跳到主要内容

认证成功

1 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日 阿里·菲佛
迈克尔·麦克布莱德、迈克尔·韦德和嘉宾

正如许多会计师一样,迈克尔·麦克布莱德 (Michael McBride) 非常务实。 今年,迈克尔(如上图最左侧)完成了他的 会计硕士 在商学院获得学位。 最终,他达到了自己的目的。 他不能再骄傲了。 “我不想粉饰任何东西——这段经历绝对是艰难的,有时也很挣扎。 但我很自豪我没有放弃。 我在完成该计划的同时实现了所有目标。”

这些感觉肯定会引起我们许多人的共鸣。 迈克尔是许多将大流行视为投资于自己的机会的人之一。 他在远程工作方面处于领先地位,因为他的职业生涯始于伦敦的科技公司 GSMA 在获得佐治亚大学会计学士学位后。 迈克尔在佐治亚州亚特兰大出生和长大,当大流行来袭时,他已经在 GMSA 亚特兰大办事处的会计/财务团队远程工作。 随着世界因限制而陷入停顿,迈克尔决定现在是提升他的教育水平,进而提升他的职业生涯的时候了。

“我一直听说 UofL 有一个很棒的会计课程,但是当我访问学校并从 [Bill] Stout 教授那里了解更多有关该课程和混合 CPA 组件的信息后,我被卖了,”他说。 “我已经在远程工作,所以我搬到路易斯维尔开始上学,同时保留了我在 GSMA 的职位。”

搬到新城市、应对全球公共卫生危机、找到一份全职工作并攻读高级学位,这些都是不小的壮举。 迈克尔强调这一点是因为他有很多次考虑认输。 他认为他的支持系统使他能够实现如此艰巨的目标。 “我有很多次想放弃。 不过,迈克尔·韦德 [会计学院院长] 让我保持动力。 我真的和他有联系; 我真的很感谢他的建议,因为它确实帮助我到达了终点线。”

家庭会计

即使他们相距数百英里,迈克尔的家人也确保他保持专注。 “我的家人来过几次。 他们会在附近的旅馆里只住一两个晚上,但会在冰箱里装很多家常菜,然后拿出来放在我的冰箱里。 这让一切变得不同,因为我几乎在 Chipotle 上幸存下来,”他笑着说。

Michael 的父亲(他本人也是一名注册会计师和 Michael 追求会计的灵感)也提供了动力来源。 “他喜欢和我讨论我的课业。 我想他比我开始上公司税课并通过注册会计师监管部分时更兴奋! 为了激励,他总是告诉我,如果你不出现,你就不能在派对上跳舞。”

CPA 考试是会计职业道路上的重要里程碑。 迈克尔全心全意地为每一个学习,虽然他很害怕,但一旦他通过了第一个,他就获得了继续前进所需的信心。 “第一部分我学了三个月,考试那天我真的很紧张。 不过,一旦我通过了,在参加 UofL 的同时参加剩下的三个部分给了我巨大的信心。 我觉得还好,我可以做到!”

迈克尔已经通过了所有四门 CPA 考试,现在是一名执业 CPA。 为期 13 个月的计划充满了收获的艰难时刻。 他回到佐治亚州并在职业生涯中表现出色。 他对自己的旅程很诚实,因为他知道学生精疲力竭是多么普遍。 他的建议是承认你的挣扎,相应地重新调整自己,并保持积极的态度。

“很容易分心甚至抱怨,尤其是当你因同时承担多项责任而筋疲力尽时。 只是意识到它有时会发生。 不管它变得多么困难,都要继续打磨。 一旦你这样做了,你就会为成功做好准备,而这一切最终都是值得的。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Certified Success

December 1, 2021 Ali Pfeiffer
Michael McBride, Michael Wade, and guest

Michael McBride is, as many accountants are, incredibly pragmatic. This year, Michael (pictured above on the far left) completed his Master of Accountancy degree at the College of Business. In the end, he achieved his goal. He couldn’t be prouder. “I don’t want to sugarcoat anything—the experience was definitely hard and a struggle at times. But I’m so proud I didn’t give up. I accomplished all my goals while completing the program.”

These feelings are sure to resonate with many of us. Michael was one of many who looked upon the pandemic as an opportunity to invest in himself. He was ahead of the curve on remote work, as his career had begun with London-based tech company GSMA after receiving his BA in accounting from the University of Georgia. Born and raised in Atlanta, Georgia, Michael was already working remotely with GMSA’s Atlanta office on the Accounting/Finance team when the pandemic hit. As the world ground to a halt with restrictions setting in, Michael decided this was the time to elevate his education and in turn, his career.

“I had always heard UofL had a great accounting program, but once I visited the school and learned more about the program and the blended CPA component from Professor [Bill] Stout, I was sold,” he says. “I was already working remotely, so I moved up to Louisville and started school while retaining my position with GSMA.”

Moving to a new city, dealing with a global public health crisis, working a full-time job, and pursuing an advanced degree was no small feat. Michael stresses this point because there were plenty of times he considered throwing in the towel. He credits his support system for enabling him to achieve such a daunting goal. “I had a lot of times where I just felt like quitting. Michael Wade [School of Accountancy Director] kept me motivated, though. I really connected with him; I’m really grateful to him for his advice because it definitely helped me to get to the finish line.”

Accounting for Family

Even though they were hundreds of miles away, Michael’s family ensured he stayed focused as well. “My family came to visit a few times. They would stay just a night or two in a hotel nearby, but packed a lot of homecooked food in a cooler and bring it up and stock my refrigerator. It made all the difference since I pretty much survived on Chipotle otherwise,” he laughs.

Michael’s dad (a CPA himself and Michael’s inspiration to pursue accounting) also provided a source of motivation. “He enjoyed discussing my classwork with me. I think he was more excited than I was when I began my Corporate Taxation class and passed the Regulation CPA part! For motivation, he always told me, you can’t dance at the party if you don’t show up.”

The CPA exams are major milestones in the accounting career path. Michael threw himself into studying for each, and though he was intimidated, once he passed the first, he gained the confidence he needed to keep going. “I studied for three months for the first part, and I was really nervous on test day. Once I passed though, it gave me a huge confidence boost to sit for the remaining three parts while attending UofL. I felt like okay, I can do this!”

Michael has since passed all four CPA exams and is now a practicing CPA. The program was filled with difficult moments that paid off. He’s returned to Georgia and is excelling in his career. He’s honest about his journey because he knows how common it is for students to burn out. His advice is to recognize your struggles, reset yourself accordingly, and maintain a positive attitude.

“It’s really easy to get distracted or even complain, especially when you’re so worn out from juggling multiple responsibilities. Just realize that it’s going to happen sometimes. Keep grinding no matter how hard it gets. Once you do that, you’ll set yourself up for success, and it’s all worth it in the end.”

https://thejrns.org/slot-gacor/https://ijohmn.com/public/slot-gacor/https://www.kuhoo.com/wp-content/uploads/slot-deposit-dana/http://clc.cet.edu/judi-bola/https://ijorces.org/slot-gacor/https://virtusclean.com/slot-online/https://modernacademy-journal.synceg.net/slot-gacor/https://rumosdainformacao.ivc.br/5unsur3/https://cosy.univrab.ac.id/slot-online/https://staialakbarsurabaya.ac.id/slot-online/https://krti.unesa.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/http://jurnal.umsu.ac.id/public/http://jurnal.univrab.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://fbs.unj.ac.id/wp-content/slot-gacor/https://jurnal.ikipjember.ac.id/slot-online/https://itbk.ac.id/slot-online/https://pusbangpmpp.lppmp.untad.ac.id/judi-online/https://apache1.untad.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://revistadeodontologia.facpp.edu.br/public/slot-gacor/https://puskesmaspenerokan.batangharikab.go.id/slot-gacor/https://tangguh.batangharikab.go.id/slot-online/https://terang.batangharikab.go.id/slot88/https://umu.edu.lr/togel-online/https://irvingroup.com/sbobet/
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish