跳到主要内容

赋权银行

1年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
妮基·拉尼尔 BOA

“我一直在努力为无声者发声。 那是在我里面; 那是我的 DNA。” 这就是高级副总裁兼区域执行官 Nikki Lanier 的世界观。 圣路易斯联邦储备银行路易斯维尔分行 也是商学院顾问委员会成员。 

“我认为我的工作不是去上班回家。 她说:“我认为这远远超出了我的范围,甚至超出了我作为妻子和母亲的角色。” “我认为我被摆在这个星球上,是为了帮助那些刚被拒之门外的人们提供新思维,新可能性和新现实的管家。”

从表面上看,中央银行的高管职位听起来可能不像是从涉及印刷媒体、诉讼和人力资源的职业发展而来的。 不过,当你与 Nikki 谈论是什么激励着她时,很容易看出贯穿她职业生涯的共同点:对赋予他人权力和提升他人的热情。

增强声音

Nikki的轨迹可以追溯到中学时代对讲故事的热情,在那里她的年鉴和报纸经历激发了她完成汉普顿大学新闻学学士学位的工作。

“我一直对有效的讲故事在帮助挑战心理模型和信念系统方面所发挥的作用以及它在接管我们的思想共享方面所发挥的作用非常感兴趣,”她说。

她通过进入迈阿密大学法学院继续她的学业,“坦率地说,她的想法是花一些时间来真正巩固我的职业和目标,并试图找到使我的目标和热情与职业保持一致的方法。 ”

她认为自己将专注于媒体法,并最终代表媒体组织。 但是,花在攻读二等学位上的时间唤醒了她一个更具体的目的。

“当我进入法学院时,我真的沉浸在纠正错误的过程中,真正体验到歧视如何在日常生活中发挥作用,以及种族主义和性别歧视在大多数人的日常生活中所扮演的角色。我们。”

她在完成学位期间在律师事务所工作,并最终在黑人拥有的公司 Mack, Williams, Haygood & McClean 担任初级律师。 在为这些事情打了几年官司之后,妮基觉得她仍然没有找到自己的使命。 

“我对追求工作方式的学说很感兴趣,特别是对于边缘化人群、女性和少数群体,”她说。 “我对诉讼以及出现问题的后果不太感兴趣。 我对工作场所的政策、做法和行为更感兴趣,我可以参与帮助塑造和培养这些政策、做法和行为,以免出现问题。”

带着这种兴趣,她转向了人力资源领域。 她在职业生涯的大部分时间都致力于改进政策,使员工能够减少未考虑多元化背景的政策的负面影响。

有影响力的银行业务

作为区域主管,Nikki 相信她在职业生涯中的独特经历增强了她收集轶事数据的能力,并将其转化为展示货币政策如何影响人们的方式。

“当我回顾我的能力、我的知识、我的技能、我的能力、我住过的地方、我遇到的人、我有幸拥有的伟大经历的总和时——所有这些结合在一起,形成了一个特定的,我认为是我看待世界方式的独特视角。 我认为可以而且应该在尽可能多的社区和方面部署该镜头,”她说。 “这对我来说并不是独一无二的; 每个人都是这样。”

作为的一个部件 COB顾问委员会, Nikki 重视她作为未来商业领袖与学生之间的联系,并在塑造使他们能够领导成功职业的课程中发挥积极作用。 她相信每个人都有一套独特的技能,可以而且应该用来对世界产生影响。  

“没有其他‘你’,我的意思只是所有这些的总和,所有让你成为‘你’的镜头,让我们所有人都如此独特和杰出,是需要成为的货币用于社区公益。 这就是我所相信的。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Banking on Empowerment

June 1, 2021 Jim Warner
Nikki Lanier BOA

“I’ve always been very much a part of trying to bring a voice to the voiceless. That is in me; that is my DNA.”  That’s the worldview of Nikki Lanier, senior vice president and regional executive of the Louisville Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis and member of the College of Business Board of Advisors. 

“I don’t think my job is to just go to work and go home. I think it reaches far beyond that, I think it reaches far beyond even my role as a wife and a mother,” she says. “I think I’m put on this planet to help be a steward for new thinking and new possibilities and realities for people who have just been shut out of those.”

On paper, an executive position in central banking may not sound like a natural progression from a career involving print media, litigation, and human resources. When you talk to Nikki about what motivates her though, it’s easy to see the common thread that has carried her through her career: a passion for empowering and uplifting others.

Empowering Voices

Nikki’s trajectory can be traced back to a high school passion for storytelling where her yearbook and newspaper experiences inspired her to complete a bachelor’s degree in journalism from Hampton University.

“I’ve always been really intrigued by the role that effective storytelling plays in helping to challenge mental models and belief systems and how compelling it can be in taking over our mindshare,” she says.

She continued her education by attending law school at the University of Miami, “with the idea of, quite frankly, buying some time to really solidify my career and my purpose, and trying to find ways to align my purpose and passion with a profession.”

She assumed that she would focus on media law and eventually represent media organizations. However, the time spent working on her second degree awakened a more specific purpose in her.

“When I got to law school, I was really immersed in righting wrongs and really becoming experienced in how discrimination plays out in day-to-day lives, and the role that racism and sexism play in the day-to-day existence of most of us.”

She worked in law firms while completing her degree and eventually worked as a junior attorney for black-owned firm Mack, Williams, Haygood & McClean. After a few years spent litigating these matters, Nikki felt she still hadn’t quite found her calling. 

“I was interested in the doctrine around chasing the way that work works, particularly for marginalized people, for women, for minorities,” she says. “I wasn’t so much interested in the litigation of it and the aftermath of things going wrong. I was more interested in what policies, practices, and behaviors are in the workplace that I could be a part of helping to shape and cultivate so that things don’t go wrong.”

With that interest in mind, she transitioned into human resources. She spent the bulk of her career working to improve policies that empowered employees to reduce the negative effects of policies that don’t take diverse backgrounds into account.

Impactful Banking

As regional executive, Nikki believes that her unique experiences from her career are what strengthen her ability to gather anecdotal data and translate it in a way that showcases how monetary policies impact people.

“When I look at the sum total of what is my competency set, my knowledge, my skill, my ability, the places that I’ve lived, the people that I met, the great experiences that I’ve been blessed to have—all of that comes together to inform a particular and, I think, a unique lens on the way that I see the world. There’s a shaping on that lens that I think can and should be deployed in as many communities and facets as I possibly can,” she says. “And that’s not unique to me; that’s everybody.”

As a member of the COB Board of Advisors, Nikki values the connection she has to students as future business leaders and in having an active role in shaping the programs that will enable them to lead successful careers. She believes that everyone has a unique skill set that can, and should, be used to make an impact on the world.  

“There is no other ‘you,’ and by that, I mean just a sum total of all of it, all of that lens that makes you ‘you,’ makes all of us so unique and distinguished, is currency that needs to be used for community good. That’s what I believe.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish