Abney)和罗宾·布雷(Robin Bray)

随着劳动力的多样化和越来越多的女性加入劳动力队伍,组织必须创造一个使所有人都能参与的空间。 尽管公司格局不断变化和适应,但家族拥有和经营的企业在这方面已迈出了一步。 研究表明,有女性领导者的家族企业更欢迎女性的贡献,鼓励女性更多的参与,甚至显示出公司整体绩效的提高。 对于家族企业中心(FBC),丽塔·韦斯特(Rita Vest),凯利·阿贝尼(Kelly Abney)和罗宾·布雷(Robin Bray)是各自公司的领导者,并证明了家族企业中女性领导力的实力。 他们在这里收集和分享的见解不仅对家族企业的发展至关重要,而且对于更大范围的社区对话也至关重要。


Vest Advertising总裁兼首席执行官Rita Vest了解到,这种优势的一部分可以归因于支持女性员工公开面对自己面临的任何问题。 “我有开放政策。 我们确实每天和每周都有会议,以便……我们谈论我们的最新动态,还谈论他们可能需要克服的问题,以及处理某些情况的指导,以应对女性和企业的某些情况。” Vest说。 “我认为这对我们和女性一样重要…………相信自己,因为我们的恐惧使我们退缩。”


正如凯利·阿布尼(Kelly Abney)所知,这种情绪在职场女性中很普遍。 商学院明矾大学毕业于1983年,当她进入工作队伍时,她感到女性在专业领域中的人数通常不足且被忽视。 “当我站起来时,女人并不是真正在董事会中,如果有的话,她们不一定受到欢迎。 因此,即使我上了桌,我仍然觉得我必须以一种可口的方式为自己的位置而奋斗。 我相信从这个角度来看,即使我上桌了,这种期望也要被看到而不被听到。”
作为一家由她的父母创立的本地品牌资源管理公司Mira的总裁,Abney知道她的经验和鼓励对于下一代女性领导者具有价值。 在女儿和侄女担任领导职务时,她已经将所学到的家族企业课程传授给了女儿和侄女。 “我发现,作为女性领导者,最重要的组成部分是你如何表现自己。 我教过[他们]当他们走进房间并在场时要有信心。”


多样性的价值不仅来自满足纸上多样性倡议的指标,还来自鼓励每个人分享自己的想法。 “……当他们有话要说时,我灌输了说话的信心。 我相信,表现出自信和胆量可以公开和自由地分享他们的意见,使他们感到自己属于餐桌上。”
造词“生意不是私人的”是为了反映一种普遍的信念,即将人的情感融入专业环境会削弱这种做法。 但是,家族企业在支持员工和与客户建立联系方面的优势在于提供了同理心和亲身体验。


“业务的天生本质就是竞争。 作为从事商业活动的女性,我们倾向于抛弃关爱的内在本质,以便在有时不关心的世界中竞争。 但是,我将这种关心的本质摆在桌面上,” Bray物业管理公司总裁兼首席执行官Robin Bray说道。 “从逻辑上说,我希望我的业务从中获利,但与此同时,我认为现在要比以往任何时候都更需要把那些情绪和关怀感带到桌面上,如果我们想让世界变得更美好。”
作为FBC的积极成员,Vest,Abney和Bray都参加了CEO圆桌讨论,并将在自己的领导实践中汲取的经验教训向前发展。 他们了解到,通过参与这些领域,他们也使其他人也能够参与其中并取得成功。
“如果我的遗产是我产生了影响,我想我会感到高兴,”阿伯尼说。 “我很幸运能在我的生活中遇到很多很棒的人,并努力向这一目标付出代价。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

A Seat at the Table

March 29, 2021 Jill Wegenast
Rita Vest, Kelly Abney, and Robin Bray

As the workforce has become more diverse and more women enter the workforce, organizations must create spaces that enable the participation of all. While the corporate landscape changes and adapts, family-owned and operated businesses are a step-ahead on this front. Research indicates that family businesses with women leaders are more welcoming of contributions from women, encourage higher participation from women, and even show enhanced performance of the company overall. For the Family Business Center (FBC), Rita Vest, Kelly Abney, and Robin Bray are leaders in their respective companies and testaments to the strength of women leadership in a family business. Their collected and shared insights here are crucial, not only to the development of family businesses but also to a larger community conversation.


Rita Vest, president and CEO of Vest Advertising, understands that part of that strength can be attributed to supporting female employees to be open about any issues they face. “I have an open-door policy. We do have daily and weekly meetings so that…we talk about our updates, but also problems they may need to overcome and guidance to handle certain situations, both as women and part of the business,” Vest says. “I think it is so important for we, as women,…believe in ourselves because we have this fear that keeps us back.”


This sentiment is common among women in the workplace, as Kelly Abney knows. The College of Business alum graduated in 1983 and, as she entered the workforce, felt that women were often underrepresented and ignored in the professional landscape. “When I was coming up, women weren’t really in the boardroom, and if they were, they weren’t necessarily welcome. So, even when I got to the table, I felt like I had to really fight for my position in a way that was palatable. I believe that from that standpoint, even when I got to the table, the expectation was to be seen and not heard.”
As President of Mira, a local brand resource management company started by her parents, Abney knows the value that her experience and encouragement have for the next generation of female leaders. She has passed the family business lessons she’s learned over to her daughter and nieces as they pursue leadership roles. “I have found that as a female leader, the most important component is in how you present yourself. I have taught [them] to have confidence when they walk into the room and to be present.”


The value in diversity doesn’t only come from meeting metrics on paper for diversity initiatives but from encouraging everyone to share their thoughts. “…I have instilled the confidence to speak up when they have something to say. I believe that showing the confidence and guts to share their opinions openly and freely gives them a feeling that they belong at the table.”
The phrase “business isn’t personal” was coined to reflect a common belief that mixing human emotions into a professional setting weakens the practice. However, it’s the empathy and human experience that family business offers as its strength in supporting employees and connecting with customers.


“The innate nature of business is to compete. As women in business, we tend to set aside our inherent nature of caring in order to compete in a world that is sometimes uncaring. However, I bring this caring nature to the table,” says Robin Bray, president and CEO of Bray Property Management. “Logically, I want my business to profit, but at the same time, I think that now more than ever, we need to bring those emotions and a sense of caring to the table if we want to make the world a better place.”
As active members of the FBC, Vest, Abney, and Bray have all participated in CEO roundtable discussions and carried the lessons learned forward in their own leadership practice. They understand that by participating in these spaces, they’re enabling others to engage and succeed as well.
“I think I would be happy if my legacy is that I made an impact,” Abney says. “I have been very lucky to have had many wonderful people in my life and have tried to pay that forward.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian