跳到主要内容

认识迈克尔·亨德森:在线 MBA 学生聚焦

4年2021月XNUMX日 埃里卡·霍尔斯(Erica Hulse)
OMBA 学生 Michale Henderson 的头像

我选择 UofL 攻读我的在线 MBA 是因为它对我的家人很方便,而且我也坚持商学院为其学生持有的当前使命宣言,即“提供高质量的本科和研究生商业课程,为我们的学生做好准备。学生负责和有益的职业,'” 需求生成专家 Michael Henderson 解释说 GE电器 和 2020 年秋季 在线工商管理硕士 同伙。”

路易斯维尔深深植根于亨德森的生活,因此他在伦敦大学攻读研究生学位是很自然的下一步。 “我 10 岁时搬到路易斯维尔,所以我只知道 #L1C4。 [我] 于 2019 年获得了 UofL 教育学院的体育管理学士学位。” 亨德森的家人也洋溢着红衣主教的自豪感,他分享说:“我最近 [成为] 我的未婚夫订婚了,她刚从 UofL 获得社会工作硕士学位。”

他的职业生涯需要稳定和成长,这促使亨德森继续攻读 MBA。 “[在]获得学士学位和 Covid-19 后,我从一份工作到另一份工作,我知道 2020 年夏天是我重新开始工作并继续接受教育的时候。 我一直想了解商业世界的来龙去脉、企业如何运作,以及企业运营的基本原则。”

在不牺牲传统 MBA 课程的特点的情况下根据他的日程安排他的教育,例如 MBA 和会计硕士 (MAC) 学生的国际旅行部分 促使亨德森决定通过 UofL 的在线平台攻读 MBA。我最欣赏在线学习系统的地方是我可以按照自己的步调学习。 项目非常方便灵活,还可以参加环球商务国际游的加分项!”

OMBA 计划还帮助我与他人建立了联系,并于 2021 年 XNUMX 月在 GE Appliances 获得了第一次晋升设立的区域办事处外,我们在美国也开设了办事处,以便我们为当地客户提供更多的支持。“

虽然参与全球沉浸式活动可能会带来改变人生的冒险经历,但亨德森在他的 OMBA 课程中最宝贵的经历围绕着他与学生团体的合作。 “尽管我们没有那种面对面的互动,但我们作为一个团队合作得很好,而且我知道我可以接触到聪明的商科学生,我可以像朋友一样拜访他们。” 这些合作和交流的机会不仅适用于 MBA 校友,也适用于在校学生,并且有可能影响他们在毕业前的专业发展。 “OMBA 计划还帮助我与他人建立了联系,并于 2021 年 XNUMX 月在 GE Appliances 获得了我的第一次晋升。”

致力于他工作的公司、他作为领导者的专业发展以及继续接受高等教育,Henderson 分享说,“通过获得 UofL 的 MBA,这将使我在 GE Appliances 的专业职位上脱颖而出给公司的高层管理人员。 我与之交谈过的许多专业人士,包括我的直接主管……告诉我,由于我的 MBA 学位,他们认为我是公司未来的决策领导者。 我还计划从 UofL 获得我的创业与创新博士学位。” 亨德森还计划参与 点燃路易斯维尔,路易斯维尔领导力中心提供的一项计划,该计划“为 25-45 岁之间的高潜力专业人士做好准备,以获得更多的职业和社区领导机会。”

虽然亨德森仍然致力于他的职业发展,但他也致力于与未婚妻、女儿、猫和两只狗共度美好时光,“以创造那些持久的回忆。” 亨德森还相信与亲近的人共度时光并进行身体调理,以平衡忙碌的生活。 “我喜欢在 Boombox Fitness 锻炼身体,也喜欢与朋友和家人外出。 这些活动帮助我从正在发生的任何事情中清除思绪,专注于当下。”

我的母亲在很小的时候就去世了,[并且]我在 UofL 大二时有了我的女儿。 我用我过去的工作经历、个人经历和我四岁的女儿作为动力继续前进并实现我面前的一切

动机,而不仅仅是承诺,让亨德森实现了他的目标,他鼓励其他人找到激励他们的东西,不要停止追求自己的职业梦想。 “无论您想明智地工作,明智地教育,都去做吧! 不要让任何人或任何事阻止你这样做。 我的母亲在很小的时候就去世了,[并且]我在 UofL 大二时有了我的女儿。 我用我过去的工作经历、个人经历和我四岁的女儿作为动力继续前进,实现我面前的一切!”

您想提名OMBA学生聚焦大人物吗? 给我们发电子邮件 bizonline@louisville.edu.


准备好开始自己的在线MBA之旅了吗?

了解有关在线 MBA 的更多信息
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Meet Michael Henderson: Online MBA Student Spotlight

June 4, 2021 Erica Hulse
Headshot of OMBA student Michale Henderson

I chose UofL to pursue my Online MBA because it was convenient for my family, and I also stood by the current mission statement that the College of Business holds for its students, which is ‘offering high-quality undergraduate and graduate business programs that prepare our students for responsible and rewarding careers,’” explained Michael Henderson, Demand Generation Specialist at GE Appliances and fall 2020 Online Master of Business Administration cohort member.”

Louisville is deeply rooted in Henderson’s life, so it was a natural next step for him to pursue his graduate degree at UofL. “I moved to Louisville when I was 10 years old, so all I know is #L1C4. [I] received my bachelor’s from the College of Education at UofL in Sports Administration in 2019.” Cardinal pride runs in Henderson’s family as well, sharing that “I recently [became] engaged to my fiancé who just received her master’s in Social Work from UofL.”

The need for both stability and growth in his professional career is what led Henderson to move forward with pursuing his MBA. “[Between] going from job to job after I earned my bachelor’s and Covid-19 hitting, I knew the summer of 2020 was my time to hit the ground running again and further my education. I always wanted to learn the ins and outs of the business world, how businesses work, and the basic principles of what makes a business run.”

Adapting his education to his schedule without sacrificing traditional MBA program features such as the international travel component for MBA and Master of Accountancy (MAC) students fueled Henderson’s decision to pursue his MBA via UofL’s online platform.What I appreciate most about the online learning system is that I can go at my own pace. The program is very convenient and flexible, with the bonus of still being able to participate in the Global Business International Trip!”

The OMBA program has also helped me network with others and receive my first promotion at GE Appliances in January of 2021.”

While participating in global immersion events may provide life-changing adventures, Henderson’s most valued experiences in his OMBA program revolved around his collaboration with his student group. “Even though we do not have that face-to-face interaction, we work well as a team, and I know that I have access to bright business students that I can call on as a friend.” These opportunities for collaboration and networking are not just accessible for MBA alumni but also current students and have the potential to impact their professional advancement prior to graduation. “The OMBA program has also helped me network with others and receive my first promotion at GE Appliances in January of 2021.”

Committed to the company at which he works, his professional development as a leader, and the continuation of his higher education, Henderson shared that, “with earning my MBA from UofL, it will put me in a position professionally at GE Appliances that stands out to higher executives within the company. Many professionals I have spoken to, including my direct supervisor…told me that they see me as a future decision leader in the company due to my MBA degree. I also plan to receive my PhD in Entrepreneurship and Innovation from UofL.” Henderson also plans to participate in Ignite Louisville, a program offered by the Leadership Louisville Center that “prepares high-potential professionals, between 25-45 years old, for expanded opportunities in career and community leadership.”

While Henderson remains committed to his professional growth, he also commits to quality time with his fiancée, daughter, cat, and two dogs “to create those long-lasting memories.” Henderson also believes in spending time with those close to him and engaging in physical conditioning to bring balance to his busy life. “I like to workout at Boombox Fitness and go out with friends and family. These activities help me clear my mind from anything going on and just focus on the present moment.”

My mother died at a very young age, [and] I had my daughter [during] my sophomore year at UofL. I use my past work experiences, personal experiences, and my four-year-old daughter as motivation to keep going and achieve everything in front of me!”

Motivation, not just commitment, has led Henderson to achieve his goals, and he encourages others to find what motivates them and to not stop pursuing their professional dreams. “Whatever it is that you want to do work wise, education wise, do it! Don’t let anybody or anything stop you from that. My mother died at a very young age, [and] I had my daughter [during] my sophomore year at UofL. I use my past work experiences, personal experiences, and my four-year-old daughter as motivation to keep going and achieve everything in front of me!”

Would you like to nominate someone to be featured for the OMBA Student Spotlight? Email us at bizonline@louisville.edu.


Ready to start your own Online MBA journey?

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE ONLINE MBA
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish