跳到主要内容

一次一本书

29年2021月XNUMX日
卡尔·弗莱彻CoB学生

与具有不同观点或来自不同背景的人进行民事讨论的能力似乎已成为大学校园乃至整个国家的失落艺术。 处于不同方面的人们常常充耳不闻,或者更糟的是,大声疾呼,开除或贬低那些认为自己不喜欢他们的人。 商学院的自由企业中心通过其强大的学生阅读小组计划,正在努力改变这种令人不安的趋势,一次一本书。


中心每学期为有兴趣阅读各种书籍并参加与同龄人讨论的学生提供多达三个不同的阅读小组。 中心教师为讨论提供了便利,但由学生带头。 自由企业中心主任史蒂夫·戈曼说:“领导学生进行这些讨论真的很重要。” “这与我对书的想法无关。 这是一个让学生相互倾听和学习,发展自己的观点,以及听到他们以前从未考虑过的不同观点的机会。”

这使卡尔·弗莱彻(Carl Fletcher)今年春天回到了第二阅读小组。 “我学到了许多其他观点,这确实使我对经济学和政治学的看法有很大不同,”经济学和金融专业大二学生说。 “该团队确实帮助我提高了沟通技巧,并提高了我思考其他可能观点的能力。”


为了收集各种各样的观点并丰富讨论,该中心鼓励所有专业和年级的学生申请参加。 初级生物工程少校Katya Kovatsenko于今年春季第五次回来,他对小组成员的多元化以及由此产生的各种对话表示赞赏。 她说:“参与者对不同的经济主题提供了令人耳目一新的观点。”


戈曼说,阅读小组的另一个目标是帮助学生磨练重要技能,以提高他们的学术职业以及大学以后的生活。 “阅读他们原本可能不会阅读的书,并与同龄人讨论,这将帮助学生发展重要的批判性思维和听力技能,而这些技能在他们离开大学并进入所选职业领域时将非常重要。”


Katya已经开始使用自己在课堂上的阅读小组学到的东西。 “上学期,我参加了一个专注于医疗保健的小组。 作为对医学感兴趣的人,我一直专注于科学问题,而不是商业,经济学或政治领域。” “但是,通过该小组的三本书,我了解了更多关于医疗保健的过去,现在和未来,并扩展了我对医院和诊所业务的看法。 作为未来的临床医生,我相信了解这些问题将有助于我为患者提倡一个公平的环境。”


也许最重要的是,Gohmann希望为学生提供一个他们可以放心表达自己的观点并进行公开对话而又不用担心判断的地方。 卡佳(Katya)和卡尔(Carl)都同意阅读小组的建议。 Katya说:“拥有自由发表意见的自由是……该计划的积极方面。” 卡尔补充说:“当我考虑阅读小组时,我觉得拥有一个安全的气氛至关重要,而且我相信,如果不是这样,我就不会参加。”


该中心自2015年成立以来一直举办学生阅读小组。在大流行期间,学生可以选择面对面会议或虚拟会议。 讨论后,中心将免费为参与者提供所有阅读材料和膳食,符合参与要求的学生将获得奖学金。

有关CFE学生阅读小组的更多信息,请访问中心的 官网.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

One Book at a Time

March 29, 2021
Carl Fletcher CoB Student

The ability to engage in civil discussion with someone who has different views, or comes from a different background, seems to have become a lost art on college campuses, and our country in general. People on different sides of issues often turn a deaf ear, or worse, shout down, dismiss, or belittle those who don’t think like they do. Through its robust student reading group program, the Center for Free Enterprise in the College of Business is working to change that disturbing trend, one book at a time.


Each semester the Center offers up to three different reading groups for students who are interested in reading a variety of books, and participating in discussion with their peers. Center faculty facilitate the discussions, but it is the students who take the lead. “It’s really important for students to lead these discussions,” said Steve Gohmann, director of the Center for Free Enterprise. “This isn’t about what I think about a book. It’s an opportunity for students to listen and learn from each other, to develop their own opinions, and maybe hear a different viewpoint they hadn’t considered before.”

And that has brought Carl Fletcher back to participate in a second reading group this spring. “I have learned about many other perspectives, and it really helped me think about economics and politics a lot differently,” said the sophomore Economics and Finance major. “The group has really helped sharpen my communication skills, along with improving my ability to think about other possible perspectives.”


To garner a diverse array of viewpoints and enrich the discussions, the Center encourages students of all majors and grade levels to apply to participate. Junior bioengineering major Katya Kovatsenko, who is back this spring for the fifth time, appreciates the diverse make-up of the groups and the varied conversations that result. “The participants provide refreshing perspectives to different economic topics,” she said.


Gohmann said another goal of the reading groups is to help students hone important skills to enhance their academic careers, as well as life beyond college. “Reading books they might not otherwise read, and discussing them with their peers, helps students develop important critical thinking and listening skills, and those will be important as they leave college and head into their chosen career fields.”


Katya is already using what she has learned through the reading groups in her classes. “Last semester, I participated in a group focused on healthcare. As someone interested in medicine, I have always focused on the scientific issues rather than those in the realm of business, economics, or politics,” said Katya. “However, through the three books of that group, I learned more about the past, present, and future of healthcare and expanded my viewpoint on the business of hospitals and clinics. As a future clinician, I believe that learning about these issues will help me to advocate for an equitable environment for my patients.”


Perhaps most importantly, Gohmann wants to offer students a place where they can feel comfortable expressing their opinions and engaging in open dialog without fear of judgment. Both Katya and Carl agree the reading groups offer just that. “Having the freedom to speak freely about my opinions has been a positive aspect of … the program,” said Katya. Carl added, “When I considered the reading group, I felt that it was crucial to have a safe atmosphere, and I believed that if it wasn’t, then I wouldn’t participate.”


The Center has been hosting student reading groups since its founding in 2015. During the pandemic, students can choose from in-person or virtual meetings. The Center provides all reading materials and meals following discussions free of charge for participants, and those students who meet participation requirements receive a scholarship.

For more information about CFE student reading groups, visit the Center’s website.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish