跳到主要内容

种族主义的经济影响

30年2020月XNUMX日
OJ Oleka和Terrance Sullivan

大学友谊有时就是这样。 他们可能会在四年的时间里开始发展,但是在毕业后的这段时间里,朋友可能会分开,友谊会逐渐消失。 但是,大学时期建立的一些关系经受住了时间的考验。 就两位路易斯维尔大学的校友在商学院相识而言,这种友谊恰巧使他们回到了一切的起点。 

认识OJ Oleka和Terrance Sullivan。 OJ毕业于商学院,获得市场营销学士学位,并辅修政治学。 (他继续从邻近的贝拉明大学获得领导力和高等教育的MBA和博士学位)。 他目前是肯塔基州独立学院和大学协会主席。 Terrance毕业于UofL,获得了政治科学,法律和公共政策学士学位,辅修经济学,随后又从UofL的布兰代斯法学院获得了法学博士学位。 他是肯塔基州人权委员会的执行董事。 

两人在一个CIS100(计算机信息系统)教室里碰面,OJ认为他的朋友能够在课堂上获得B是他的朋友的功劳。 其余的,正如他们所说,是历史。 

快进到2020年夏季,当时路易斯维尔的社会动荡达到顶峰。 自毕业以来多年来一直保持密切联系的两个人知道他们需要做点事情。 Terrance说:“我们需要找到一种方法,利用我们的经验和技能来参与变革。” 因此,在XNUMX月的一个周末中,AntiRacismKY(ARKY)诞生了。 ARKY是一个无党派联盟,旨在通过政策变更消除机构种族主义。 在收集了全州公民的想法和关注之后,两个决定成立的ARKY将专注于在八个关键领域进行有意义的改革:农业,教育,经济发展,住房,医疗保健,刑事司法,财富创造和工作场所。

OJ和Terrance在XNUMX月作为免费企业Menard家庭讲座中心的一部分谈到了AntiRacismKY。 在虚拟事件“种族主义的经济影响”期间,他们讨论了尽管他们来自不同背景并且处于政治通道的相对两侧,但他们如何聚集在一起以在社区中创造变革并声明自己是重要的。打电话回家。 

OJ和Terrance都说,他们在UofL和商学院的本科时光有助于塑造他们的身份和今天的工作。 “与戈曼教授一起进行的资本主义和经济自由之类的课程帮助我从经济学的角度处理问题,并鼓励我学习和欣赏'论点的另一面',这帮助我在职业和个人上就许多问题达成了共识, OJ说。 Terrance回应了他在UofL经历的重要性。 他说:“重申了我们如何进一步合作,我坚信这一点。” “对我来说,校园参与意味着要确定一个更大的群体的需求,并与那个更大的群体合作以促进变革。 这就流到了我的专业工作和AntiRacismKY。”

自由企业中心主任史蒂夫·戈曼(Steve Gohmann)表示:“每当一位前学生说他们在课堂上和校园里的时间都花得很充裕时,就会为教授和大学赢得丰厚的回报。” “ Terrance和OJ正在利用他们在UofL中学到的知识来改善生活,这一事实无疑令人欣喜。 这就是为什么我们在这里。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

The Economic Impact of Racism

November 30, 2020
OJ Oleka and Terrance Sullivan

College friendships are sometimes just that. They may begin and develop over the course of four years, but in the time following graduation, friends can drift apart and friendships can fade. Some relationships forged in college, however, stand the test of time. And in the case of two University of Louisville alumni who met in the College of Business, that friendship happened to lead them back to where it all began. 

Meet OJ Oleka and Terrance Sullivan. OJ graduated from the College of Business with a degree in marketing and a minor in political science. (He went on to receive his MBA and PhD in leadership and higher education from neighboring Bellarmine University). He is currently president of the Association of Independent Kentucky Colleges and Universities. Terrance graduated from UofL with a bachelor’s degree in political science, law and public policy, a minor in economics, and later earned his JD from UofL’s Brandeis School of Law. He is executive director of the Kentucky Commission on Human Rights. 

The two met in a CIS100 (computer information systems) classroom, and OJ credits his friend with being the reason he was able to get a B in the class. The rest, as they say, is history. 

Fast forward to summer 2020, when social unrest was peaking in Louisville. The two, who had remained close over the years since graduation, knew they needed to do something. “We needed to find a way to use our experiences and skillsets to participate in creating change,” said Terrance. So, over the course of a weekend in June, AntiRacismKY (ARKY) was born. ARKY is a non-partisan coalition created to eliminate institutional racism through policy change. After gathering ideas and concerns from citizens throughout the state, the two decided ARKY would focus on creating meaningful reform in eight key areas: agriculture, education, economic development, housing, health care, criminal justice, wealth generation, and the workplace.

OJ and Terrance spoke about AntiRacismKY in October as part of the Center for Free Enterprise Menard Family Lecture Series. During the virtual event “The Economic Impact of Racism,” they discussed how, although they come from different backgrounds, and are on opposite sides of the political aisle, they felt it was important to come together to create change in the community and state they call home. 

Both OJ and Terrance say their undergrad days at UofL and the College of Business helped shape who they are and what they do today. “Courses like Capitalism and Economic Freedom with Professor Gohmann helped me approach issues from an economic perspective, as well as encouraged me to learn and appreciate ‘the other side of the argument,’ which has helped me develop consensus on many issues professionally and personally,” said OJ.  Terrance echoes the importance of his experiences at UofL. “There was great reiteration on how we can go further together, and I firmly believe that,” he said. “For me, campus involvement meant identifying needs for a larger group, and working with that larger group to facilitate change. And that bleeds over to my professional work and AntiRacismKY.”

“Any time a former student says their time in class and on campus was well-spent is rewarding for a professor and a win for the university,” said Center for Free Enterprise director, Steve Gohmann. “The fact that Terrance and OJ are using what they learned at UofL to make lives better is certainly gratifying. It’s why we are here.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian