跳到主要内容

指导精神

30年2020月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
何塞·费尔南德斯

约瑟·费尔南德斯(JoséFernandez)副教授与托马斯·蒂格(Thomas Teague)一起获得了红衣主教奖。 Fernandez博士最近被任命为经济学系主任,并正在担任美国经济协会经济专业中少数群体地位委员会的第二个任期。 他还是经济学终身制多样性倡议(DITE)的研究员,也是路易斯维尔大学西班牙裔/拉丁美洲裔教职工协会的前主席。 他目前是西班牙裔经济学家的美国社会(ASHE)作为当选总统。

José理解成为此类组织的积极和可见成员的重要性。 “我参加这些小组是为了扩大经济学家的面貌。 我们是一门影响很大的学科,但缺乏多样性。 相对于其他社会科学和STEM领域,我们往往对女性和有色人种的代表性不足。” 本着使经济部门多元化的精神,他建立了一个由历史上代表性不足的团体成员组成的经济学家数据库。 “这是我回馈的方式。”

经济学助理教授贝丝·蒙尼希(Beth Munnich)谈到了何塞(José)作为导师和领导者的能力。 “他在一个特别困难的时期加紧担任系主任,并接受了挑战-找到支持教职员工的方法,并专注于我们的教职员工对本学期以及未来对学生的积极影响。 他的慷慨让我感到惊讶,他不断激励着我成为一个更好的老师,研究员和同事。 他超越了职责范围,使COB成为工作的好地方。” 

“该奖项确实出乎意料,”何塞说。 “我非常感谢我的同事提名我。 如评论所示,我希望看到我的同事和学生成功。 我要大力保护助理教授,因为我想给他们每一个机会,以证明他们是伟大的研究人员和老师。” 正如Munnich所强调的那样,无论在言行上还是言行上,何塞对同僚的承诺都是显而易见的。 José说:“当我们聘请新教授时,是为了看到他们成功并获得升职。” “我希望我的高级教师的贡献得到认可。 对于UofL和其他机构的同事,我很慷慨,因为这是我们建立社区的方式。 我最喜欢的一项活动是小型活动,它坐下来与同事共进午餐。 我很幸运有这么一群同事。 它使您期待着进入办公室。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Mentoring Spirit

November 30, 2020 Jim Warner
Jose Fernandez

Associate Professor José Fernandez has been awarded a Cardinal Spirit Award alongside Thomas Teague. Dr. Fernandez was recently named chair of the Economics Department, and is serving a second term as a member of the American Economic Association Committee on the Status of Minority Groups in the Economics Profession. He is also a fellow of the Diversity Initiative for Tenure in Economics (DITE), and the former President of the Hispanic/Latino Faculty and Staff Association at the University of Louisville. He currently serves as President-elect of the American Society of Hispanic Economists (ASHE).

José understands the importance of being an active and visible member of such organizations. “I participate in these groups to expand the idea of what an economist can look like. We are a discipline with great influence, but we lack diversity. Relative to the other social sciences and STEM fields, we tend to have an underrepresentation of women and people of color.” In the spirit of diversifying economics departments, he has built a database of economists featuring members of historically underrepresented groups. “It is my way of giving back.”

Assistant Professor of Economics Beth Munnich was among the many who spoke to José’s capacity as a mentor and leader.  “He stepped up to be department chair at a particularly difficult time, and has embraced the challenge — finding ways to support faculty and staff and focusing on the positive impact we as faculty can have on our students this semester, and in the future. I am constantly amazed by his generosity, and he continually inspires me to be a better teacher, researcher, and colleague. He goes above and beyond the call of duty to make the COB a great place to work.” 

“The award was truly unexpected,” says José. “I am very thankful to my colleagues for nominating me. As the comments indicated, I want to see my colleagues and students succeed. I protect my assistant professors fiercely because I want to give them every opportunity to show they are great researchers and teachers.” As underscored by Munnich, José’s commitment to fellow faculty is evident both in deed and words. “When we hire a new professor, it is with the intent to see them succeed and reach promotion,” says José. “I want my senior faculty to be recognized for their contributions. I am generous with my time when it comes to my colleagues both here at UofL and at other institutions because that is how we build community. One of my favorite activities, while small, is sitting down and having lunch with my colleagues. I am fortunate to have such a great group of colleagues. It makes you look forward to heading into the office.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian