跳到主要内容

签名实习

September 1, 2022 吉姆华纳
张茂印,MSBA学生

最新产品 MSBA 毕业生张茂印正在寻找一条通往最适合她未来的领域的途径。 这是她在 UofL 的交换生大三时开始的一段旅程——有机会亲眼目睹这个项目产生了持久的影响,最终决定了她回到路易斯维尔读研究生的决定。 “我选择了 MSBA 学位,因为这是一个我可以看到自己成长的前景领域,”茂印说。 根据数字营销人员 Elijah Humble 的说法,从她在商学院实习的第一天起,这种潜力就显而易见了。 

“从字面上看,茂印一夜之间表明她将不仅仅是一名实习生,而更像是我们团队中一个重要的全职成员,”Humble 说。 “她的职业道德和决心让我们对她可以在无人监督的情况下工作并继续提供解决方案和高质量的工作充满信心。 [猫印] 一直超额完成她的项目,提供灵活的选择,并找到完成工作的新方法。”

张茂印最近接受了一个职位 标志性医疗保健 作为商业智能分析师。 我们和她坐在一起讨论她在商学院实习的时间。

告诉我们您在营销团队的实习经历。 您在实习期间的主要职责和责任是什么?

我是一名数据分析师实习生,负责实施数据清理/提取并开发实时仪表板以反映营销指标——与团队合作评估我们的营销计划并协助向领导层报告流程。 我喜欢和一群有才华的人一起工作,他们激励我茁壮成长。

实习中你最喜欢的部分是什么?

在营销团队实习期间,我充分利用了我在 MSBA 课程中学到的能力。 这次实习中我最喜欢的方面是学习使用数据清理/可视化等专业方法和有效展示分析结论等软技能来应对现实世界的业务挑战。

MSBA 是一个队列模型,需要进行团队项目和演示。 体验中最具挑战性的部分是什么? 

我们在整个计划中完成了各种小组项目,包括 COB 营销分析顶点项目、肯塔基食品安全项目、新联盟银行欺诈预测等。 协作和沟通无疑是团队项目中最具挑战性和必不可少的方面。 我很高兴我的团队一直相互支持——我也为这个团队感到自豪。 由于我们的合作,我们能够在欺诈预测案例的案例竞争中获得第一名。

你认为谁是你在 UofL 的导师? 这些人如何支持和帮助您在 MSBA 中学习和成长?

所有的教授和讲师都知识渊博且反应迅速,我非常感谢他们在我的 MSBA 旅程中的帮助。 Sandeep Goyal 博士的课绝对是我最喜欢的课程之一,给了我很多指导和鼓励。 我的营销团队主管 Sharon Handy 无疑也是我的重要导师。 她专业、关怀和支持,使我的整个实习经历顺利而愉快。 

您会给希望加入 UofL 的 MSBA 计划的潜在学生什么建议?

我只想说去吧! UofL MSBA 课程将是一次难忘的经历,将帮助您提升职业和个人生活。 我很高兴我在一年前做出了这个选择,因为我已经可以看到我成长的速度和显着性。

关于实习计划,您会给研究生什么建议?

我们计划的突出特点之一是实习机会,它使您能够将您在课堂上学到的知识应用到现实世界中,同时为毕业后的成功未来做好准备。 同时,我还建议利用作为该计划一部分提供的社交活动来促进研究生之间的交流。 这是一个很好的机会——因为你可以分享和听到经验。 

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

A Signature Internship

September 1, 2022 Jim Warner
Maoyin Zhang, MSBA Student

Recent MSBA graduate Maoyin Zhang was looking for a pathway to a field that best fit her future. It’s a journey that began during her junior year as an exchange student at UofL—getting a chance to see the program firsthand made a lasting impact, ultimately shaping her decision to come back to Louisville for grad school. “I chose the MSBA degree because this is a prospective field where I can see myself grow,” says Maoyin. According to Digital Marketer Elijah Humble, that potential was apparent from day one of her internship at the College of Business. 

“Literally overnight, Maoyin showed that she was going to be far more than an intern, but more like an important full-time member of our team,” says Humble. “She had the type of work ethic and determination that gave us a lot of confidence that she could work unsupervised and continue to produce solutions and high-quality work. [Maoyin] consistently over-delivered on her projects, provided flexible options, and found new ways to get the job done.”

Maoyin Zhang recently accepted a position with Signature HealthCARE as a business intelligence analyst. We sat with her to discuss her time as an intern at the College of Business.

Tell us about your internship experience with the marketing team. What were your primary duties and responsibilities during the internship?

I was a data analyst intern, responsible for implementing data cleaning/extraction and developing a real-time dashboard to reflect marketing metrics—working with the team to evaluate our marketing initiatives and aid in the report-to-leadership process. I loved working with such a talented bunch of people who inspired me to thrive.

What was your favorite part of the internship?

During my internship with the marketing team, I made extensive use of the abilities I had learned in my MSBA classes. My favorite aspect of this internship was learning to address real-world business challenges using professional approaches like data cleaning/visualization and soft skills such as effectively presenting your analysis conclusions.

The MSBA is a cohort model and requires working on team projects and presentations. What was the most challenging part of the experience? 

We completed various group projects throughout the program, including the COB Marketing Analytics capstone project, the Kentucky Food Security Project, the New Alliance Bank Fraudulent Prediction, and others. Collaboration and communication are undoubtedly the most challenging as well as essential aspects of a group project. I’m glad my team was always supportive of one another—and I’m also proud of the team. Because of our cooperation, we were able to take first place in the case competition for our fraudulent prediction case.

Who do you see as your mentors at UofL? How did these people support and help you learn and grow in the MSBA?

All the professors and instructors are very knowledgeable and responsive, and I really appreciated their help during my MSBA journey. Dr. Sandeep Goyal, whose class is absolutely one of my favorites, has given me a lot of guidance and encouragement. Sharon Handy, my supervisor on the marketing team, is also an important mentor to me for sure. She is professional, caring, and supportive, making my whole internship experience smooth and enjoyable. 

What advice would you give potential students looking to join UofL’s MSBA program?

I just want to say GO FOR IT! The UofL MSBA program will be an unforgettable experience that will help you advance your career and personal life. I’m happy I made the choice a year ago since I can already see how quickly and significantly I’ve grown.

What advice would you give grad students about the internship program?

One of our program’s standout characteristics is the internship opportunity, which enables you to apply what you learn in class in the real world while preparing you for a successful future after graduation. Meanwhile, I would also suggest taking advantage of the social events offered as part of the program to facilitate networking among graduate students. It’s a great opportunity—for you can both share and hear experiences. 

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish