跳到主要内容

建立信心

4年2020月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
路易和蒂芙尼·菲茨帕特里克

应届毕业生蒂芙尼·菲茨帕特里克(Tiffany Fitzpatrick)说:“我于2018年秋季开始在商学院学习,这与我的怀孕一样出乎意料。” 虽然对于某些人来说,秋季学期是旅程的开始,但对于蒂法尼来说,却是清晨,深夜和献身之年的延续。 目标是获得大学学位,这不仅是为了改善她的生活,而且用蒂法尼的话说:“开始为我的儿子建立未来。”

蒂芙尼(Tiffany)最初于2012年就读于杰斐逊社区技术学院(JCTC),并在怀孕前考虑过在空军工作。 蒂芙尼(Tiffany)在2015年生下儿子普林斯顿(Princeton)后,就读于JCTC的ULtra计划。 JCTC和UofL之间的这种合作为学生提供了转学到UofL并获得学士学位的途径。 作为单亲母亲住在父母的屋子里,成功的潜在障碍实在太真实了。

家庭学者之家(FSH)于1995年出生于Project Women,每年为近9,000人提供服务,提供从教育支持到支持性住房的服务。 2016年,Tiffany来到FSH“我一无所有……我的近三年时间和我儿子的一生都归功于[FSH],我不会将其交易给全世界。” 蒂芙尼(Tiffany)在参加常规课程时,还参加了财务成功课程,并会见了家庭倡导者和学术顾问。 在普林斯顿读书期间,她参加了早期学习校园。

“我对自己获得了极大的信心,以至于我刚开始时就没有。 我很害怕,因为我不知道如何抚养孩子或在大学里表现不佳。 我的自尊心很低,我在家庭学者之家遇到的每个人都鼓励我,并给了我成为好母亲,好学生和整体上好女人的工具。 家庭学者之家给了我一个我不知道自己需要的家庭,但很高兴我被我拥抱了。”

当FSH提供专注于学位的支持和稳定性时,Tiffany开始重新建立她在商学院市场营销专业的学术生活。 “我一直想获得商业学位,当Delores女士[Calebs,现已退休的学术顾问]与我联系以安排[在商学院]上课时,我不相信……她一直和我在一起每一步都将继续成为我最大的啦啦队之一。” Tiffany入读该学院后,便开始与会计和财务部门的Katherine Haynes进行工作研究。

从第一天起,凯瑟琳(Katherine)就看到了蒂芙尼(Tiffany)成功的愿望和动力,并向年轻员工提供了及时的见识和建议。 “关于蒂芙尼,我注意到的一件事是,她非常有风度和创新精神,因为她想有一天开始自己的事业。 我鼓励她利用自己的性格来结识商学院的教职员工,”凯瑟琳说。

在蒂芙尼(Tiffany)为海恩斯(Haynes)女士工作期间,她逐渐将她视为真正的导师。 她将凯瑟琳(Katherine)赋予她的能力去冒险和抓住每一个机会来改善自己的能力归功于她。

“ [凯瑟琳小姐]总是愿意给我她希望当年轻的女士,学生和年轻的母亲时得到的建议……告诉我如何始终抬起头,在一个有时不这样做的世界中成为一个坚强的黑人女性。”看不到我们。” 凯瑟琳·海恩斯(Katherine Haynes)享受与蒂芙尼(Tiffany)合作的时光,并为她看到了光明的未来。 “我通常将讨论作为一种工具来帮助学生理解维持和发展任何工作所需的重要性和行为。 蒂芙尼是一个听的人。

XNUMX月,蒂芙尼(Tiffany)兑现了自己对自己和普林斯顿大学的诺言,并获得了市场营销文学学士学位。 蒂法尼说:“我绝对是一名学生,但是我认为那是因为我已经成为一名母亲。” “我坚持自己与UofL的大多数学生不同的标准,因为大多数时候,这些年轻的学生正在为自己未来的家庭,业务和工作做准备,而我的家庭现在需要我。” 她还搬进了自己的公寓,并计划进入MBA课程。 “我必须时刻把握UofL的重要性。 我相信我做到了。 无论我不确定。 我做的。 我变得更加负责任了,我已经向儿子展示了成功的故事所需要的东西,以及在过程中以及付诸回报后的辛勤工作。”

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Building Confidence

August 4, 2020 Jim Warner
Louie and Tiffany Fitzpatrick

“I started at the College of Business in the Fall of 2018, which was as unexpected as my pregnancy,” says recent grad Tiffany Fitzpatrick. While to some, the fall semester is the start of a journey, for Tiffany, it was a continuation of years full of early mornings, late nights, and sacrifice. The goal was a college degree, not only to better her life, but in Tiffany’s words, “begin to build a future for my son.”

Tiffany had originally attended Jefferson Community and Technical College (JCTC) in 2012 and had considered a career in the Air Force before her pregnancy. After giving birth to her son Princeton in 2015, Tiffany enrolled at JCTC’s ULtra program. This collaboration between JCTC and UofL provides students a pathway to transfer to UofL and earn their bachelor’s degree. As a single mother living in her parent’s house, the potential barriers to success were all too real.Enter the Family Scholar House program.

Born from Project Women in 1995, Family Scholar House (FSH) serves nearly 9,000 people a year, offering services from educational support to supportive housing. In 2016, Tiffany came to FSH “with nothing in my possession…Almost three years of mine and my son’s life has been with [FSH], and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.” While attending her regular classes, Tiffany was also taking a financial success class and meeting with a family advocate and an academic advisor. While she was at school, Princeton attended the Early Learning Campus.

“I gained so much confidence in myself that I didn’t have when I first began. I was terrified because I didn’t know how to raise a child or do well in college. My self-esteem was so low and each person I encountered at the Family Scholar House encouraged me and gave me the tools to be a great mother, a great student, and an overall great woman. The Family Scholar House gave me a family that I never knew I needed but glad I was embraced by.”

As FSH offered the support and stability needed to focus on her degree, Tiffany began to rebuild her academic life as a marketing major at the College of Business. “I’ve always wanted to earn a business degree, and when Ms. Delores [Calebs, now retired acadmeic advisor] contacted me about scheduling classes [at the College of Business], I didn’t believe it…She has been with me every step of the way and continues to be one of my biggest cheerleaders.” Once enrolled at the College, Tiffany began work-study with Katherine Haynes in the Accountancy and Finance department.

From day one, Katherine saw Tiffany’s desire and motivation to succeed and offered timely insight and advice to her young employee. “One thing that I noticed about Tiffany was that she was extremely personable and innovative as she wanted to start her own business one day. I encouraged her to use this strength in her character to get to know faculty, staff, and employees here in the College of Business,” said Katherine. 

While she worked for Mrs. Haynes, Tiffany grew to see her as a true mentor. She credits Katherine with empowering her to take risks and pursue each opportunity to better herself. 

 “[Miss Katherine] was always willing to give me the advice she wished she received as a young lady, student, and young mother… telling me how to always hold my head up and be a strong black woman in a world that sometimes doesn’t see us.” Katherine Haynes enjoyed her time working with Tiffany and sees a bright future ahead for her. “I generally use discussion as a tool to help students understand the importance and behaviors needed to maintain and grow in any job. Tiffany was one who listened.”

In May, Tiffany made good on a promise she made to herself and Princeton, graduating with her Bachelor of Arts in Marketing. “I have definitely grown as a student, but I think that is because I have grown as a mother,” says Tiffany. “I hold myself to a different standard than most students at UofL because most of the time these younger students are preparing for their future families, business and jobs, while I had a family that needed me to now.” She has also moved into her own apartment and is planning on entering the MBA program. “I had to make each moment at UofL count. I believe I did that. Whether I was unsure or not. I did it. I’ve become more accountable, and I have shown my son what it takes to be a success story and what hard work looks during the process and after it pays off.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian