跳到主要内容

UofL黑人学生的开放职业道路

2年2020月XNUMX日
伊桑·沃尔克(Ethan Volk)商科学生

斯图尔特·埃斯洛克(Stuart Esrock)博士

一名UofL学生创建了一个非营利组织,以帮助黑人学生提高职业理想。 Ethan Volk是来自Bowling Green的大二学生,主修商业经济学和哲学。 他与他人共同创立了Eckford虚拟导师计划,为黑人学生进入就业市场敞开了大门。

沃尔克表示,他和他的联合创始人在讨论乔治·弗洛伊德(George Floyd)和布雷娜·泰勒(Breonna Taylor)死后如何为促进少数民族进步做出贡献时,便采取行动。 “我们发现了黑人成就和黑人专业成功方面的差距,并发现黑人学生在行业中通常缺乏个人和家庭联系,无法帮助他们推荐工作,并使他们面临可以带来最佳职业的职业机会。 我们想减少黑人社区之间的隔离程度。”

Eckford计划正试图通过指导将黑人学生与竞争性工作和实习联系起来。 “通过将黑人学生与黑人专业人士联系起来,我们的目标是:-使黑人专业人士能够直接实现其行业的多样化,其二-为学生提供他们所需的行业联系,以使其在战略上更具竞争性地争取机会。”

该程序以Elizabeth Eckford的名字命名。 1957年,作为Little Rock 9的一部分,她为新一代的黑人学生打开了大门。LittleRock XNUMX是一群黑人学生,就读于以前在阿肯色州的全白人中学。 Volk正在与该项目的一些前同学合作,包括Rose-Hulman技术研究所的Andre Battle,IU-Bloomington的Elvin Irisamye和杜克大学的Anas Gondal。 

该程序已经通过网站,Instagram和LinkedIn帐户在互联网上产生了影响。 沃尔克说:“目前,我们的重点是提高对组织的认识,我们的成员一直在与全国各地的潜在导师和校园组织进行接触,他们将能够帮助我们让学生了解我们的组织以及我们寻求的机会。提供。” 

沃尔克说,他们已经取得了一些初步的成功。 “我们拥有与许多大学建立联系并吸引他们的黑人社区的绝佳机会,尤其是在UofL和印第安纳大学。 此外,我们已经获得了广泛领域的行业支持,并希望在路易斯维尔获得更多股权合作伙伴。”

Volk说,由于冠状病毒大流行,该计划专注于虚拟通信。 这样,它提供了额外的好处。 “它使学生能够与以前因其位置而可能无法接触的专业人员建立联系。 黑人学生社区在专业领域中拥有便捷的访问连接并没有同样的奢侈。 我们的目标是降低分离程度,以便路易斯维尔黑人商业第一代学生可以获得在纽约或芝加哥工作的世界一流的黑人专业导师。 由于这种技术,特别是在此冠状病毒锁定时期以来电信领域的发展,所有这些都成为可能。”

Volk来到UofL时,最初计划的是医学预科课程,然后是帮助他人的职业。 虽然他改变了专业,但他的长期计划仍使社区受益。 “我希望利用自己的教育方式以任何可能的方式提升他人,我认为埃克福德计划将帮助我获得实践经验,学习利用社区的力量使人们从根本上改变现有结构中的不平等现象。”

如果您想加入Eckford虚拟导师计划,可以查看他们的 官网Instagram, 或 LinkedIn个人资料.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

UofL Student Opening Career Paths for Black Students

November 2, 2020
Ethan Volk Business Student

By Stuart Esrock, Ph.D.

A UofL student has created a non-profit organization to help black students advance their career aspirations.  Ethan Volk is a sophomore from Bowling Green, double majoring in Business Economics and Philosophy. He co-founded the Eckford Virtual Mentorship Program to keep the door open for black students to the job market.

Volk said he and his co-founders were moved to action as they discussed how to contribute to the advancement of minorities after the deaths of George Floyd and Breonna Taylor. “We identified gaps in black achievement and black professional success and saw that black students often lacked personal and family connections in the industry to help give job referrals and expose them to the type of professional opportunities that lead to the best careers. We wanted to cut the degrees of separation between the black community.”

The Eckford Program is trying to connect black students to competitive jobs and internships through mentoring. “By connecting black students to black professionals, we aim to, one – give black professionals the ability to directly diversify their industry and, two – give students the industry connections they need to become more strategically competitive for opportunities.”

The program is named for Elizabeth Eckford.  In 1957, she opened the door for a new generation of black students as part of the Little Rock 9, a group of black students who enrolled at a previously all-white high school in Arkansas. Volk is working with some former classmates on the project including Andre Battle at the Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, Elvin Irisamye at IU-Bloomington, and Anas Gondal at Duke University. 

Already, the program has generated a presence on the internet with a website, Instagram, and LinkedIn account.  Volk said, “Currently our focus is on increasing awareness about our organization, and our members have been reaching out to potential mentors and campus organizations around the country who would be able to assist us making students aware of our organization and the opportunities we seek to provide.” 

And Volk said they have met with some initial success. “We’ve had the amazing opportunity to connect with more than a few universities and engage their black communities, most notably here at UofL and at Indiana University. In addition, we’ve garnered industry support in a wide range of places and aim to gain a few more partners in equity here in Louisville.”

Volk said the program focused on virtual communication because of the coronavirus pandemic.  In so doing, it provides an added benefit. “It allows students to connect with professionals who they previously may have not had access to because of their location. The black student community hasn’t had the same luxury in having easy access connections in the professional world. We aim to cut degrees of separation so that a first-gen Louisville black business student can gain a world-class black professional mentor working in New York or Chicago. This has all become possible because of technology, and specifically developments in telecommunication from this period of coronavirus lockdown.”

Volk came to UofL, initially planning pre-med studies and a career helping others. While he has changed his major, his longer-term plan to benefit the community remains. “I hope to utilize my education to help uplift others in any way possible, and I think that the Eckford Program will help give me hands on experience in learning to use the strength of community to empower people to fundamentally change inequities in existing structures.”

If you want to connect with the Eckford Virtual Mentorship Program, you can check out their websiteInstagram, or LinkedIn profile.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian