跳到主要内容

保持人类

27年 2020月 XNUMX日
亨利埃塔·佩珀

积极行动的途径
危机期间

亨利埃塔·佩珀(Henrietta Pepper)

COVID-19病毒已经改变了商业世界。 企业各个方面的员工都在努力保持某种操作节奏,同时仍然对围绕这一全球危机的信息实际上每小时都在变化的事实感到敏感。

因此,组织领导者如何保持领导地位而又不被认为对我们所经历的积极局势过于霸道或不敏感? 也许简单的答案是: 保持人性化。

巩固核心价值
人们大声疾呼某种稳定感。 尽管情况仍然不稳定,但就短期财务安全和工作可持续性而言,领导者在这种不确定环境中可以利用的一件事是组织的核心价值。 沟通和加强公司的愿景,使命和价值观将使员工联想到组织所基于的基本事实。 这将帮助企业文化融合在一起,并围绕这些共同价值观在危机期间将公司团结在一起。

专注于积极
员工被信息轰炸; 主要围绕“不做”。 领导者应积极学习,以建立公司内部的士气和信心。 诸如笔录,简短的电话或其他赞赏之类的小手势将大有帮助。 领导才能的赞赏表示对在困难时期超越的人们的真诚感谢。 这种积极的氛围将在整个组织中引起共鸣。

明显地存在
考虑到社交距离和缺乏亲密互动,这是一个艰难的过程。 但是,利用视频技术进行的虚拟会议是真正交易的理想场所。 考虑每周发送一次视频消息给所有员工。 积极地交流您作为领导者正在做的事情,并说明需要在何处出席会议,使组织感到相互联系和参与。 肢体语言和面部表情在传达重要信息(甚至是叮咬声)时变得至关重要,这些信息既是故意的又是相关的。 人们希望看到他们的领导人在行动。

强调客户价值的重要性
无论您是餐馆,会计师事务所还是制造商,传递客户价值都是与每项业务产生共鸣的口头禅。 当危机消退时,客户会记住这种关系如何度过难关。 企业是否伸出援手以确保其客户群感到联系? 哪些企业对他们所服务的社区表现出真正的同情心? 该组织的领导者是否试图以一种可信的,真诚的,而不是肤浅的和强迫的方式与忠诚者进行沟通? 所有精明的企业都意识到,与培养和发展现有关系相比,要获得新客户要困难得多。 通过提醒客户您提供的价值来保持最高意识; 即使在这样的艰难时期。

继续做决定
坚强的领导者知道决策的重要性。 这场危机是拖延生产的真正催化剂。 由于我们今天每天都在坐过山车,因此领导们很容易停止决策活动。 但是组织依靠他们的领导者要敏捷,主动和坚决地领导才能。 这可能意味着不再多说和/或再多说一次。 无论哪种方式,展示快速(尚未战略)的决策都可以增强员工的信心和对高级管理人员的尊重。 毕竟,希望不是战略。

领导者需要在这些动荡的时代保持领先。 保持内部和外部对话的畅通很重要。 保持对话的人性化至关重要。

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

KEEPING IT HUMAN

April 27, 2020
Henrietta Pepper

THE PATHWAY TO POSITIVE ACTION
DURING A CRISIS

by Henrietta Pepper

The COVID-19 virus has turned the business world on its head.  Individuals within all facets of businesses are struggling with maintaining some sense of operational cadence while still being sensitive to the fact that the information around this global crisis is literally changing by the hour. 

So, how do organizational leaders maintain their leadership status without being perceived as overbearing or insensitive to the active situation we are living through? Perhaps the simple answer is:  Keep It Human.

Reinforce Core Values
People are clamoring for some sense of stability. While things remain fluid, in terms of short-term financial security and job sustainability, one thing leaders can leverage during this environment of uncertainty is the organization’s core values. Communicating and reinforcing the company’s vision, mission, and values will remind associates about the foundational truths the organization is built upon. It will help the culture come together and bond around these common values that can hold the company together during the crisis.

Focus on Positives
Employees are bombarded with information; primarily around the “not-to-do’s.”  Leaders should lean into the positives to build morale and confidence within the company. Small gestures like a written note, a brief phone call, or other acts of appreciation will go a long way. Outward leadership appreciation demonstrates genuine gratitude for people going above and beyond during difficult times. That positive vibe will resonate throughout the organization. 

Be Visibly Present
This is a tough one given the social distancing and lack of in-person interactions. However, virtual meetings, utilizing video technology, are good placeholders for the real deal. Consider sending out a weekly video message to all associates. Actively communicating what you are doing as a leader and illustrating where your presence is needed makes the organization feel connected and involved. The body language and facial expressions become crucially important in conveying important messages—or even sound bites—that are both intentional and relatable. People want to see their leaders in action.

Emphasize Importance of Customer Value
Delivering customer value is a mantra that resonates with every business, whether you are a restaurant, accounting firm, or manufacturer. And when the crisis fades, customers will remember how the relationships weathered the storm. Did the businesses reach out to make sure its customer base felt connected?  Which businesses demonstrated true compassion for the communities they serve? Did the leaders in the organization try to communicate with its loyalists in a manner that was believable and genuine versus shallow and forced? All smart businesses recognize it’s a lot harder to acquire a new customer as opposed to cultivating and growing existing relationships. Keep top-of-mind awareness by reminding customers what value you are providing; even in tough times like these.

Keep Making Decisions
Strong leaders know the importance of decision making. This crisis is a real catalyst for productive procrastination. It would be easy for leadership to halt decision-making activities because of the daily roller coaster we’re riding on today. But organizations are depending on their leaders to be nimble, proactive, and resolute in their leadership abilities. That may mean saying no more often and/or saying yes more often. Either way, demonstrating swift (yet strategic) decision making heightens employees’ confidence and respect for the C-suite. After all, hope is not a strategy.

Leaders need to keep leading in these turbulent times. Keeping internal and external conversations open is important. And keeping the dialogue simple with a sense of humanity is critical. 

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian