跳到主要内容

当我不知所措时,领导力太多了吗?

20年 2020月 XNUMX日 Ryan Quinn博士
领导照片

COVID-19时代的佼佼者:MBA学生的故事:参赛作品#4

“我以意想不到的方式取得了进步,同时对出现的机会持开放态度。 我已经能够转移营销工作,在线上与新受众建立联系,并扩展我的业务……”

“ Esther”,MBA学生,母亲和女商人

面对COVID-19,我的MBA课程中的大多数学生都遇到两种极端之一:要么他们不知所措,要么突然之间几乎无所事事。 在我的下一篇文章中,我将介绍那些突然无所事事的人。 在这篇文章中,我将介绍那些被COVID-19的后果所淹没的人,尤其是其中的一个。

我的一些学生,尤其是那些从事卫生系统工作的学生,纯粹是因为工作需求增加而感到不知所措。 由于COVID-19的二次和三次作用,其他信号不堪重负。 例如,在上课的第一周,我的一个学生(我将称其为Esther)在一封令人心碎的电子邮件中写给我:


我正在尽力而为。

快要失去家的主意了。

我有多动症和阿斯伯格症的孩子。

我必须从字面上阻止他们互相杀戮(他们之前已经为此住院过)。

在尝试实习和从10乘10的房间重组我的业务时。

我花了很多天的眼泪,真的很挣扎,我什么也做不了。

我可能会看到我现在是否可以停止[MBA]程序,然后稍后再恢复。


当我阅读这封电子邮件时,我感到非常沮丧,并试图思考提供帮助的不同方法。 一会儿我将回到她的故事。 但是,我首先要强调一个她的故事提出的问题。

在我的第二篇博客文章“什么是领导力”中,我认为领导力始于一种美德行为,这种行为表现出比通常在类似情况下表现出的人们更高的卓越才能。 在我的学生所面临的情况下,我认为应该问的一个问题是:“如果领导力始于卓越行为,问问那些理所当然地不堪重负的人的领导力是否公平​​?”

有时候,这个问题的答案是否定的。 我意识到这可能是这位学生的情况,因此我为她上课提供了帮助和替代方式,但是如果停止MBA计划对她来说是正确的话,我也愿意为她提供支持。 但是,我还想提供另外两种观点。

我想提供的第一个观点是,卓越取决于环境。 例如,如果一个人坐在沙发上看Netflix来度过一天,那么生存下来就没有什么好了。 另一方面, 欧内斯特·沙克尔顿(Ernest Shackleton)和耐力队的船员在南极探险队失败后幸存,我们理所当然地称赞他们的生存表现出坚韧,决心,希望和独创性等美德。 我的MBA学生Esther很可能像Shackleton在她的COVID-19管理中以及她的生活,孩子和工作状况一样。 尽管她可能“哭了很多天”,觉得自己的生活简直就是天壤之别,但我相信她的毅力,希望和独创性已经成为卓越的典范,而无需付出额外的努力。

有时,当我们不知所措时,我们似乎无能为力,也许是想让我们感到惊讶和难以置信,这正是我们需要的挑战。 在您自己经历之前,这似乎是不人道的。 但是,有时这种情况的一个原因是,在感到不知所措时,我们经常陷入陷阱,以为自己无能为力,无能为力。 这是一种可以理解的感觉,但是我们大多数人的能力比我们值得称赞的要强得多。 Esther的情况也是如此。 考虑一下她在一两个星期后分享的故事,这里重点介绍她经营的公司:

我的公司在两天内停顿了。 他们将需要一个站点一个个地打电话,发短信并通过电子邮件发送“由于病毒”的信息,他们将需要暂停服务,直到另行通知。 我怀疑这只能持续一个月,可能只有两个月,所以我礼貌地同意并度过了整个周末。 当我意识到这正在改变我的市场,并且是时候转移,调整和改变我的整个业务结构时,恐慌开始出现。 一开始,我的想法很乐观,因为我一直在研究这个问题,并试图做出一些小的改变。 但是,我一直在努力的目标是在5月之前上线。 这意味着在没有计划时间的情况下,我将不得不将该项目加速6-XNUMX个月。 我可能对此感到恐慌,但这是我充满希望和热情的事情。 相反,我的恐慌转移到了公司以外的所有未知领域:学校,家庭作业,家庭学校教育,家庭以及无法离家。 我意识到一天中没有足够的时间来完成所有这些工作。

经过一周的当前工作方式无效后,我意识到可以改变的不是外部因素,这是我对时间的利用以及对项目和任务的理解。 我需要找到所有浪费时间的时间,并消除或重组。 我需要优化和计划自己的计划,以便在一天中最好的时间来完成预期的任务。 就像一个均衡的锻炼程序一样,我需要一个使我的注意力转移而不会筋疲力尽的程序。

我首先创建了一个示例时间表,并让自己变得灵活起来,让每隔一天成为更大的推动日,并且在这之间有更多的创造力。 晚上,我平衡了工作。 工作量更大的日子意味着晚上的作业轻松,轻松。 我也转向教孩子们喜欢的话题,而不是让他们做他们要与我抗争的事情。 这不值得精力,精力和压力。

我以出乎意料的方式取得了进步,同时对出现的机会持开放态度。 我已经能够转移市场营销工作,在线上与新受众建立联系,并扩展我的业务以向该领域的其他业务提供咨询。 甚至还有一家公司意外地与我联系,他希望帮助他们建立在线学习平台并为其提供支持。 这为构建我的在线计划表提供了新的机会,同时可以帮助其他人在停机期间创造收入流,并有可能在我的企业中创建一个新部门。

对我来说,这是惊人的。 我对以斯帖的故事感到敬畏和鼓舞。 当然,以斯帖在这里所做的并非在所有情况下都行得通。 即使这样,它也提出了一个问题,即我们每个人何时和多少可以卖掉自己的潜力。 当我们不知所措时,重要的是不要让这种经历改变我们对自己和潜力的看法。 有时(并非总是如此,但有时)当卓越似乎是荒谬的标准时,对卓越的呼唤是我们发现自身内在潜力的必要条件。


关于博客

该博客中的条目考察了我的领导力故事 工商管理硕士 的学生 路易斯维尔大学商学院。 在美国开始社会隔离之后不久,我们就领导力课程开始了。 我被要求为学院制作内容,这将有助于个人和组织努力应对鉴于COVID-19大流行而我们都面临的新的,棘手的和复杂的问题,但是起初,我担心我会除了我见过的许多其他精彩内容之外,几乎没有什么可以提供的。 然后,我的学生开始报告他们在我班上表现出的领导才能。 他们面临的挑战是多种多样的,但他们的努力却鼓舞人心。 因此,我现在分享他们的一些经验以及对他们的经验的一些分析。 我希望这既能激发读者的灵感,又能给读者具体的想法,使他们在困难时期也能表现出卓越的领导才能。


关于积极领导项目

积极领导力项目是路易斯维尔大学商学院的一项举措,其使命是通过增强世界上的积极领导力来使生活变得更加重要和成功。 为此,我们创建和传播用于教授和学习积极领导力的工具,支持对积极领导力的研究,并与承担相同或相似任务的其他人建立联系,以增强彼此的影响力。 我们还与 高管教育 向希望增强领导能力的管理人员提供这些工具。


关于作者

瑞安·奎因博士

瑞安·奎因(Ryan W.Quinn) 是管理学副教授和积极领导力项目的学术主管。 路易斯维尔大学商学院。 他撰写了有关领导力和相关主题的书籍和学术文章,以期了解如何帮助个人和组织发挥潜力。 他还教高管,MBA学生,并为世界各地的组织提供咨询。

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Is Leadership Too Much to Ask When I Am Overwhelmed?

April 20, 2020 Ryan Quinn, PhD
Leadership photo

LEADING IN THE TIME OF COVID-19: STORIES FROM MBA STUDENTS: Entry #4

“I have made progress in unexpected ways, while being open-minded to opportunities that present themselves. I have been able to shift marketing efforts, connect with new audiences online, and expand my business …”

“Esther,” MBA Student, mother, and businesswoman

Most of the students in my MBA classes are experiencing one of two extremes in the face of COVID-19: Either they are overwhelmed, or they suddenly have very little to do. In my next entry I will write about those who suddenly have very little to do. In this entry I will write about those—and one in particular—who have been overwhelmed by the consequences of COVID-19.

Some of my students – especially those who are employees of health systems – are overwhelmed purely because of increases in work demands. Others are overwhelmed because of the secondary and tertiary effects of COVID-19. For example, during the first week of my class, one of my students, who I will call Esther, wrote this to me in a heartbreaking email:


I am doing the best I can. 

On the verge of losing my mind at home. 

I have kids with ADHD and Asperger’s. 

I have to literally keep them from killing each other (they have been hospitalized for this before). 

While trying to work my internship and restructure my business from a 10 by 10 room. 

I am spending many days in tears and just really struggling, I can’t get anything done. 

I might see if I can stop the [MBA] program right now and pick back up later.


I was devastated when I read this email, and tried to think of different ways to offer to help. I will return to her story in a moment. However, I first want to highlight a question that her story raises.

In my second blog entry, “What is Leadership,” I argued that leadership begins with an act of virtue that exhibits more excellence than people typically exhibit in similar situations. One question that I believe is fair to ask in a situation like the one that my student faced is, “If leadership begins with acts of excellence, is it fair to ask leadership of people who are legitimately overwhelmed?”

Sometimes, the answer to this question is no. I recognized that this might be the case for this student, and so I offered help and alternative ways for her to approach the class, but I also offered to support her if stopping the MBA program was the right thing for her to do. I also want to offer two additional perspectives, however.

The first perspective I want to offer is that excellence depends on context. For example, if a person is spending their days sitting on a couch watching Netflix, then there is nothing excellent about surviving. On the other hand, when Ernest Shackleton and the crew of the Endurance survived their failed Antarctic expedition, we rightfully praise their survival as exhibiting virtues such as perseverance, determination, hope, and ingenuity. It is very likely that my MBA student, Esther, is very much like Shackleton in her management of COVID-19 with her life, children, and work situation. Although she probably felt like her life was anything but excellent as she “spent many days in tears,” I believe that her very perseverance, hope, and ingenuity were already examples of excellence, without any additional effort.

Sometimes when we are overwhelmed and it seems like we can do no more—perhaps to our utter surprise and disbelief—the challenge to rise to excellence is exactly what we need. This may seem inhumane until you have experienced this yourself. However, one reason why this is sometimes the case is that in feeling overwhelmed, we often fall into the trap of believing that we are powerless and that there is nothing we can do. This is an understandable feeling, but most of us are so much more capable than we give ourselves credit for. This appears to have also been the case with Esther. Consider the story she shared a week or two later, here focusing on the company she runs:

My company came to a halt within two days. One by one locations called, texted and emailed “that due to the virus” they would need to suspend services until further notice. I suspected that this would only last for a month, possibly two, so I politely agreed and went about my weekend. The panic began to set in when I realized this is changing my market and that this was the time to shift, pivot and change my entire business structure. At first my thoughts were optimistic as I had been looking into this already, and was trying to make small shifts. However, the goal I had been working on was to be online by September. This meant I would have to accelerate this project by 5-6 months when there was no time planned for it. I could have panicked about this, but this was something I was hopeful and passionate about. Instead my panic shifted to all the unknowns outside of my business: school, homework, homeschooling, family, and not being able to leave home. I realized that there were not enough hours in the day to make all of this happen.

After a week of my current way of doing things not working, I realized it wasn’t the external that I could change, it was only my use of time and my perception of the projects and tasks that I could change. I needed to find all the moments of time waste and eliminate or restructure. I needed to optimize and time block my schedule for the times of day that I was in the best mindset to work on the intended task. Much like a well-balanced exercise routine I needed a routine that allowed my focus to shift and not be exhausted.

I first created a sample schedule and allowed myself to be flexible with it, having every other day be a bigger push day and have a more creative day in between. In the evenings I counter-balanced my work. Bigger days at work meant lighter and easier homework at night. I also shifted to teach my kids topics that they enjoyed rather than making them do things they were going to fight me on. It wasn’t worth the energy, drain, and stress.

I have made progress in unexpected ways, while being open-minded to opportunities that present themselves. I have been able to shift marketing efforts, connect with new audiences online, and expand my business to offer consulting to other businesses in my field. I was even contacted unexpectedly by another business who would like help building online learning and support for their business. This presented a new opportunity to build my online planforms while assisting others in order to create a revenue stream during this downtime and could potentially create a new department within my business.

To me, this is stunning. I feel awe and inspiration in response to Esther’s story. Of course, what Esther did here is not going to work in every case. Even so, it raises the question of when and how much each of us might sell ourselves short of our potential. When we are overwhelmed, it is important to not let that experience change what we believe about ourselves and our potential. Sometimes—not always, but sometimes—the call to excellence when excellence seems like a ridiculous standard, is what we need to discover the true potential within us.


About the Blog

The entries in this blog examine stories of leadership performed by my Masters of Business Administration students at the University of Louisville College of Business. Our classes on leadership began shortly after social distancing began in the United States. I was asked to produce content for the College that would be helpful to individuals and organizations struggling to manage the new, jarring, and complex problems we all face in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, but at first, I worried that I would have little to offer beyond the wonderful content I have seen so many others produce. Then, my students began to report on the leadership efforts they exhibited in my class. The challenges they face are diverse and wide-ranging, but their efforts are inspiring. Therefore, I am now sharing some of their experiences, as well as some of my analyses of their experiences. My hope is that this will both inspire readers and also give readers concrete ideas about how they too can exhibit exceptional leadership during these difficult times.


About the Project on Positive Leadership

The Project on Positive Leadership is an initiative within the University of Louisville’s College of Business with a mission to make lives more significant and successful by increasing positive leadership in the world. We do this by creating and disseminating tools for teaching and learning positive leadership, by supporting research on positive leadership, and by connecting with others who embrace the same or similar missions, in order to enhance each other’s impact. We also work in conjunction with Executive Education to deliver these tools to managers wishing to enhance their leadership capability.


About the Author

Dr. Ryan Quinn

Ryan W. Quinn is an Associate Professor of Management and the Academic Director of the Project on Positive Leadership at the University of Louisville College of Business. He has written books and academic articles on leadership and related topics, with an interest in understanding how to help individuals and organizations unleash their potential. He also teaches executives, MBA students, and consults for organizations around the world.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian