Direkt zum Inhalt

Professor am College of Business erhält Lifetime Achievement Award

11. August 2020 Jim Warner
Dr. Manju Ahuja stand im dritten Stock der Frazier-Halle vor den Fenstern

Manju Ahuja, PhD, Frazier-Familienprofessor für Computerinformationssysteme am University of Louisville College of Business, hat den 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award von der erhalten Akademie für ManagementAbteilung für organisatorische Kommunikations- und Informationssysteme (OCIS). Diese Auszeichnung würdigt den nachhaltigen Beitrag eines Einzelnen zur AoM / OCIS-Community durch bedeutende Führungsrollen sowie wissenschaftliche Wirkung und Einflussnahme.

Ahuja war für die OCIS-Abteilung in verschiedenen gewählten Führungspositionen tätig, darunter als Vorsitzender für Workshops zur beruflichen Weiterentwicklung, als Vorsitzender des Promotionskonsortiums (2008-2009), als Vorsitzender des Programms (2009-2010) und als Vorsitzender der Abteilung (2011-2012). Darüber hinaus war sie am Wachstum und der Entwicklung der OCIS-Community beteiligt, indem sie Junior- und Senior-Wissenschaftler sowie Doktoranden betreute. Ihre frühen Stipendienbeiträge drehten sich um Online-Communities und virtuelle Teams. In den letzten zehn Jahren wurden ihre Forschungsbereiche um Work-Life-Balance und Remote-Arbeit, Gender-Themen in der IT, Future of Work sowie Nutzung und Auswirkungen von Kommunikationsmedien und Mobiltechnologien erweitert.

"Es war eine echte Überraschung, für den Preis für sein Lebenswerk ausgewählt zu werden", sagt Ahuja. „Ich habe diese Abteilung in den letzten 25 Jahren als meine berufliche Heimat angesehen, und so viele herausragende Mitglieder tragen in bedeutender Weise zur AoM- und OCIS-Abteilung bei. Ich kann nicht ausdrücken, wie viel es mir bedeutet, von der Abteilung auf diese Weise erkannt zu werden. Ich hoffe auch, dass die Auszeichnung die Sichtbarkeit des College of Business und der UofL in der Academy of Management sowie in der Geschäftswelt erhöht. “

Ahuja ist leitender Redakteur von Informationssystemforschung und fünfmaliger Empfänger des UofL College of Business Faculty Research Award. Sie trat 2007 in die Fakultät der UofL ein.

Die 1936 gegründete Academy of Management ist der herausragende Berufsverband für Management- und Organisationswissenschaftler mit einer Gemeinschaft von mehr als 20,000 Mitgliedern in mehr als 120 Ländern. Mitglieder sind Professoren und Doktoranden an Business Schools an Universitäten, Akademiker in verwandten Sozialwissenschaften und anderen Bereichen sowie Praktiker, die Wert auf die Schaffung und Anwendung von Wissen legen. Die OCIS-Abteilung der Akademie konzentriert sich auf die Untersuchung von Verhaltens-, Wirtschafts- und Sozialaspekten von Kommunikations- und Informationssystemen innerhalb und zwischen Organisationen oder Institutionen.

Chinesisch (vereinfacht)EnglischDeutschHindiRussisch

Skip to main content

College of Business Professor Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

August 11, 2020 Jim Warner
Dr. Manju Ahuja standing against the windows on the third floor of the Frazier Hall

Manju Ahuja, PhD, Frazier Family Professor of Computer Information Systems at the University of Louisville College of Business, has received the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Academy of Management’s Organizational Communication and Information Systems (OCIS) division. This honor recognizes an individual’s sustained contribution to the AoM/OCIS community through significant leadership roles, as well as scholarly impact and influence.

Ahuja has served the OCIS division in a variety of elected leadership roles, including professional development workshops chair, doctoral consortium chair (2008-2009), program chair (2009-2010), and division chair (2011-2012). In addition, she has been engaged in the growth and development of the OCIS community through mentoring junior and senior scholars and doctoral students. Her early scholarship contributions revolved around online communities and virtual teams. In the past ten years, her research areas have expanded to include work-life balance and remote work, gender issues in IT, Future of Work, as well as communication media and mobile technology usage and impacts.

“It was a genuine surprise to be selected for the lifetime achievement award,” Ahuja says. “I have considered this division my professional home for the last 25 years, and so many outstanding members contribute to AoM and OCIS Division in significant ways. I can’t express how much it means to me to be recognized in this way by the division. I also hope the award adds to the visibility of the College of Business and UofL in the Academy of Management as well as the business community.”

Ahuja is senior editor of Information Systems Research and a five-time recipient of the UofL College of Business Faculty Research Award. She joined the faculty at UofL in 2007.

Founded in 1936, the Academy of Management is the preeminent professional association for management and organization scholars with a community of more than 20,000 members in more than 120 countries. Members are professors and doctoral students in business schools at universities, academics in related social science and other fields, and practitioners who value knowledge creation and application. The academy’s OCIS division focuses on the study of behavioral, economic, and social aspects of communication and information systems within and among organizations or institutions.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian