跳到主要内容

铺设轨道

4年2020月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
格斯尔兄弟

从弗吉尼亚州布莱克斯堡(Blacksburg)到肯塔基州路易斯维尔(I-384),大约需要64英里。 校友Peter Gerstle对这个距离非常熟悉-他曾经从家乡路易斯维尔(Louisville)到本科生(弗吉尼亚大学)搭便车。 Gerstle说:“我妈妈会让我离开坡道,然后我会一直搭便车去布莱克斯堡。” “那是在我回到UofL之前。”

彼得·格斯特尔(Peter Gerstle)知道要走的路程和距离,其中包括回家的路程。 自1987年以来,他与弟弟道路与铁路服务公司共同创立了这家公司,该公司已从铁路车辆的轻型维护发展到为铁路行业提供全面的物流服务,拥有70个地点,36台机车,并雇用1,400名员工。 从每年移动近XNUMX万辆汽车到每年维修和修理超过XNUMX万辆有轨电车,Road&Rail Services建立在汗水公平和植根于职业道德和家庭的基础之上。

彼得·格斯特尔(Peter Gerstle)是七个孩子中最小的一个,出生于路易斯维尔的工人阶级德国城地区。 他父母对家庭的承诺意味着牺牲和灌输每个孩子的职业道德。 “我们只知道工作就是工作,”格斯特尔笑着说。 在他在Saint Xavier高中期间,这种道德观念得到了进一步的规范,从而培养了终身学习者。 “我很幸运地被我一生中各地的老师所包围,从父母到UofL和St. X的教授,再到妻子甚至我的前妻! 我一直试图让自己和比我更聪明,更成功的人在一起。 我擅长观察和倾听,这是您真正学习的地方。”

在弗吉尼亚理工大学更换教练后,格斯特尔离开布莱克斯堡,回到路易斯维尔,完成了他在UofL的学位。 为了收支平衡,Gerstle在上夜班的同时从事建筑和工业维护的日班工作-最终于1980年毕业。“从未有过上大学的问题,” Gerstle说。 在接下来的几年中,他一直在仓库工作,担任逐步的监督职务,直到1987年他和他的兄弟汤姆(Tom)成立了道路与铁路服务公司。

“我记得那是德比周,回家去了我当时的妻子,并告诉她我正在和汤姆一起做生意,”格斯特尔回忆道。 “ [Tom]在铁路行业工作,为我们找到了机会。 他是我见过的最聪明,最诚实的商人……他的家中仍然first着自己的第一张钞票。 我想他只有十岁。”

有了Derby Week的决定,Peter Gerstle再次走上了道路,为他和他的家人建立了业务。 从检查铁路车到提供轨道,火车和转运服务的过程并非没有障碍和挫折。 Gerstle解释说:“我们遇到了一些困难时期,但是我们没有想到失败。 您更加努力,收拾了一个更大的手提箱。” 多年来,Gerstle每天投入十二小时和数十万英里来建立自己的新兴业务。 随着公路和铁路服务业已成长为行业领导者,所有的奉献都得到了回报,获得了无数奖项和荣誉,从安全到客户服务再到全面卓越。 “第一英里和最后一英里是我们[公路和铁路服务]所要做的。”

无论距离多远,Peter Gerstle总是回到路易斯维尔及其家人。 作为UofL校友,他有四个儿子,两个儿子Nate和Ben紧随其后。 他的现任妻子桑迪(Sandy)也与UofL有着深厚的联系,进一步深化了他对大学和商学院的热爱。 “我认为UofL是一家人。”

尽管他和他的兄弟每天都在公路和铁路服务公司工作,但彼得·格斯尔特(Peter Gerstle)仍在继续建造,这次离家很近。 “我被重新踩踏,而不是退休!” 他打趣。 Gerstle扎根于他与孩子学龄时一起参加的活动,他一直是教练和球探的负责人。 他还是Saint Xavier和UofL的活跃校友和支持者。

Gerstle反映:“年轻的时候,我不了解家庭和主队的概念。” “在您与所有年龄的校友开会之前,您会看到[并]理解奉献精神—他们对自己的家乡的尊重和热爱,这全都在于对家庭和学校以及周围所有事物的赞赏。 。”

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Laying Tracks

August 4, 2020 Jim Warner
Gerstle Brothers

It’s approximately 384 miles from Blacksburg, Virginia to Louisville, Kentucky, traveling on I-64. Alum Peter Gerstle is very familiar with that distance—he used to hitchhike his way from his hometown of Louisville to Virginia Tech as an undergrad. “My mom would let me out by the off-ramp, and I’d hitchhike all the way to Blacksburg,” said Gerstle. “That’s before I came home to UofL.”

Peter Gerstle understands going the distance and the miles between which comprises a return home. Since 1987 the company he co-founded with his brother, Road & Rail Services, has evolved from light maintenance on rail cars to offering a full complement of logistic services to the railroad industry with 70 locations, 36 locomotives, and employing 1,400 people. From moving nearly six million vehicles a year to servicing and repairing over a million rail cars annually, Road & Rail Services is built upon the sweat equity and foundation rooted in work ethic and family.

Peter Gerstle is the youngest of seven, born in the working-class Germantown section of Louisville. His parents’ commitment to the family meant sacrifice and instilling a work ethic in every one of their children. “All we knew how to do was work,” Gerstle laughs. This ethic was further codified during his time at Saint Xavier High School, creating a lifelong learner. “I’ve been lucky enough to be surrounded by teachers everywhere in my life—from my parents to professors at UofL and St. X, to my wife and even my ex-wife! I’ve always tried to put myself in a room with people who were smarter and more successful than me. I got good at observing and listening—that’s where you really learn.”

After a coaching change at Virginia Tech, Gerstle left Blacksburg and returned to Louisville to finish his degree at UofL. To make ends meet, Gerstle worked the dayshift in construction and industrial maintenance while taking night classes—ultimately graduating in 1980. “There was never a question about going to college,” said Gerstle. He spent the next several years working in warehouses in progressively supervisory roles until 1987 when he and his brother Tom formed Road & Rail Services.

“I remember it was Derby Week and coming home to my then-wife and telling her I was starting up a business with Tom,” recalls Gerstle. “[Tom] worked in the railroad business and saw an opportunity for us. He’s the smartest and most honest businessman I’ve ever met… He still has his first dollar bill framed in his home. I think he was ten.”

With that Derby Week decision, Peter Gerstle set out on the road once again, building a business for him and his family. The evolution from inspecting rail cars to offering track, train, and transloading services weren’t without barriers and setbacks. “We had some difficult times,” explains Gerstle, “But we didn’t think about failure. You worked harder and packed a bigger suitcase.”  For years, Gerstle put in twelve-hour days and hundreds of thousands of miles annually to build his emerging business. All that dedication paid off as Road & Rail Services has grown into an industry leader—recognized with a myriad of awards and accolades ranging from safety to customer service to overall excellence. “The first and last mile is what we [Road & Rail Services] are all about.”

Regardless of the distance, Peter Gerstle always came home to Louisville and his family. A father of four, his two sons Nate and Ben both followed in his footsteps as UofL alumni. His current wife, Sandy, also has a deep connection to UofL, furthering his love of the University and the College of Business. “I see UofL as family.”

While he and his brother have stepped away from day to day at Road & Rail Services, Peter Gerstle has continued to build—this time much closer to home. “I’m re-treaded, not retired!” he quips.  Rooted in activities he participated in with his children when they were school-aged, Gerstle has been a coach and scout leader. He is also an active alumnus and supporter of both Saint Xavier and UofL.

“When I was younger, I didn’t understand the concept of home and the home team,” reflects Gerstle. “Until you sit at a meeting with alums of all ages and see [and] understand that dedication—a sense of respect and love they have for where they’re from—it’s all about appreciating home and school, and all those things around you.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian