跳到主要内容

以家庭为中心

30年2021月XNUMX日 阿里·菲佛
保罗罗宾逊,UofL MBA 校友

90 年代初,商学院推出了一个新的研究生学位课程,称为综合 MBA。 它面向没有商业背景并被认为是非传统学位的学生。 重点不在于考试成绩; 相反,教师专注于通过练习策略、进行演讲和在课堂上积累知识,让学生获得真实的商业经验。 非传统风格吸引了校友和 无辜者之家 首席执行官保罗罗宾逊。

自从 1995 年从该项目毕业以来,罗宾逊在他的整个职业生涯中始终坚持在课堂上学到的课程。

“[巴拉德·莫顿]教给我们的很多东西,我今天都在用,”他说。 这位前领导力导师强调了沟通时直接和真诚的重要性。 罗宾逊继续遵循这一建议。 “保持简单,保持直接,发自内心的交流。”

他还将最近退休的创业导师 Van Clouse 博士认为是对他的教育和职业的另一个重大影响,因为他从他那里了解到战略是商业领袖所做的一切的核心。 “我认为这是一个好老师的标志,当他们教你一些可以成为生活课程的东西时,你会一遍又一遍地使用。 这很好地利用了我的学费。”

家庭特许经营

这是罗宾逊的长期影响 MBA学位 这使他能够在职业生涯中取得成功并取得进步。 在 90 世纪 XNUMX 年代初期,他的家人通过获得佛罗里达州狭长地带Papa John's Pizza 的特许经营权进行了一项新的冒险。 知道他的儿子即将完成高级商业学位,罗宾逊的父亲邀请他加入这家新企业,帮助发展最终成为该国顶级特许经营集团之一的公司。 他开始担任财务职务,以确保其蓬勃发展的业务中的稳定现金流。 他们的专营权出现了巨大的增长,因此当需要有人领导运营时,罗宾逊的父亲再次求助于他。 “我父亲抓住机会认识到,尽管我没有接受过正式的运营培训,但我确实拥有这个 MBA 学位,而且部分业务就是抓住机会。”

罗宾逊一家花了 23 年时间经营他们的家族特许经营权,在快餐行业看到了闻所未闻的任期。 让员工觉得他们是工作家庭中重要的一部分,他们的长期工作证明了罗宾逊家族经营业务的有意方式。 “我们专注于发展业务的最重要方面,我认为这又回到了我的 MBA 课程。”

从家族企业到家庭支持

21 年后,这家人卖掉了他们的特许经营权,在 45 岁时,罗宾逊不知道接下来会发生什么。 在多次反思并返回路易斯维尔后,他决定从私营部门转向非营利部门。 他申请了 Innocents 之家的首席执行官,但由于缺乏非营利组织的特定职业经验,他没想到会得到这份工作。 令他惊讶的是,他正是他们想要的。

“最后,董事会在申请的 80 人中聘用了我。 后来他们告诉我,他们正在寻找具有强大商业背景并愿意加入非营利领域的人。”

罗宾逊在过去的五年里一直在领导这家总部位于肯塔基纳州的非营利组织,他从他的教育和他在棒约翰的时间中学到的教训相同。 “[棒约翰] 成功的秘诀是让每个人都觉得他们是成功的一部分。 我们在这里不知疲倦地工作,在非营利领域重新创造这一点,让每个人都真正觉得他们是我们集体成功的一部分。”

作为商学院顾问委员会的现任成员和他所在企业的四名员工的导师,罗宾逊希望将其回报给未来的商业领袖。 他鼓励学生寻找导师,相信成功的领导者有责任提升那些追随他们的人。 他说让他的父亲担任导师是一次宝贵的经历,并鼓励其他人找到可以信赖的人来分享他们的专业知识。

“向有很多东西要分享并鼓励我的人学习是一次美妙的学习经历。 我希望每个人在他们的生活中都有这样的机会。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Family Focused

June 30, 2021 Ali Pfeiffer
Paul Robinson, UofL MBA Alum

In the early ’90s, the College of Business launched a new graduate degree program called the Integrative MBA. It was targeted towards students who didn’t have a business background and was considered an unconventional degree. The focus wasn’t on test scores; instead, instructors focused on empowering students to gain real-world business experience by practicing strategy, giving presentations, and building their knowledge in the classroom. The non-traditional style is what hooked alumni and Home of the Innocents CEO Paul Robinson.

Since graduating from the program in 1995, Robinson has carried the lessons he learned in the classroom consistently throughout his career.

“So much of what [Ballard Morton] taught us, I use today,” he says. The former leadership instructor stressed the importance of being direct and sincere when communicating. Robinson has continued following that advice. “Keep it simple, keep it direct, communicate from the heart.”

He also credits recently retired entrepreneurship instructor Dr. Van Clouse as another major influence on his education and career, having learned from him that strategy is at the heart of everything business leaders do. “I think it’s the hallmark of a good teacher that when they’re instructing you on something that can become a life lesson you use over and over again. That’s a good use of my tuition dollars.”

Family Franchise

It’s the long-lasting impact of Robinson’s MBA degree that has empowered him to succeed and advance in his career. In the early ’90s, his family took on a new venture by obtaining the franchise rights to Papa John’s Pizza for the Florida panhandle area. Knowing his son was about to complete an upper-level business degree, Robinson’s father asked him to join this new business and help grow what would eventually become one of the top franchise groups in the country. He started in a financial role, ensuring steady cash flow in their blossoming business. Their franchise saw massive growth, so when the time came for someone to lead operations, Robinson’s father turned to him once again. “My dad took a chance at recognizing that even though I wasn’t formally trained in operations, I did have this MBA and part of business is just about taking a chance.”

The Robinsons spent 23 years running their family-owned franchise, seeing tenure unheard of in the fast-food industry. Employees were made to feel like they were a valued part of the work-family and their long-term employment was a testament to the intentional way the Robinsons operated their business. “We were focused on the most important facets of growing our operation and I think that comes back to my MBA.“

From Family Business to Family Support

After 21 years, the family sold their franchise rights and at the age of 45, Robinson was left wondering what was next. After much reflection and a return to Louisville, he decided a switch from the private sector to the nonprofit sector. He applied for CEO of Home of the Innocents, not expecting to get the job due to a lack of nonprofit specific career experience. To his surprise, he was exactly what they wanted.

“In the end, the board, out of 80 people that applied, hired me. What they told me later was they were looking for someone with a strong business background that had a desire to come over to the nonprofit space.”

Robinson has spent the last five years leading the Kentuckiana-based nonprofit with the same lessons he gained from his education and his time with Papa John’s. “The secret of [Papa John’s] success was making everybody feel like they’re a part of that success. We’re working tirelessly here to recreate that in the nonprofit space so that everybody really feels like they’re a part of our collective success.”

As a current member on the Board of Advisors to the College of Business and mentor to four employees at his business, Robinson wants to pay it forward to future business leaders. He encourages students to seek out mentors, believing successful leaders owe a responsibility to lifting up those who come after them. He says having his father as a mentor was an invaluable experience and encourages others to find someone they can rely on to share their expertise.

“It was a wonderful learning experience to learn from someone who had lots to share and was encouraging of me. I hope everyone has opportunities like that in their life.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian